Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AME 2.5 - Media Embedding for posts, sigs, vm's, groups and blogs Details »
AME 2.5 - Media Embedding for posts, sigs, vm's, groups and blogs
Mod Version: 2.5.6, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (192 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 1968
Released: 20 Jan 2009 Last Update: 09 Dec 2009 Downloads: 12894
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

From the makers of the letters O and Yea comes the hottest 'must have mod' of the season: AME 2.5 - The Return of The Hot Mama.

Thanks everyone for making AME 2.5 Mod of the Month

AME is the multi award winning modification that smartly scans new and edited posts for URLs from a customisable variety of web sites (i.e. YouTube or Amazon or about 200 others). If it finds a match, AME will 'transform' the URL into inline embedded media without your users ever having to even think about it.

It was important for me to create a system that did not need updating (and subsequent reinstalling) every time one of the sites it supported decided to change the way it displayed its media (which is all the fricken time). Therefore I built a system in which the 'definitions' for each site could be imported, exported, tweaked and shared on a whim. This way, you only have to import the definitions that you want. It also allows the vB community to get creative and share definitions that I wouldn't of thought of!

Which sites are supported?

Included in the default installation is YouTube and Amazon. At time of posting this, I believe that there are over 180 sites supported that have been created by the vBulletin community. These range from sites that stream videos to Amazon referral links to locally hosted music and video files.

Check out the 'add ons' section of this post below to see availible add-ons.

For a total list of features and an FAQ, see click here.
For a post on troubleshooting, click here.

Though not tested on any version of vBulletin lower than 3.7.4, in theory it should work on versions 3.5 and higher (just dont quote this bit!).

Big thanks goes out to all those in the community that have supported this mod. Especially Digital Jedi who gives great support on this mod and has created over 160 definitions for this system alone!


Installation/Upgrade
  • Upload the contents of the forums folder into your forums directory and import the product-ame.xml file into your product manager (if upgrading, choose 'yes' to overwrite previous installation).
  • After installation, make sure that the system is on (admincp->AME CP->Settings)
  • Then you may want to try to rebuild old URLs via the tools option.

Change Log
nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	newpost.jpg
Views:	6640
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	93148   Click image for larger version

Name:	newpost_result.jpg
Views:	9506
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	93149  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases DJ's AMEs :: Media Definitions for AME 2.5 :: More Video, Twitter, Pinterest... Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 2086 05 Sep 2018 16:05
Add-On Releases Digital Sith's AMEs - ADULT Media Definitions Digital Sith vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 66 08 Sep 2015 23:44
Show Thread Enhancements AME 2.0 -Auto Media Embedding for posts, blogs, visitor and group messsages The Geek vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 954 25 May 2014 10:58
Add-On Releases DJ's AME (Auto Media Embedding) XML Media Definitions (Third Time's the Charm) Digital Jedi Modification Graveyard 828 10 Mar 2010 06:45

  #286  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 11:42
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by moreilly View Post
Yep, same with me. Out of curiosity, are the default youtube definitions that come with this mod the same as the other ones from DJ's media definitions?

I deleted the default ones, as per the instructions from Jedi, then uploaded the new ones. I am just wondering if this might have been the cause?
Again, that URL works fine on a vanilla vB board with a vanilla AME 2.5.4

I'm not sure what the differences between DJ's definitions and the default one is. I just know that the above works on the default
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 11:43
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by Dream View Post
Geek (or anyone else), sorry to bother, but do I need to change the container width settings for YouTube HD to work? The container width seems to shrink the parsed HD/HQ ones... But how can I do it only for those videos?
Can you link to an example? I'm not sure if I follow you.
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 18:57
tekguru tekguru is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Getting the same problem as some of the others, a YouTube link of:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uk0xWm8PMGQ

Comes out as:


<div style="display: none;" id="ame_noshow_post_1234205464_7">
<a href="" title="YouTube" target="_blank">YouTube</a>
</div>
<div style="display: inline;" id="ame_doshow_post_1234205464_7">
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" width="425" style="margin:10px 0">
<thead>
<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="2" style="text-align:center">
<a href="" title="YouTube" target="_blank">YouTube</a>
</td>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<object width="425" height="350">
<param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/zFj_i6HtebM&start="></param>
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param>
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/zFj_i6HtebM&start=" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="350" wmode="transparent"></embed></object>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table></div>
</div>
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 20:41
freni32 freni32 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I am receiving this following error on my forum with this mod, any suggestions on how to fix this?

Warning: include([path]/amecache/findonly.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/ame_bbcode.php on line 74

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '[path]/amecache/findonly.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in [path]/includes/ame_bbcode.php on line 74
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 21:49
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Can you link to an example? I'm not sure if I follow you.
YouTube HD/HQ are wider, but the container setting of AME are 400xsomething and HQ/HD seems to be using those. I rather not link my forum here on org.
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 22:19
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by tekguru View Post
Getting the same problem as some of the others, a YouTube link of:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uk0xWm8PMGQ

Comes out as:




Any ideas?
That doesn't look like the default YouTube definition. Are you using the latest version?

Originally Posted by freni32 View Post
I am receiving this following error on my forum with this mod, any suggestions on how to fix this?

Warning: include([path]/amecache/findonly.php) [function.include]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/ame_bbcode.php on line 74

Warning: include() [function.include]: Failed opening '[path]/amecache/findonly.php' for inclusion (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in [path]/includes/ame_bbcode.php on line 74
You havent uploaded all the files or they are uplaoded into the wrong location. Check the readme and the FAQ linked in the first post.

Originally Posted by Dream View Post
YouTube HD/HQ are wider, but the container setting of AME are 400xsomething and HQ/HD seems to be using those. I rather not link my forum here on org.
You can always change the size ($ameinf[height] and $ameinfo[width]) based on the definitions key using a conditional, however that would do it for all youtube entries unless you had seperate ones for HD and non HD.

HTHs!
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 23:51
ArnyVee's Avatar
ArnyVee ArnyVee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
That URL (http://www.youtube.com/v/dZZfuCJ970w) is not the correct format. In fact, if you follow that URL, it forwards you to a full screen version of a crowded house video. The default AME install wont transform that.

Ive been running vbSEO without a problem as I am sure others have done?

Are you sure you have uploaded all of the latest files?
Geekious Maximous......I had the mod just stop working out of nowhere and received those errors on the site using AME 2.0. That's why I started posting. So, I had all files uploaded with no issues until it just stopped working.

So, I decided to go ahead and upgrade to AME 2.5 (since it's the latest and greatest) and uploaded everything as described and zilch.

I'm getting the same errors everyone else is getting. Any possible issues with YouTube making a change or something? Well, that can't be because you mentioned that yours was working. Hmm....I'm puzzled and my folks are a little disappointed as I can't get the mod working.
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 00:04
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Originally Posted by ArnyVee View Post
Geekious Maximous......I had the mod just stop working out of nowhere and received those errors on the site using AME 2.0. That's why I started posting. So, I had all files uploaded with no issues until it just stopped working.

So, I decided to go ahead and upgrade to AME 2.5 (since it's the latest and greatest) and uploaded everything as described and zilch.

I'm getting the same errors everyone else is getting. Any possible issues with YouTube making a change or something? Well, that can't be because you mentioned that yours was working. Hmm....I'm puzzled and my folks are a little disappointed as I can't get the mod working.

I have a brilliant notion. You collect 1.00 each from each complaining member and if you get enought to entice Geek to log in as Admin I dare say you will be fixed in minutes. If not we will hire another programmer to dianose it for the same coin..... That is if you have 1000's of complaining members.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 00:20
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Interestingly: http://www.youtube.com/v/dZZfuCJ970w as pointed out is not a valid link opens a link at: {http://www.youtube.com/swf/l.swf?swf...th_seconds=243 entire link will not show. }
Which reveals the proper link that is:

of course http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZZfu...layer_embedded is the same incomplete link above just adding &feature=player_embedded to the w

That does embed and shows in AME 2.5 and VB 3.81 just perfectly.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.

Last edited by Gladhatter; 10 Feb 2009 at 00:43.
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 00:46
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Now that I have butchered my post up good I will try this again. Take the link you posted : http://www.youtube.com/v/dZZfuCJ970w that is not a valid UTUBE and add &feature=player_embedded to the link and it will then show up and work in AME perfectly as that would be the entire link at that point and ALL UTUBE links that are supposed to work do work in AME if you have it set up right.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 00:52
ArnyVee's Avatar
ArnyVee ArnyVee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gladhatter, I tried to add the url with the "&feature=player embedded" piece (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZZfu...layer_embedded) and it still didn't work for me.

It gave me the same <div>, etc, etc.... boy oh boy, when a mod works it's so great and when it has an issue it sure gets frustrating, doesn't it?

Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 01:15
Big-K Big-K is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Anyone know why Videos are not showing in Internet Explorer but showing OK in Firefox and Chrome?
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 01:59
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
Originally Posted by ArnyVee View Post
Gladhatter, I tried to add the url with the "&feature=player embedded" piece (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZZfu...layer_embedded) and it still didn't work for me.

It gave me the same <div>, etc, etc.... boy oh boy, when a mod works it's so great and when it has an issue it sure gets frustrating, doesn't it?

Any other suggestions?
I am sorry as it works grand for me when I tried it with the url from UTube.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 02:25
ArnyVee's Avatar
ArnyVee ArnyVee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Just tested it again and got a link to nowhere.....here's the URL....


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 10:34
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by ArnyVee View Post
Just tested it again and got a link to nowhere.....here's the URL....


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Arny, have you tried disabling all other mods and then reposting the link? I suspect there may be some conflict with something you may have recently installed. Let me know asap
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: