Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Moderate New Registrations Based On IP Geographical Origin Details »
Moderate New Registrations Based On IP Geographical Origin
Mod Version: 1.00, by Jafo232 (Coder) Jafo232 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.0 Rating: (16 votes - 4.81 average) Installs: 211
Released: 27 Dec 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 694
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

This mod will put any new registration into moderation so you can either approve or deny based on the physical location of the IP address. If the IP is located in a country that you white list, the registration will go through as normal.

This may be different for everyone else, but on my forums, I have yet to have a Russian IP sign up for anything other than posting SPAM. This plugin has moderated them all!

I hope to have time to eventually expand this to do other things. This also works on 3.8.x.

You MUST download the zone files from this site:

http://www.ipdeny.com/ipblocks/

The free license does not allow me to include them with the product, plus it is better to download the latest files anyway.

No real screenshots to show here, sorry.

Changelog:

12/20/2008
  • Coded the routine in, instead of using external whois program.
  • Now compatible with Windows
  • (39 download of 1.0)
2/11/2009
  • 77 downloads at this point
  • Rewrote application to use zone files rather than relying on Arin
12/27/2009
  • Verified it works for 4.0
To upgrade, READ THE README, and re-install product (select overwrite).

Don't forget to:


Developed by a Lampwright!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Moderate New Registrations Based On IP Geographical Origin Jafo232 vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 89 26 Dec 2012 22:35
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Moderate New Registrations Based On IP Geographical Origin Jafo232 vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 49 27 Aug 2012 16:36
Moderate Registrations From Certain IP Addresses Tigga vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 16 08 Jun 2005 17:54

  #31  
Old 25 Mar 2010, 14:07
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
I don't understand your question.. It places users in a moderated group (COPPA) where admins/mods can accept or reject them.
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 26 Mar 2010, 03:14
revitclinic revitclinic is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Originally Posted by Jafo232 View Post
I don't understand your question.. It places users in a moderated group (COPPA) where admins/mods can accept or reject them.
Thank you for your answer. I found it out in CP. I just was thinking I will receive an email, when someone goes automatically for moderation, but I saw, I can see it just in control panel.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02 Apr 2010, 10:02
giorgino giorgino is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
How can I add and IP address to "white list" like this:

255.xxx.xxx.xxx ?

In other words, how can I add a "array" of IP addresses that aren't knew by system?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 11 Apr 2010, 13:08
The_Hawk The_Hawk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Seems new registrations aren't happening anymore with users getting a blank screen on this page after filling in all the registration info and hitting OK:

http://www.vwwatercooled.org.au/regi...p?do=addmember

I'm sure this mod WAS working fine with 4.0.2 PL4 but has since given up the ghost.

As first I thought it was a vBulletin problem so I upgraded to 4.0.3, still no working. I then through it was the vbSEO I installed last week (3.0.5 RC3) so I uninstalled that, still no dice. Then I turned off the country mod and BAM, users can register again.

Re-installed vbSEO, still working.
Uninstalled Country Mod (rather than just disabled) - still working.
Re Installed Country Mod - Not working.
I have re-uploaded the zone files, I have re-uploaded the mod files - still not working
Disabled country mod - working again.

Is there a common fault here or is it just something I have done wrong?

(on a side note all of this DID happen on or about when I install vbSEO so I'm still thinking that's the problem, although technically by completely uninstalling it should have solved the problem... but it didn't)
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 12 Apr 2010, 05:48
fluidswork's Avatar
fluidswork fluidswork is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Arnab Bhadra
great mod ..............
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 05 May 2010, 01:02
Doctor Death Doctor Death is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
In the options for this.... it says

Zone Files
You need to download zone files If you see an error below, then you did not upload the zone files yet (see readme).
Is that normal? I have the zone files installed.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 08 May 2010, 20:14
karrerax karrerax is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
This pluguin is FANTASTIC my Forum has Spamers from China every Day.
It works perctly!

thank youuuuuu
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 08 May 2010, 20:51
giorgino giorgino is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
In Italy libero.it has milions of users and the plugin block this users...

Can I add one series of IP? (like 155.x.x.x)
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 13 May 2010, 09:32
Marv Marv is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Originally Posted by Doctor Death View Post
In the options for this.... it says

Zone Files
You need to download zone files If you see an error below, then you did not upload the zone files yet (see readme).



Is that normal? I have the zone files installed.
I 2nd that. Intsalled following the readme but it doesnt work for me. Am I doing something wrong ?

Last edited by Marv; 13 May 2010 at 09:46.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 13 May 2010, 10:01
Marv Marv is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
I see the developer wasn´t responding here for quite a while. Can anyone confirm
  • what The_Hawk mentioned above ?
  • that this mod works with 4.0.3 ?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 26 May 2010, 23:13
The_Hawk The_Hawk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by Marv View Post
I see the developer wasn´t responding here for quite a while. Can anyone confirm
  • what The_Hawk mentioned above ?
  • that this mod works with 4.0.3 ?
Not so much. With 4.0.3 PL1 it still seems to prevent anyone from registering at all. After filling in the registration details and hitting submit I just get a white page here: http://www.vwwatercooled.org.au/regi...p?do=addmember and nothing happens.

I'm still working my way through the other mods I have installed to see if there is a conflict, although nothing has come up yet.

VBSEO is updated to 3.5.0 Gold, and I have tried re-installing again today, still no dice. Does anyone have this working with 4.0.3 PL1?


EDIT: To confirm, I have now been through ALL of my mods and disabled everything and it still doesn't work so I'm not sure what's up here.

Last edited by The_Hawk; 27 May 2010 at 01:11.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 27 May 2010, 12:34
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
I am using it on 4.0.3 with no issues, so I cannot speak to what is happening to "The Hawks" server. A blank screen is useless information. You have to look in your server log to find out WHAT the error is. It could be something as simple as not uploading the files properly.

Short answer, yes, it works for 4.0.3...
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 30 May 2010, 07:04
The_Hawk The_Hawk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by Jafo232 View Post
You have to look in your server log to find out WHAT the error is.
No problems, been getting round to doing a little more digging, really should have just started in the logs, but then I'm very much still learning as I move along.

It seems it might just be as simple as an out of memory error:

[Thu May 27 09:58:58 2010] [error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] PHP Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 88 bytes) in /var/www/vhosts/vwwatercooled.org.au/httpdocs/plugins/whois.php on line 35, referer: http://www.vwwatercooled.org.au/register.php

We absolutely have to move to a bigger better server VERY soon anyway, so hopefully that will fix this problem too.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 30 May 2010, 17:52
Jafo232 Jafo232 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Your memory_limit setting in your php.ini file is rather low (32 Megabytes). If you bump that up and restart apache, the issue will most likely go away. I would try 64M.
__________________
Become a Lampwright today at www.lampwrights.com!
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 31 May 2010, 06:25
The_Hawk The_Hawk is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by Jafo232 View Post
Your memory_limit setting in your php.ini file is rather low (32 Megabytes). If you bump that up and restart apache, the issue will most likely go away. I would try 64M.
Many thanks, that did the trick and it all seems to be working under 4.0.3 PL1 here now
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: