Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Word Links FREE (Turn words into links) by BOP5 Details »
Word Links FREE (Turn words into links) by BOP5
Mod Version: 2.0, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (33 votes - 4.91 average) Installs: 241
Released: 16 May 2011 Last Update: 05 Mar 2012 Downloads: 1251
Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  



Thank You for voting this June 2011 Mod of the Month!!!

The purpose of this mod is to automatically turn keywords or phrases you specify into links. You set a list of keywords and a list of URLs to link them to and let the mod do the rest.

This is the FREE Version. It allows you to auto-link words in:
  • Posts/Threads
  • Private Messages
  • Visitor Messages
  • Social Groups

The GOLD Version is available at Qapla.com It allows auto-linking words in:
  • Posts/Threads
  • Private Messages
  • Visitor Messages
  • Social Groups
  • Picture Comments
  • Blog Entries
  • Blog Comments
  • CMS Articles
  • CMS Comments

Live Demo at Qapla.com.

There are many options as you can see in the screenshot. You can choose to include the "nofollow" attribute, choose to open links in a new tab, choose to match whole words only or not, specify specific forums, enable in social groups and visitor messages, and disable completely for selected usergroups or styles.

Version: 2.0
  • New in 0.91: Limit the number of links created per keyword per post.
  • New in 0.92: Use CSS to customize the look of links created by this mod.
  • New in 0.93: Linked words now retain the same case as they were originally typed. Also a new option to specify whether linked words are case sensitive or not.
  • New in 0.935: Fixed conflict with VBSEO and possibly other mods. Upgrade if you are having problems.
  • New in 0.94: Made the "Custom CSS" an option to prevent unnecessary HTML if not needed.
  • New in 0.95: Enable or disable in PMs.
  • New in 0.96: Should fix conflicts with AME3 mod, restores same case change in 0.93.
  • New in 1.0: Additional code to prevent unintended linking. No new features.
  • New in 1.1: Set approximate number of max links per page.
  • New in 1.2: Fixed bug when Ampersands (&) were used in keywords.
  • New in 1.3: Added optional notice on posts with links and associated phrase.
  • New in 1.5: Two new features: 1) You can now use a csv data file for your links (and advanced features) if you prefer and 2) You can use a custom user profile field to allow users to disable the mod individually if you choose.
  • New in 1.5a: Updated German language file thanks to Igel1.
  • New in 1.6: Fixed bug if keyword was part of thread title and thread title was a link in the post. (VB4 Only)
  • New in 1.7: Added field to extend the regex easily through the mod settings. Included fix for bold/font color links.
  • New in 2.0: Rewritten more efficient code. Added option to disable by styleid. Added GOLD version.

Example... If someone types:

"I bought it on Amazon."

This mod can auto convert it to:

"I bought it on Amazon."

And you would presumably put your Amazon affiliate code, if you had one, in the link.

NOTE: This mod does not alter the actual posts or the database. Disabling or uninstalling the mod will remove all links.

There is a VB3 and VB4 version of this mod, please download the correct version.

Full instructions in zip file.

Notice:
Since the following words are used in HTML tags I would avoid them as keywords:
style, div, class, pre, href, img, html, meta, name, rel, nofollow, and link.

I would also avoid any single letter or two letter keywords since they could easily be used accidentally in places you weren't intending.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it! Thank You!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	wordlinks20_posts.jpg
Views:	1540
Size:	119.4 KB
ID:	136843   Click image for larger version

Name:	wordlinks20_socialgroups.jpg
Views:	1502
Size:	87.5 KB
ID:	136844   Click image for larger version

Name:	wordlinks20_vms.jpg
Views:	1130
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	136845   Click image for larger version

Name:	word_links_free_vb4_settings_full.jpg
Views:	1110
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	136846  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Ban some words/links from using on the forum LordOfWAR_PC vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 38 28 May 2018 03:06

  #301  
Old 18 May 2014, 04:13
addamroy addamroy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I just right-clicked it like you said, and copied/pasted the URL into the browser manually to check. I'll PM you.
Reply With Quote
  #302  
Old 18 May 2014, 10:33
sonic83 sonic83 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Hello sir, I do not intend to hit this thread, but has been unable to resolve this problem?
thanks

Originally Posted by sonic83 View Post
Hello. This error only appears if the option setting:

Match Whole Words Only?
If "Yes" will link whole words only. Example: If "Jeep" is a keyword, "Jeeps" will not be linked. If "No" it will match partial words. Using the same example you'd see "<a href="http://www.jeep.com" target="_blank">Jeep</a>s."


This error appears on all post with quote:

<a> div class = "BBCode_Container">

And the quotes box is gone:



And in the post if you quote appears:

a>



Help please.

thanks

PS: Sorry for my english
Reply With Quote
  #303  
Old 18 May 2014, 13:11
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by addamroy View Post
I just right-clicked it like you said, and copied/pasted the URL into the browser manually to check. I'll PM you.
Take a look at my site-
http://www.juot.net/forums/showpost....57&postcount=1

In the last line of the first post is an auto-link to Amazon.

Right click on it and paste the URL and see what you see... so I am sure it should work.

I'm wondering if maybe you are using the built in Skimlinks integration rather than just putting the line of javascript code in your footer that skimlinks provides- I know the footer code affiliates all links no matter where they are on the page or how they were made.

---

You know what you could do- and in fact I do on most domains- use the Skimlinks URL shortener to create an affiliate link to Amazon and your other sites, then use that short URL as the URL in Word Links- this was the user clicks on Amazon and they go to http://buyth.at/j9ty2 (or whatever your short URL is.) Then you wouldn't need worry about changing the skimlinks integration and it would even work with people who block javascript.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #304  
Old 18 May 2014, 13:14
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by sonic83 View Post
Hello sir, I do not intend to hit this thread, but has been unable to resolve this problem?
thanks
Hello- I am going to need to know the exact word / URL combo that is causing that error- I am sorry but I can't look through dozens and dozens of words/links to determine which one(s) may be causing the issue.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #305  
Old 18 May 2014, 14:01
addamroy addamroy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Take a look at my site-
http://www.juot.net/forums/showpost....57&postcount=1

In the last line of the first post is an auto-link to Amazon.

Right click on it and paste the URL and see what you see... so I am sure it should work.

I'm wondering if maybe you are using the built in Skimlinks integration rather than just putting the line of javascript code in your footer that skimlinks provides- I know the footer code affiliates all links no matter where they are on the page or how they were made.
I checked that link on your site, and it only pastes as http://www.amazon.com
Looks like your site is having the same issue as mine.
Reply With Quote
  #306  
Old 18 May 2014, 14:18
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by addamroy View Post
I checked that link on your site, and it only pastes as http://www.amazon.com
Looks like your site is having the same issue as mine.
It maybe your browser or maybe an extension you have? If you have adblock or the skimlinks editor installed on your browser it may be blocking the js code.

I had to disable the skimlinks editor to confirm it was working, and it is.

When i right click on the Amazon link i get this URL-

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But when I right click on your Amazon link I get the Amazon URL.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #307  
Old 20 May 2014, 08:28
naisho naisho is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thanks for this very good mod. I might purchase the Gold version to be able to use it on the CMS as well.
I have a little issue though:
For words with accentuated letters it doesn't seem to work when I use a csv file.
Both database and csv files are saved with Unicode UTF-8 settings.

It does work when not using a csv file.
Any advice on how this could be fixed? (I have a list of 175 words and prefer to use the csv method).
Reply With Quote
  #308  
Old 20 May 2014, 14:12
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
In your Language Manager for your language, in settings, what is the HTML Character Set set to? If it isn't UTF8 I would try encoding the csv file the same as this setting.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #309  
Old 20 May 2014, 14:41
naisho naisho is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Perfect! I thought it was UTF-8 but it was ISO-8859-1.
Now everything is fine with my csv file.
Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #310  
Old 20 May 2014, 15:39
sonic83 sonic83 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
What is the keyword causing the problem?

Can you provide a link to your site?
Hi sir. He localizado las palabras que causan problemas.

What happens? Thank you

crédito
estrella de la mañana
estrella doji de la mañana
Reply With Quote
  #311  
Old 20 May 2014, 21:31
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by sonic83 View Post
Hi sir. He localizado las palabras que causan problemas.

What happens? Thank you

crédito
estrella de la mañana
estrella doji de la mañana
In your Language Manager for your language, in settings, what is the HTML Character Set set to?
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #312  
Old 20 May 2014, 21:59
sonic83 sonic83 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Originally Posted by sonic83 View Post
Hi sir. He localizado las palabras que causan problemas.

[/COLOR]
Haha, sorry, I put this in Spanish haha. In English it is:

"I have located the words that cause problems"
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
In your Language Manager for your language, in settings, what is the HTML Character Set set to?
To answer your question:

ISO-8859-1

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #313  
Old 21 May 2014, 14:28
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by sonic83 View Post
Haha, sorry, I put this in Spanish haha. In English it is:

"I have located the words that cause problems"

To answer your question:

ISO-8859-1

Thank you
OK, now is your database latin or utf8? If utf8 is the utf8 line enabled in your config.php file?

Also- Are links stored in a csv file or directly in the mod settings data boxes?
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #314  
Old 05 Jun 2014, 16:37
nektar nektar is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Hi.

I'm trying to move my forum to a new server with php 5.4 and I'm getting this error when the product is disabled (running 4.2.1)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any ideas?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #315  
Old 05 Jun 2014, 17:38
nektar nektar is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
This is the line which causes the error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: