Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 28 Jan 2013, 17:20
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Question RSS Fedd on closed forum, it is possible?

Hello,

i have closed my forum for guests but i will give my users the chance for rss feeds, what can i do? Have anyone a link to a hack for this? its a vb4.2 pl3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28 Jan 2013, 19:28
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
You could create a plugin using hook global_bootstrap_init_start and this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29 Jan 2013, 05:03
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
It works not..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29 Jan 2013, 12:57
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
Oh, sorry, I misread and thought you had closed your forum. When you say "closed for guests" what does that mean?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Jan 2013, 15:14
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Only registered users can see the forum, on the vb3.8 i have no problems with this option.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Jan 2013, 17:36
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I think you'll need to actually edit the external.php file directly. It checks the forum permissions on line 129:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So, you'll want to modify that to allow the user to see the forum (remove the canview and canviewothers lines?)

This will mean that anybody to can see the feed.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Jan 2013, 18:06
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
works not i think that was work on vb3.8
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Jan 2013, 21:42
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It does work on 3.8. Did you try removing the condition there on your 4.2 forum code? You may need to remove this also:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Jan 2013, 05:54
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Both are not works on 4.2 pl3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Jan 2013, 21:52
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Make sure you comment out that stuff in the if and else area (around line 172). And, probably comment out the stuff around line 191. Wait out the cache and then see if it works.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 31 Jan 2013, 06:09
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Question

It ist not my first mod but will not works, will you this do it for me please ?

**edit: File removed as vbulletin doesn't give you permission to redistribute their files.

Last edited by Lynne; 31 Jan 2013 at 18:34. Reason: removed file
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 31 Jan 2013, 18:36
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You may not post a vbulletin file as they do not give you permission to redistribute them.

Just post your code from line 124 to 137 and then from 170 to 180 and then from 190 to 195. You should have lines commented out in all of those areas. After commenting out the code according to what we have talked about here, please post those lines using the code tags and I will see if you did it correctly. Do not post it for me to do for you - try to do it yourself.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31 Jan 2013, 19:21
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
First sorry i dont have think, now it works BUT i have forums theres only for the team an now in the feed all user can see this ?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31 Jan 2013, 19:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You said you wanted your guests to be able to see all the feeds. So, that is what that code does. If you don't want some forumids to show, then you need to modify the $forumchoice variable to NOT show those forumids (just put a condition around it that if it's forumid x, then it doesn't get added to the array).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02 Feb 2013, 08:06
Elric Elric is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Theres many variables of this type in the external.php
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: