Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 25 May 2014, 12:18
aleheroix aleheroix is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by Spangle View Post
Have you tried using "text-align" or even "span"

If you search W3 Schools there should be an answer in there.
Using relative movement is closest to what I require, but it also created a gap in between the cells were my new gridlines are. See below :


Im sure its padding like they suggested at vB.com but it just doesn't work, at least I can't get it to work. The text in the cells look fixed in position relative to the cell borders, surely that can't be the way its supposed to work can it? That completely takes the power away from any web designers hands in customising the look of the site
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25 May 2014, 12:34
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by aleheroix View Post
Using relative movement is closest to what I require, but it also created a gap in between the cells were my new gridlines are. See below :


Im sure its padding like they suggested at vB.com but it just doesn't work, at least I can't get it to work. The text in the cells look fixed in position relative to the cell borders, surely that can't be the way its supposed to work can it? That completely takes the power away from any web designers hands in customising the look of the site
Not sure if this will help, however when I wanted to use larger Icons for my forum, Lynne gave me this to add to css.additional.css it may help, or even point you in the right direction


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 25 May 2014, 17:00
aleheroix aleheroix is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Smile

Originally Posted by Spangle View Post
Not sure if this will help, however when I wanted to use larger Icons for my forum, Lynne gave me this to add to css.additional.css it may help, or even point you in the right direction


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Yes, thanks. That did help actually.

It's still not right as the colour of some of the borders aren't included in the stylevar editor (if not all of them). I couldn't manage to get a border around the subforums section or category header however, no amount of poking and prodding got a border on that. Also, some of the borders from the default style kinda look rough with the new (retro) borders, though I suspect I can make them transparent in the stylevar editor.







In the hope that anyone else finds this useful, and anyone else helping me further with it, I will post the code here :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Through no experience of CSS I have managed get the classic vBulletin borders back on the listing pages. It looks so much clearer and easy to distinguish than the standard skin, why they decided to not have them in I wouldn't know. I even bought a crappy skin just because it had the borders on, but it looks even worse than the modified default skin so that was a waste of $20.

Any help is much appreciated!

Last edited by aleheroix; 25 May 2014 at 17:15.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 25 May 2014, 17:15
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by aleheroix View Post
Yes, thanks. That did help actually.

It's still not right as the colour of some of the borders aren't included in the stylevar editor (if not all of them). I couldn't manage to get a border around the subforums section or category header however, no amount of poking and prodding got a border on that. Also, some of the borders from the default style kinda look rough with the new (retro) borders, though I suspect I can make them transparent in the stylevar editor.







In the hope that anyone else finds this useful, and anyone else helping me further with it, I will post the code here :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Through no experience of CSS I have managed get the classic vBulletin borders back on the listing pages. It looks so much clearer and easy to distinguish than the standard skin, why they decided to not have them in I wouldn't know. I even bought a crappy skin just because it had the borders on, but it looks even worse than the modified default skin so that was a waste of $20.

Any help is much appreciated!
have you tried :

border-color:red; ? or whatever colour you want ?

The subforums re a PIA, I wanted to change the icons for them as well as the main icons, but no-one seems to know how to do that either, so adding borders will be in the same boat I suspect.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 25 May 2014, 17:32
aleheroix aleheroix is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by Spangle View Post
have you tried :

border-color:red; ? or whatever colour you want ?

The subforums re a PIA, I wanted to change the icons for them as well as the main icons, but no-one seems to know how to do that either, so adding borders will be in the same boat I suspect.
I've tried :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The last one not having anything after the prefix (as in "tr.subforum-list" then its just "td" with no ".")
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 25 May 2014, 17:46
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Spangle View Post
I wanted to change the icons for them as well as the main icons, but no-one seems to know how to do that either, so adding borders will be in the same boat I suspect.
I have posted that before a couple of times. I think I posted it on vbulletin.com, so you may want to try a search there.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25 May 2014, 17:51
aleheroix aleheroix is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I have posted that before a couple of times. I think I posted it on vbulletin.com, so you may want to try a search there.
No help with the category-header and subforum-list?

--------------- Added 25 May 2014 at 19:24 ---------------


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This does put an ugly black line on the category-header...

Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25 May 2014, 21:16
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
This is what I use on my vB5 site for the main page:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is what I use to change the icons:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 25 May 2014, 21:16
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by aleheroix View Post
No help with the category-header and subforum-list?

--------------- Added 25 May 2014 at 19:24 ---------------


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This does put an ugly black line on the category-header...

try removing .category-header from that bit of css

The border styling should not be applied to it then
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 25 May 2014, 21:27
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I have posted that before a couple of times. I think I posted it on vbulletin.com, so you may want to try a search there.
Tried a search on VB.com and found this :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But that doesn't work for sub forums.

The code you suggested above is OK if you only want a new and old icon, I would like to have a different icon for each sub-forum.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 25 May 2014, 21:43
aleheroix aleheroix is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
This is what I use on my vB5 site for the main page:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This is what I use to change the icons:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Wow, cheers Lynne!

That looks loads better than my attempt. I guess I need to have a bit more practice, huh?
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25 May 2014, 23:47
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Spangle View Post
Tried a search on VB.com and found this :

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But that doesn't work for sub forums.

The code you suggested above is OK if you only want a new and old icon, I would like to have a different icon for each sub-forum.
Then use the data-channel-id in the CSS declaration. (He gives an example of how to use that in post 4 of the thread you just linked to).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 26 May 2014, 00:03
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Then use the data-channel-id in the CSS declaration. (He gives an example of how to use that in post 4 of the thread you just linked to).
I tried that and it didn't work for sub-forums
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 26 May 2014, 01:02
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Try using firebug, or whatever web developer tool you have, to see the CSS. It uses this as the declaration:

.forum-list-container .subforum-list .subforum-item .icon, .forum-list-container .forum-item.sub .cell-forum .icon {stuff}

So, use that with the data-id stuff.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 26 May 2014, 11:22
Spangle Spangle is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Try using firebug, or whatever web developer tool you have, to see the CSS. It uses this as the declaration:

.forum-list-container .subforum-list .subforum-item .icon, .forum-list-container .forum-item.sub .cell-forum .icon {stuff}

So, use that with the data-id stuff.
I've been trying that for several hours on and off, I can remove the default icons, but cannot display the custom icons, even if I use the full url.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:34.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: