Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Put a Column on the Left Side of Every Forum Page Details »
Put a Column on the Left Side of Every Forum Page
Mod Version: 1.1, by amykhar (Member) amykhar is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 RC2 Rating: (7 votes - 4.86 average) Installs: 338
Released: 09 Jul 2005 Last Update: 17 Aug 2005 Downloads: 2086
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This little PRODUCT will provide you with a template to put content in a column going down the left side of every forum page.

What you put there is limited only by your imagination.

This can easily be combined with the right column product to have a column on both sides.

To use this with the right column product , change the footer code to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Changes in 1.1
Some very important changes were made to the header and footer template changes. Please modify your header and footer code to use the new version.

This is now a PRODUCT and not a plugin. Use the product manager to import it. If you are upgrading, copy the contents of your left_column template to notepad BEFORE you install the product. Then, replace the template contents with your backup.

This version now includes sample html in the left_column template. Thanks to iguanairs for that code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	leftcolumn.gif
Views:	9701
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	31810  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Left side column on forum home only peterska2 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 267 12 Nov 2009 18:38

  #256  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 02:00
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
is the plugin showing as active? It appears to be adjusting the templates correctly, but just not calling the template for the column, which is why I think it is probably the plugin has been deactivated or unintentionally uninstalled. Try reinstalling the plugin ensuring you set it to 'allow overwrite' = yes. Make sure you use the right plugin too as they are different for the two columns.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 02:13
maister maister is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Do you mean product as opposed to plugin?

Yes, I reinstalled the right plugin with "overwrite" checked, but nothing.
Other templates get pulled in correctly..

other thoughts?

I'll try to recreate the template with a new name.
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 02:20
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
Sorry, yes the product for overwriting, but installing the product will have produced a couple of plugins in the plugin manager.

Creating a replacement template won't work without going through the plugins and changing all the references to the new template name.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 02:38
maister maister is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
found it.. . another product messed up the right col.

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 02:39
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
not a problem, just glad you got it sorted.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 04:56
Mastar's Avatar
Mastar Mastar is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I can't a space between the actual forum and the side columns

http://www.conejowellnesscenter.com/forums/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 08 Apr 2006, 06:21
Mastar's Avatar
Mastar Mastar is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
K I think I found 1 prob. the instructions says to add the code in the header at the end of the template but I move the '$spacer_open' above the column code and it added the spaces. There is still one more problem, on the right side of the actual forum there is an extra block running down.

Any Ideas?? http://www.conejowellnesscenter.com/forums/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 09 Apr 2006, 02:15
Chad F. Chad F. is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by Allan
Thanks


edit: i'm problem, look the scren please
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=151 ^

I'm having the same problem, can anyone help please?
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 09 Apr 2006, 02:31
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
Originally Posted by Chad F.
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=151 ^

I'm having the same problem, can anyone help please?
you will need to reduce the width of the column in the header and footer template edits. This only happens when the site is using a fixed width style.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!

Last edited by peterska2; 09 Apr 2006 at 02:35.
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 09 Apr 2006, 02:34
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
Originally Posted by Mastar
K I think I found 1 prob. the instructions says to add the code in the header at the end of the template but I move the '$spacer_open' above the column code and it added the spaces. There is still one more problem, on the right side of the actual forum there is an extra block running down.

Any Ideas?? http://www.conejowellnesscenter.com/forums/index.php?
I don't see how this mod can cause that, as that is in the forumhome template which this mod doesn't touch.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 09 Apr 2006, 15:35
Mastar's Avatar
Mastar Mastar is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Thank you I realized that.

How Can I add a mini calendar to the left column, I tried but it doesn't show.

Better yet is there an easy way to add content??
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 10 Apr 2006, 16:00
mattyk72 mattyk72 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Is there a way to make the column not show up on a vbadvanced home page?? I'm really interested in using this on my forum pages only. If this has already been answered I apologize, could someone point me in the right direction? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 11 Apr 2006, 09:25
Yukino_AE Yukino_AE is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
i LOVE this addition! i was wondering if there was a way to have not only the column on the left but also a column above the forum as well.
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 11 Apr 2006, 16:46
Mark Raven Mark Raven is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I don't suppose anyone knows how to put Users Online in the sidebar?

I did a search of the thread, but the only real answer anyone gave was to copy the code from the forumhome template, which didn't work. (None of the actual information showed up).
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 13 Apr 2006, 11:10
dilbert dilbert is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Include file

I want to keep that data I will diplay for the left column in a separate file. That way I can use the same code in other pages on the site and make fewer updates.

I can't get it to display. Here is what I am trying.

I created a plug-in for global_start with this $includedhtml = implode('', file('
D:\inetpub\bloodbanktalk\calls\test.html'));.
Then in my left_clumn template I added $includedhtml where I want it to display. Nothing happens.

Any advice on where I went wrong?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: