Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
WoW Character BBCode Details »
WoW Character BBCode
Mod Version: 0.4.9b, by sweede (Member) sweede is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (9 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 92
Released: 02 Feb 2008 Last Update: 25 Nov 2008 Downloads: 1055
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations External Content Is in Beta Stage  

This is a continuation of the project, http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=160418 . I have made several modifications to the original authors code and several have asked for my modifications.

Because of this and the original authors lack of updating the original modification, I have decided to upload this package for all to use.

All credit goes to the original author(s) of the utility as i have only cleaned up the code and packaged it for easy usage.

WARNING!
This is very beta at this time. I have added the product now to force myself to update and maintain the plugin and to share it with the rest of my fellow World of Warcraft webmasters

Installation
  1. Uninstall your existing WoW Char Code installation. I have changed the product ID itself and it may not update everything correctly.
  2. Remove the clientscript/ajax_tooltip and clientscript/phparmory folders if they exist
  3. Upload the contents of the "Upload" Folder to the ROOT directory of your forums (for example, if you have your forums installed in /home/mydir/public_html/forums , you would unzip into that folder.)
  4. Import the product/product-WoWCharBBCode-?.??.xml file

Changelog
  • 0.4.9b
    • Added basic Death Knight support
    • Fixed problem with characters with no professions (common with Death Knights)
  • 0.4.9a
    • Fixed a minor issue with realms in spaces in the name
  • 0.4.9
    • Added wysiwyg support
  • 0.4.8a
    • Fixed a php parse error in functions_wowcharcode.php. you do not need to download the entire zip file, just replace your existing functions_wowcharcode.php file with the attached .php file
  • 0.4.8
  • 0.4.7a
    • Removed some left over debugging statements and info in the product and php file.
  • 0.4.7
    • Changed the backend armory code.
    • Updated caching to not cache Armory results that end up as errors
    • Added character class, race and professions as vbphrases.
    • Added KR and TW Armory locales. (, etc)
    • Some minor fixes.
  • 0.4.4
    • Added Icon caching to help with slow armory. Images are cached by default in the armory folder. chmod this folder to 777 and icons will be automaticly cached to this folder.
    • You can now use the variable $wowchar_code in the postbit (or postbit_legacy) to display the character tooltip in a post.
  • 0.4.3 Fixed issue with rebuilding post cache.
  • 0.4.2 Added option to show/hide realm if a default realm is set.
  • 0.4.1 Fixed an issue if the character doesnt have armory data, Only change is in functions_wowcharcode.php file.
  • 0.4
    • All Character stat text are now phrases. you will find a new Phrase Type in the Phrase Manager ( WoW BBCode Phrases )
    • Added default realm option so one does not need to use the [char=server] option when specifying characters on own realm.
    • Customized the stat display per class and on some specs (such as feral v.s. resto druids). see an example at http://www.dramaloot.com/forums/showthread.php?p=19271
  • 0.3
    • Armory Caching works for both US and EU armorys.
    • Removed un-used files.
    • Put the majority of the codes HTML creation as templates and use vbulletins ajax.php and hooks.
    • Added options for default locale (armory) to use (currently EU and US armories).
    • Added option to disable caching of the Armory (i use it to test armory retrieval)
    • Added ability to specify what armory the character / realm you would like, see usage notes below.
  • 0.2
    • Armory Caching never actually worked properly, this should now be fixed.
    • Remove the includes/functions_wow3bbcode.php file. This has been replaced by a plugin.
    • Remove the clientscript/phparmory/config.php file. This isnt needed.
    • Major updates to phparmory.php
    • Minor Plugin changes + code cleanup.
ToDo
  • New tooltip javascript
  • New character sheet.
  • Create easy to modify interface for character stats to be displayed in tooltip.


Usage
Using the character code is easy enough,
[char]CHARACTER[/char] if default realm option is set and character links is on same realm.
For characters not on the same realm as the default,
[char=SERVER]CHARACTER[/char]
For example,
[char=Vek'nilash]Azaril[/char]
Or, if you want to link a character profile from another locale (i.e. EU realms) , you simply add EU- before the server name.
[char=EU-Vek'nilash]Azaril[/char]

The same thing applies to linking US realm characters from a EU default forum.

See a working example at http://www.dramaloot.com/index.php?id=officer_cl (This is a vbadvanced custom page using the BBCode page type).

Added German translation for what i currently have localized. Provided by jluerken http://www.wow-relaxed.de

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
BB Code Enhancements WoW Character Stats *** BBcode Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 17 02 Feb 2008 07:31

  #46  
Old 16 Feb 2008, 18:26
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Caerydd View Post
Mebbe, but I'm not going to do it now. His 'version' pulls armory data for his new WoW Event Calendar, so I wouldn't want to mess it up However Sweede's bbcode would be a nicer way of displaying characters in the postbit ^^ So...we'll see.

I love love love that we have two great developers maintaining these mods now
My mod retrieves the armory XML data and stores the entire thing into the database. the cached data expires after 6 hours (at least thats what i think it did).

Anything that that uses armory data can easily be re-written to use the cache storage container that i have

For example, the elricstorm calander read the XML file from the armory then copied the parts of the XML to the database. You would simply change the code that retrieves the the armory from the URL with what i wrote.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 06:35
MrShides MrShides is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
My Fury Warriors and Ehancement Shaman where commenting on how they really like the addon, however they would really like it to display their Attackpower and Crit Chance.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 09:13
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by MrShides View Post
My Fury Warriors and Ehancement Shaman where commenting on how they really like the addon, however they would really like it to display their Attackpower and Crit Chance.


It appears that melee crit wasnt part of the original or i accidently deleted it..

Go to admincp -> Phrase Manager -> Add New Phrase

Phrase Type: WoW BBCode Phrases
Product: WoW BB Code
Varname: wowcharcode_melee_crit
Text: Melee Crit

Save.

Open includes/functions_wowcharcode.php file and find

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

after it.

Find

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

after it

Now, you can add the melee crit ID in the make_extra_data method.
Change all lines that read

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There should be 4 places to change (you don't need to change the hunter section that starts with // Hunter 2 melee stats).

I'll incorporate this into a more complete package at a later time. I want to finish up a couple other things first.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 14:53
CremeEgg CremeEgg is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Jason Benedicic
With the caching enabled I can't see any of the images. They are being cached, I've checked the folder on the server.

I have this issue alot with the theme I'm using when I have images that are outside of the themes folder root.

There are no replacement variables set in the theme though. Should I add one for the armory/images folder or is there a way I can move that folder?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 16:48
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
odd, if you go to http://www.destinyawaitsguild.co.uk/...w-70/1-1-2.gif

The image is there, but you get a permission error when trying to view it. Using an FTP client (or if you have a shell to the server which is the best!), try to browse to the /forum/armory/images folder and note the permissions.

Note the attached image, in CuteFTP that is the info i'll be looking for.
Attached Images
File Type: png cuteftp.png (6.5 KB, 17 views)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 18:02
CremeEgg CremeEgg is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Jason Benedicic
Thats totally odd. As far as I can see the permissions are correct.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Perms.jpg (79.8 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 18:43
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
What about the armory directory itself?

Also, do you have access to the error_log file for your domain? that may tell you a bit more.

if you delete (rename, whatever) the armory folder, it won't try to cache images and use images from wowarmory.com instead.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 18:47
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Oh, and i want to change a couple thing so that instead of caching images to the filesystem, it caches them to the MySQL database so you don't have to add new directories and run into issues such as this. I'm not quite that far long with it though.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 18:56
CremeEgg CremeEgg is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Jason Benedicic
Originally Posted by sweede View Post
What about the armory directory itself?

Also, do you have access to the error_log file for your domain? that may tell you a bit more.

if you delete (rename, whatever) the armory folder, it won't try to cache images and use images from wowarmory.com instead.
Armory is 777, subdirs are 764.

I will have to see about an error log not looked for one before.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 19:13
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by CremeEgg View Post
Armory is 777, subdirs are 764.

I will have to see about an error log not looked for one before.
don't worry about the error log, 764 means that the owner has RWX (Read, Write, Execute), Group has Read,Write, and world (Everyone) has read permissions.

apache needs execute access in any directory it serves images from, so the permissions on folders should be 755 (or 751, but we wont get into unix permissions here).
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 19:33
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
CremeEgg, try this.

delete your armory/images folder (don't delete the armory folder), hopefully you do not need to get your host involved due to permission issues.

open up functions_wowcharcode.php and find the line


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace that line with all of the following


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 17 Feb 2008, 19:33
CremeEgg CremeEgg is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Jason Benedicic
Originally Posted by sweede View Post
don't worry about the error log, 764 means that the owner has RWX (Read, Write, Execute), Group has Read,Write, and world (Everyone) has read permissions.

apache needs execute access in any directory it serves images from, so the permissions on folders should be 755 (or 751, but we wont get into unix permissions here).
Works fine now thanks. My *nix skills are weak, don't really have much to do with it anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 22 Feb 2008, 10:30
sweede's Avatar
sweede sweede is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Just as a notice, I plan on updating this in a few days.

Changes will include a more absract method of retreiving and storing character data from the armory. This will be a set of class methods that anyone can use to get , cache and display armory data.

Much better method of selecting what attributes to display. I'm also currently trying to figure out how to make character "roles" work, but am unsure if that would be a possibilty or even a wise idea, due to the amount of setup on the end users part it would require.

I would estimate a week or two before i have an update ready. If anyone has suggestions or any requests, let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 24 Feb 2008, 16:43
Gooner Gooner is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Would it be possible to make the users names interactive on the forums? based on usergroup permissions.

for example your name on your post "SWEEDE" would display your player stats... but obviously not ever on the forum will use there in game name to have the option through Cpanel to turn interactivity for your name on.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 26 Feb 2008, 11:02
hinch's Avatar
hinch hinch is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Just installed this and it works great but at the same time throws up some mkdir errors.

Line in question is

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I've attached a screenshot so you can see the errors its throwing up
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image1.jpg (77.4 KB, 41 views)
__________________
http://www.furious-angels.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: