Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself Details »
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself
Mod Version: 2.00, by EvilLS1 (Member) EvilLS1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.6 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 145
Released: 04 Jan 2004 Last Update: 25 Jan 2005 Downloads: 27
Not Supported  

This hack will allow your users to edit their posts without having to load the editpost page..

How it works: In the bottom right-hand corner of all your posts will be a small Quick Edit icon (users will only see it in posts which belong to them).. When you click it a text box will drop down below your post allowing you to edit it instantly in the thread itself.

This will save you a lot of time when fixing those spelling mistakes, typos, or broken links. It should also help save on bandwidth since your users will no longer need to load the editpost page.

Very easy to install.. 2 file edits, 2 template edits, and 1 template to add.

Known bug: Quick Edit will NOT work with Opera web browsers. Those who use Opera simply won't see the option to quick edit (icon will be invisible when viewed in that browser). It'll work fine in other browsers such as IE or firefox.

Support: Due to work my time is limited as of late so this hack is released AS IS with no support. However, several questions have already been answered in this thread.

Update (7-25-04): Fixed a minor bug with the QE window moving further to the left with each click in mozilla/firefox browsers. To update simply replace your showthread_quickedit template with the new one. Thanks to sv1cec for this bug fix.

Add Ons:
*Show the "delete post" option for those who have permission in the Quick Edit form (also adds edit reason). (by sv1cec)
*Show the "edit reason" field in the Quick Edit form. (Requested by Convergys)
*Alternate Quickedit icon image (by ryancooper)
*Another alternate Quickedit icon (by sv1cec)
*Another alternate Quickedit icon (by charlesk)
*Yet another alternate Quickedit icon (by iguanairs)
*Give users the option to disable quick edit in the usercp (by pco)



If you find this hack useful please click the install button.

Screenshot attached:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	1790
Size:	43.1 KB
ID:	18540  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Quick Edit! -Edit posts directly from within the thread itself EvilLS1 vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 126 30 Jan 2004 07:01

Comments
  #2  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 04:33
MGM MGM is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: Bara
alright! thanks man! I love the Quick hacks, this is one step closer to getting em all back

/me clicks install

MGM out
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 05:53
Delusional's Avatar
Delusional Delusional is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Could you possibly convert this hack to work on version 2.3.2?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 05:56
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by Delusional
Could you possibly convert this hack to work on version 2.3.2?
The vBulletin 2 version can be found here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...threadid=54851
__________________
V4MuscleBike.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 06:08
BillaBongUSA BillaBongUSA is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Hey, awesome hack, but I think I found a bug... Whenever you use the Quick Edit to edit your post, it seems to subscribe you to the thread that you used it in.

Other than that, good work man.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 06:47
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by BillaBongUSA
Hey, awesome hack, but I think I found a bug... Whenever you use the Quick Edit to edit your post, it seems to subscribe you to the thread that you used it in.

Other than that, good work man.
Try this:

In the showthread_quickedit template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below it add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That should fix it.
__________________
V4MuscleBike.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 07:00
BillaBongUSA BillaBongUSA is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Ah, thanks, that fixed it.

Nice job!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 07:16
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Excellent! Works as advertised. Will it have the checkbox for the sig checked if you have a sig in the message already? Also, wouldn't it be wise to have this enabled for Admins on all the messages, too?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 08:10
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Thanks.

Will it have the checkbox for the sig checked if you have a sig in the message already?
Thats a good idea. I fixed it so that the sig checkbox will only show up if the person has a sig, and it will be checked by default. I updated the first post to include this.

For those who have already installed:
In your showthread_quickedit template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace it with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Also, wouldn't it be wise to have this enabled for Admins on all the messages, too?
Well, since the message text would be loaded twice for all posts, I figure its best to only show the Quick Edit option to the post author.

But if anyone wants the quick edit option availible to admins on all posts, just find this section of code (from the hack instructions):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
V4MuscleBike.com

Last edited by EvilLS1; 04 Jan 2004 at 08:12.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 08:31
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
If you turn it on for Admin, too, should'nt that be $postinfo['signature'] so the admin won't put his sig in it if he edits it?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 11:02
hagi hagi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
very nice hack. will be installing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 11:16
MindTrix's Avatar
MindTrix MindTrix is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Real name: Liam Hawkins
Gorgeous hack Ill be sure to try this out soon.
__________________
Hacks Made :
Store 3.0 Color Name Add On.
Last 5 Attachments On Forum Home
Rap Battle System -=RBS=-

Tutorials Made :
The Basics Of PHP For Beginners and The Basics Of PHP [Part 2]

Running away from that Thousand Post Mark
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 12:56
DuffMan DuffMan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Does this work on Mozilla? I remember the VB2 version didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 19:04
EvilLS1's Avatar
EvilLS1 EvilLS1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Thanks.

If you turn it on for Admin, too, should'nt that be $postinfo['signature'] so the admin won't put his sig in it if he edits it?
Thats only the conditional for showing the checkbox. So even if the admin checked it when editing someone elses post I think it would still show the poster's sig and not the admin's. But yeah, if you turn it on for admins in all posts I guess $postinfo[signature] would be the correct variable.

Does this work on Mozilla? I remember the VB2 version didn't.
Yes, I've tested this with Mozilla, IE, and Opera. Works fine with all of them. The VB2 version has also been updated to work with all browsers.
__________________
V4MuscleBike.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04 Jan 2004, 19:59
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
I'm getting a javascript error (Object Expected) on this line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

whenever I hit the reset button. Any ideas how to fix it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: