Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AME 2.5 - Media Embedding for posts, sigs, vm's, groups and blogs Details »
AME 2.5 - Media Embedding for posts, sigs, vm's, groups and blogs
Mod Version: 2.5.6, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (192 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 1968
Released: 20 Jan 2009 Last Update: 09 Dec 2009 Downloads: 12894
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files  

From the makers of the letters O and Yea comes the hottest 'must have mod' of the season: AME 2.5 - The Return of The Hot Mama.

Thanks everyone for making AME 2.5 Mod of the Month

AME is the multi award winning modification that smartly scans new and edited posts for URLs from a customisable variety of web sites (i.e. YouTube or Amazon or about 200 others). If it finds a match, AME will 'transform' the URL into inline embedded media without your users ever having to even think about it.

It was important for me to create a system that did not need updating (and subsequent reinstalling) every time one of the sites it supported decided to change the way it displayed its media (which is all the fricken time). Therefore I built a system in which the 'definitions' for each site could be imported, exported, tweaked and shared on a whim. This way, you only have to import the definitions that you want. It also allows the vB community to get creative and share definitions that I wouldn't of thought of!

Which sites are supported?

Included in the default installation is YouTube and Amazon. At time of posting this, I believe that there are over 180 sites supported that have been created by the vBulletin community. These range from sites that stream videos to Amazon referral links to locally hosted music and video files.

Check out the 'add ons' section of this post below to see availible add-ons.

For a total list of features and an FAQ, see click here.
For a post on troubleshooting, click here.

Though not tested on any version of vBulletin lower than 3.7.4, in theory it should work on versions 3.5 and higher (just dont quote this bit!).

Big thanks goes out to all those in the community that have supported this mod. Especially Digital Jedi who gives great support on this mod and has created over 160 definitions for this system alone!


Installation/Upgrade
  • Upload the contents of the forums folder into your forums directory and import the product-ame.xml file into your product manager (if upgrading, choose 'yes' to overwrite previous installation).
  • After installation, make sure that the system is on (admincp->AME CP->Settings)
  • Then you may want to try to rebuild old URLs via the tools option.

Change Log
nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	newpost.jpg
Views:	6640
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	93148   Click image for larger version

Name:	newpost_result.jpg
Views:	9506
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	93149  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases DJ's AMEs :: Media Definitions for AME 2.5 :: More Video, Twitter, Pinterest... Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 2086 05 Sep 2018 16:05
Add-On Releases Digital Sith's AMEs - ADULT Media Definitions Digital Sith vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 66 08 Sep 2015 23:44
Show Thread Enhancements AME 2.0 -Auto Media Embedding for posts, blogs, visitor and group messsages The Geek vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 954 25 May 2014 10:58
Add-On Releases DJ's AME (Auto Media Embedding) XML Media Definitions (Third Time's the Charm) Digital Jedi Modification Graveyard 828 10 Mar 2010 06:45

  #316  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 00:35
Gladhatter Gladhatter is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Clintwood VA
Real name: Charlie Swindall
It will not be if but be when for sure. This is going to be resolved and you can count on it. Sorry that my coder has went AWOL for a time on me or I would be tempted to hire a solution myself but am sure that Geek can resolve it best anyways.
__________________
Visit the SBS to learn about traditional hat making skills and the finest pure sterling beaver custom handmade bespoke commissioned hats in the universe. www.gladhatter.com.
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 00:41
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by tekguru View Post
PM sent
What looks to be happening is that there is some other hack already transforming the URLs before AME can get to them (or after which is messing them up). If you look at the URLs, they arent normal vB urls, they call a javascript function to track all outbound links:

pageTracker._trackPageview ('/outgoing/http_www_youtube_com_watch_v_uk0xWm8PMGQ');

It then changes the URL to

http://www.4winmobile.com/forums/redirect-to/?redirect=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Duk0xWm8PMGQ

Which won't get matched by AME as it isn't a valid AME URL. I have glanced through your addons, but nothing specifically stands out. It may be a vbseo function to track outbound links, but i'm not too sure (I use vBSEO and mine doesnt do that).

Do you know what it is?
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 01:04
high6 high6 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
It doesn't seem to find youtube videos.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 01:35
ArnyVee's Avatar
ArnyVee ArnyVee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
There is obviously some conflict. First one to find it, please post it!
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 03:39
Lone Gunman Lone Gunman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
it worked great for me but was getting blank pages trying to open pms while this was enabled. uninstalled for now, but would like to reinstall after all the conflicts are worked out. Very cool mod and thanks for your hard work!
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 07:25
tekguru tekguru is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Which won't get matched by AME as it isn't a valid AME URL. I have glanced through your addons, but nothing specifically stands out. It may be a vbseo function to track outbound links, but i'm not too sure (I use vBSEO and mine doesnt do that).

Do you know what it is?
Weird as far as I know there is nothing in there that does this, unless as you say it is vbSEO.
Any chance you can PM me a screen capture of your vbSEO settings and I'll then compare to see if i have any settings turned on that you don't?
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 09:34
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Are you sure about that? I just looked at them all and not sure how they would contribute. AME doesn't even get fired up as such in Pm's. I just tested out the first one and there doesn't appear to be any conflict and like I said, the others don't really looks like they could interfere. Do you have access to your error log? If so, reproduce the behaviour and look at your error log and that will give the reason why its happening.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 09:44
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by tekguru View Post
Weird as far as I know there is nothing in there that does this, unless as you say it is vbSEO.
Any chance you can PM me a screen capture of your vbSEO settings and I'll then compare to see if i have any settings turned on that you don't?
Looks like its a Google Analytics function. I'll need to look into it a bit more.
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 09:51
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Looks like its a Google Analytics function. I'll need to look into it a bit more.
Ok tek, I found it... looks like it is a vBSEO setting to support tracking all outbound links from your forum using Google Analytics.

in your vbseo cp it is the:

Add Google Analytics "Tracking External Link Clicks" Code?

setting. For performance reasons, I would suggest turning this to no unless you need to track outbound links. If you need to have it on, then you will need to disable AME as the two are fighting over the same URL and AME is getting her ass kicked
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 18:05
tekguru tekguru is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Still no go unfortunately, I turned off that option, no difference and then turned off vbSEO completely and I still got:

<div style="display: none;" id="ame_noshow_post_1234375378_7">
<a href="" title="You Tube" target="_blank">You Tube</a>
</div>
<div style="display: inline;" id="ame_doshow_post_1234375378_7">
<div align="center">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" width="425" style="margin:10px 0">
<thead>
<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="2" style="text-align:center">
<a href="" title="You Tube" target="_blank">You Tube</a>
</td>
</tr>
</thead>
<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="panelsurround" align="center">
<object width="425" height="350">
<param name=''movie'' value="http://www.youtube.com/v/uk0xWm8PMGQ&ap=%2526fmt%3D18&fs=1"></param>
<param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param>
<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/uk0xWm8PMGQ&ap=%2526fmt%3D18&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" width="425" height="350" wmode="transparent"></embed></object>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>
</table></div>
</div>
Sigh..... will have to turn AME back off again. Do you still need the Admin acces to do further tests?
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 19:20
Lone Gunman Lone Gunman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Are you sure about that? I just looked at them all and not sure how they would contribute. AME doesn't even get fired up as such in Pm's. I just tested out the first one and there doesn't appear to be any conflict and like I said, the others don't really looks like they could interfere. Do you have access to your error log? If so, reproduce the behaviour and look at your error log and that will give the reason why its happening.
thats what i thought. with them disabled it works though. i could have something else wrong somewhere causing this too. im using vb 3.8.1


Server Type FreeBSD Data Usage 13.85 MB
Web Server Apache v1.3.37 (cgi-fcgi) Index Usage 1.70 MB
PHP 5.2.3 Attachment Usage 317.5 KB
PHP Max Post Size 8.00 MB
PHP Maximum Upload Size 16.00 MB
PHP Memory Limit 8.00 MB [View]
MySQL Version 4.1.22
MySQL Packet Size 10.00 MB


im going too have server owner take a look at things. if you have any clues why pms open blank for me when certain mods are installed together.....
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 19:56
Lone Gunman Lone Gunman is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Originally Posted by The Geek View Post
Are you sure about that? I just looked at them all and not sure how they would contribute. AME doesn't even get fired up as such in Pm's. I just tested out the first one and there doesn't appear to be any conflict and like I said, the others don't really looks like they could interfere. Do you have access to your error log? If so, reproduce the behaviour and look at your error log and that will give the reason why its happening.
youre right. i installed this, live topic and one other on that list on my test board (where nothing else is installed) and didnt have any troubles. ill dig into things more on my board but if you have any suggestions id appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 23:49
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by tekguru View Post
Still no go unfortunately, I turned off that option, no difference and then turned off vbSEO completely and I still got:



Sigh..... will have to turn AME back off again. Do you still need the Admin acces to do further tests?
Tek, I suspect this is a different issue. Ill look into it on your site tomorrow. One strange thing though was that none of my posts would appear. Can you make sure that if I post, they... well... post?

Not sure if you have some other mod that prevents people with x amount of posts not showing.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 12 Feb 2009, 00:27
ArnyVee's Avatar
ArnyVee ArnyVee is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Geek, please keep up the research. I haven't found a solution and this is a pretty big part of my member's interaction.

Go Geek Go!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: