Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
ForumHome Category Spacing [3.8] Details »
ForumHome Category Spacing [3.8]
Mod Version: 3.00, by DaPro (Member) DaPro is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (20 votes - 4.90 average) Installs: 197
Released: 03 Feb 2009 Last Update: 03 Feb 2009 Downloads: 1799
Not Supported Template Edits  

This is a small port from what Floris and Zachery have written on Forum Category Spacing. I hope that some of you will find this bit of information useful.

Demo: http://forums.allurehost.com/

[HOW-TO] Fix Random "Last Post By" Widths:
  1. Login to your vBulletin AdminCP
  2. GOTO: vBulletin Options > "Forum Listing Display Options"
  3. Fine "Last Thread Title Maximum Displayed Characters", change value to 15 or less
OR

In the instructions on Step 3 & 4 - Change the following:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change this value to something higher to make sure it fits the varying size of your titles.
Don't forget to click INSTALL

Credits:
Floris - http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t=110590
Zachery - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=88983

Changelog:

v3.0 (January 24 2009)
========================
- Updated to Support vBulletin 3.8.x

View the 3.7 Version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=166248
View the 3.6 Version: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?p=1048565

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements ForumHome Category Spacing [3.7] DaPro vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 52 23 Sep 2010 01:44
Forum Home Enhancements ForumHome Category Spacing DaPro vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 137 12 Mar 2010 19:58
Separate forums on forumhome, category spacing SleekSkins vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 27 10 Oct 2009 07:56

  #46  
Old 21 Oct 2009, 15:42
COL NIL SATIS COL NIL SATIS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Col
reserved !!!! looks like theres quite a few having probs with this so i for now will not touch it!!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 22 Oct 2009, 20:58
COL NIL SATIS COL NIL SATIS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Col
WOW WOW WOW..just done that as it said in the book and also closed my eyes cos that was tough!! looks amazing..thanks for this guys spot on
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 31 Oct 2009, 16:11
BioX BioX is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Im sorry for asking but, is there a way to change the spacing size ?? If so what must you edit ?
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 05 Nov 2009, 10:49
Nightridr Nightridr is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08 Dec 2009, 12:14
testbot testbot is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
there's no way to make an xml for this? it would be huge if so.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 10 Jan 2010, 17:04
jankoalek jankoalek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Best spacing for now, and html validation passed...
Good work!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11 Jan 2010, 13:04
mradlin's Avatar
mradlin mradlin is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by Raug View Post
I was wondering if there was a way to fix this issue when dealing with subforums.

Attachment 100205

Where there's an extra forums, last post, etc. row above the subforum.



You can try something like this in forumhome_forumbit_level1_nopost and adjust the %'s as you like.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
This worked for me.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 12 Mar 2010, 20:04
tommyxv tommyxv is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Update to 3.8.5 FIX

Just thought I would post this for anyone who updates to 3.8.5....you will get an error when you click on the Mark Forums Read link..... here is the fix:



STEP 2A should now be:

<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="tfoot" align="center" colspan="<if condition="$vboptions['showmoderatorcolumn']">6<else />5</if>"><div class="smallfont"><strong>
<a href="forumdisplay.php?$session[sessionurl]do=markread&amp;markreadhash=$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[mark_forums_read]</a>
<if condition="$vboptions['forumleaders']">&nbsp; &nbsp;
<a href="showgroups.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[view_forum_leaders]</a></if>
</strong></div></td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table>
<br />
<!-- end what's going on box -->
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 13 Mar 2010, 11:53
yamahapaul's Avatar
yamahapaul yamahapaul is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Paul
Originally Posted by tommyxv View Post
Just thought I would post this for anyone who updates to 3.8.5....you will get an error when you click on the Mark Forums Read link..... here is the fix:
Thanks for the fix to this Tommy, I've just modified mine now even tho I originally did mine off VB.com but it was all over the place, ie if you get this you then need to change so and so etc but I followed it throughto the end.

To make it easy for anyone who wants to do this here's an easy way and how mine is (sorry for not explaining the whys and wherefors etc but this is a simple fix for people who aren't bothered about how it was achieved etc)

In forum home template, replace everything with this-


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and in Forumhome forumbit level 1 no post, replace everything with this-


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

all being well this should give you this-

http://www.midlandsheritage.co.uk/index.php

for info, this doesnt take into account the moderator column showing and I set my last thread maximum displayed characters to 50
__________________
midlands heritage
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 28 Mar 2010, 19:49
Cricistan Cricistan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
http://www.cricistan.com/forums/index.php?styleid=5

I have done this, all works well except for that blue strip that is shown at the end of each category. Any idea how to get rid of that?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 29 Mar 2010, 15:12
yamahapaul's Avatar
yamahapaul yamahapaul is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Paul
Originally Posted by Cricistan View Post
http://www.cricistan.com/forums/index.php?styleid=5

I have done this, all works well except for that blue strip that is shown at the end of each category. Any idea how to get rid of that?
That looks more like a style issue to me, but to be quite honest, I wouldn't have noticed if you hadn't put the arrows on lol

Make yourself a test style using the standard VB one, apply the mod to that and if its ok then its something to do with the customised style that you are using
__________________
midlands heritage
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 23 May 2010, 21:51
mikey1991's Avatar
mikey1991 mikey1991 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: Mikey
no-one has noticed how this goof's up any orphan forums you may have? Go on, go ahead, with this edit in place, make a forum which is not a category, and has no parent category, aka, an orphan forum, it will show the forum, but with no table around it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 26 Jun 2010, 10:40
Hell Bomb's Avatar
Hell Bomb Hell Bomb is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Tom Thorton
----------------------------UPDATE----------------------------

For anyone who wants to remove the extra space on the bottom of each category go to FORUMHOME_FORUMBIT_LEVEL1_NOPOST are remove the following code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Originally Posted by mikey1991 View Post
no-one has noticed how this goof's up any orphan forums you may have? Go on, go ahead, with this edit in place, make a forum which is not a category, and has no parent category, aka, an orphan forum, it will show the forum, but with no table around it.
Yea thank you for posting that, I'll see if i can find some kind of work around of some sort.
__________________
http://www.trinityentertainment.net/
vBulletin 3.8 stylist - Temporarily unavailable (Anything from Small Edits to Full Skins)
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 18 Feb 2014, 02:58
greenlinenshirt greenlinenshirt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
This is almost exactly what I am looking for, but I was wondering if it would be possible to remove the spacing?

Image 1 is what I have, and image 2 is what I want.

Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: png nop.PNG (31.4 KB, 14 views)
File Type: png sdn.PNG (62.4 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: