Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Thread Starter in Postbit for vB 4 Details »
Thread Starter in Postbit for vB 4
Mod Version: 1.0.3, by Boofo (R.I.P.) Boofo is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (20 votes - 4.85 average) Installs: 148
Released: 09 Jun 2010 Last Update: 30 Jul 2010 Downloads: 544
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Thread Starter in Postbit for vB 4
Version 1.0.3
(By Boofo)

What does this product do?
This will add a thread starter icon/text to the postbit. There are 4 locations to choose from (2 icon and 2 text). I know this had been done already, but I didn't like how it showed in the postbit. You do not have to have a signature for this to work. This product is just an upgrade to the manual template edit I have used in the past.

Note: This product was written using the postbit_legacy template and has not been tested on the postbit template, although it should work fine.

Version Information:
Version 1.0.0 --Initial release for vBulletin 4.0.0
Version 1.0.1 --Fixed to work for vB 4.0.4
Version 1.0.2 --Added 2 new locations with highlighted text.
Version 1.0.3 --All 4 options are now linked to the first post of the thread. Also fixed a template cache error that was showing up for PMs.

Installation Overview:
-----------------------------------------------------
1 Product XML (2 Plugins, 1 template, 7 phrases and 1 setting)
1 image file

Installation Instructions:
-----------------------------------------------------
1. Upload thread_starter.gif to the forums/images/misc folder on your site.

2. Go to your Admin CP
Scroll down to 'Plugins & Products'
Click 'Manage Products'
Click 'Add/Import Product'
Click the 'Browse' button, and locate the product-boofo_threadstarter.xml file on your computer

3. Go to your Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> 'Thread Starter in Postbit' and set the following option:
--Show Thread Starter Icon/Text?: This will add the Thread Starter icon/text to your chosen location in the postbit.

--"No" will disable the Thread Starter icon/text from showing anywhere in the postbit. (Default)
--"Yes, Show icon under userinfo" will place the Thread Starter icon under the userinfo.
--"Yes, Show icon in message area" will place the Thread Starter icon at the top right of the message area.
--"Yes, Show text in button bar" will place the highlighted Thread Starter text in the button bar at the bottom of the post.
--"Yes, Show text in message area" will place the highlighted Thread Starter text at the top center of the message area.
-----------------------------------------------------

Done!
Enjoy!



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_message_icon.png
Views:	878
Size:	1.5 KB
ID:	118986   Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_message_text.png
Views:	1522
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	118987   Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_userinfo_icon.png
Views:	730
Size:	3.1 KB
ID:	118988   Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_button_bar.png
Views:	651
Size:	1.8 KB
ID:	127244  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Thread Starter on postbit. deathemperor vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 12 25 Jul 2009 15:49

  #46  
Old 13 Jun 2011, 19:12
dvsDave's Avatar
dvsDave dvsDave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real name: David
If I had remembered that I had a cache running, I would have saved myself the grief! But I jumped to the wrong conclusion. I've done some serious customization of the postbit template, laid out here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=250423 and just thought that it was the cause of the issue, instead of thinking about the cache.
__________________
About dvsDave
dvsDave is the webmaster of the technical theatre forum, ControlBooth.com, a site that is dedicated to teaching high-school and college level techies practical and useful skills for the stage and provides an online community that allows techies from all over the world to discuss the art and science of technical theater.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 13 Jun 2011, 19:37
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
The best way to handle things like that is to make sure the hooks are in the template. If they are, then it has to be something else causing the issue, as you found out.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 14 Jun 2011, 15:25
COL NIL SATIS COL NIL SATIS is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Col
Nice work Boofo
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 21 Jun 2011, 09:02
adiabatic adiabatic is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hi,

when edit a post were the threadstarter icon i visible to the left, it breaks the quick reply box.

Any idea?

vB 4.1.3 - postbit
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 21 Jun 2011, 22:36
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by adiabatic View Post
Hi,

when edit a post were the threadstarter icon i visible to the left, it breaks the quick reply box.

Any idea?

vB 4.1.3 - postbit
Post a pic here so I can see what you are talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 24 Jun 2011, 07:46
adiabatic adiabatic is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have a custom pic but the same goes for default.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bug.jpg (18.5 KB, 44 views)
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 24 Jun 2011, 13:38
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by adiabatic View Post
I have a custom pic but the same goes for default.
Ok, I see what you mean now. I will look into when I have a few minutes.

I do like the custom pic though. Willing to share it?
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 28 Jun 2011, 12:17
adiabatic adiabatic is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Here you are Boofo


You can see it live here - http://bareblogg.no

Last edited by adiabatic; 28 Jun 2011 at 12:24.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 06 Jul 2011, 09:07
adiabatic adiabatic is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Boofo, any news about the fix?
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 08 Jul 2011, 18:54
avsunforum avsunforum is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
thank you boofo
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 19:23
Luca_ITA's Avatar
Luca_ITA Luca_ITA is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
work fine on vb4.1.9, thx!
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 15 Feb 2012, 15:21
gedsta gedsta is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Installed and working well.

Is there any chance you could please tell me where to look for the colour of the background bar so as I can change it?

The yellow looks a little out of place.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 24 May 2012, 00:34
mgurain's Avatar
mgurain mgurain is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Mohammed Al-Gurain
It's working on 4.2, but shouldn't this be upgraded ?

Regards,,
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 24 May 2012, 00:41
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Why? If it works it works.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 24 May 2012, 07:32
mgurain's Avatar
mgurain mgurain is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Mohammed Al-Gurain
To test and confirm for people that it's compatible with 4.2 .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: