Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dream's Chatbox Details »
Dream's Chatbox
Mod Version: 2.1.1, by Dream (Member) Dream is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (7 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 140
Released: 12 Jan 2008 Last Update: 10 Oct 2008 Downloads: 1759
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

This adds a Chatbox in your forum home page.

Here's how it works: every 5 minutes the chatbox asks the server if there are new messages. You can change this 5 minutes to any number of seconds you want, but the lower you go the more server resources the chatbox uses.

Features:
- AJAX
- Pages
- Change refresh rate
- Hide chatbox content from chosen usergroups
- Set usergroups that can't send messages
- Set moderator usergroups that can delete messages
- Can disable auto refresh for guests
- Prune messages by user ID, user name, days old or all messages
- Enable smilies, bbcode and/or [ img ]
- Automatic URL parsing
- Option for users to delete own messages
- Smilies popup with all smilies you can use
- Who's Online Support
- User names uses usergroup colors
- Ban Users
- /me code
- Message colors
- and more

This mod is final, no new features will be added.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	chatbox.jpg
Views:	4922
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	74474   Click image for larger version

Name:	smilies.gif
Views:	434
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	74475  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Statistics Modifications Dream's Forum Statistics Dream vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 340 03 Jan 2013 12:14
Chat Modifications Chatbox Rules in cyb chatbox title Hornstar vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 23 Apr 2011 17:57
Chat Modifications Dream's Chatbox Dream vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 818 28 Oct 2010 03:31
Add-On Releases Adsense in Dream's Radio And TV Add-on indie2industry vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 6 26 Feb 2010 19:37
Mini Mods Adsense in Dream's Radio And TV Add-on indie2industry vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 9 17 Jan 2010 13:44

  #106  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 22:20
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
you just changed the javascript function name? that would be ok... did you try replacing the chatbox.php? are you using the latest version?
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 22:36
kronnos kronnos is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
yeh i think I did but dont really remember how I did that, since it was more then a year ago and I spent a lot of time playing with it to make it look right. Wait..could that be why it might not be working, I changed the function name on the other server where the original site is right now, but all i did was copy the above code from old template into knew one. Should I have copied over something else where I changed the function name or it was saved in the database?

Anyway, I uploaded all the latest files including chatbox.php and when going to IE, it refreshed 2 times(after 30 sec interval) nicely and then it just doesnt anymore... When I manually try to click refresh, the button just blinks and nothing happenes.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 22:38
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
if it blinks it should have gotten the new messages from the server, if there are no new messages everything stays the same.
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 22:41
kronnos kronnos is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I know there are new messages because I create them in the firefox version of the site, basically I chat with myselv through firefox and IE. Anyway, its a strange blink because teh normal blink takes atleast a second or 2 to blink back to normal state as its thinking, this blink is instant as though its not thinking anything at all.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 22:45
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
are you logged on IE? maybe refresh is disabled for guests.
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 22:52
kronnos kronnos is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
just tried, I am logged in but still nothing. After I reload the entire page, its gives me a chance to refresh the chat 2-3 times before it just blinks
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 20 Feb 2009, 16:28
kNeeLy's Avatar
kNeeLy kNeeLy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: kneel
can anyone tell me how to just put this on my vba?
EDit.


i got installed on vba..thank u for the file on "how to"

but how do i remove it from the forum and just leave it on the vba?

edit again: n/m ..got it!!
__________________
The Best Toyota Forum for enthusiasts!

Last edited by kNeeLy; 14 Mar 2009 at 20:43.
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 26 Feb 2009, 17:54
kNeeLy's Avatar
kNeeLy kNeeLy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Real name: kneel
edit : n/m.
__________________
The Best Toyota Forum for enthusiasts!

Last edited by kNeeLy; 14 Mar 2009 at 20:44.
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 05 Mar 2009, 09:50
mohammad6006's Avatar
mohammad6006 mohammad6006 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Mohammad
not have for 3.8.x ?
__________________
http://forum.tractorfc.com
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 20:26
illkeyone's Avatar
illkeyone illkeyone is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: ilke
Hey Dream, is it working on 3.8.1, if you upgraded yours to 3.8.1 from 3.8.0, then may you please tell me if it is working without problems or not?

Thanks
__________________
_____________________________
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 21:38
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
heya im using it on my boards with 3.8.1 with no problems but if you need more options on your chatbox I suggest using Cyb Chatbox as this mod won't be updated anymore, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 00:54
BullpupRef BullpupRef is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Hey guys,

Great mod. I may be using this now, instead of the 'pay' chatroom add on I bought. Thank you!

Please addd www.OneSeasonNation.com/forum to your live demo list.

I have a question though, I keep getting a dialogue box that pops up when refreshing the home forum page, or navigating away from the chatbox. (browser firefox portable)

Here is what the error box says....

"AJAX error, please try again. (HTTP status: 0 / communication failure)"

It doesn't seem to have any effect on the box, but I don't want my users complaining about it.

Any ideas? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 01:21
BullpupRef BullpupRef is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Oh, and one more thing.

I see the code to put it at the top of the home page. And the code to put it at the bottom of the home page. Even to put it in the "what's happening" box.


How about code to put it below the nav bar globally?
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 01:47
BullpupRef BullpupRef is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
bump! any ideas on the above two issues? Thanks in advance!

Last edited by BullpupRef; 03 Jun 2009 at 18:21.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: