Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 03 Apr 2011, 19:00
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
How can I place some text in this spot?

haha work with me here! I'll explain this the best I can.

I upgraded to 4.1.2 and I want to put a countdown clock on the forumhome template (or whatever the index of the forum is), above the first forum in that big white open space... but to the right of your site's name, etc.

In the white space below the navbar.

I would probably actually want to align it all the way to the right side of the page.... so above where it says "Last Post."

Also, for comparisons on how it looks on my end, how could I also put it below the "Notifications, Profile, Settings, Logout" links on the header?

Any ideas?

--------------- Added 04 Apr 2011 at 04:16 ---------------

bump

Last edited by Chase; 04 Apr 2011 at 04:16. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04 Apr 2011, 19:01
your24hourstore your24hourstore is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I will help you out...goto to your website, and push the key prtc see pic
then open your image software like paint and hit paste: the screen shot will be pasted into that program.

now you can edit it like i did with that red square. its easier to see what your talking about by showing us rather than explaining it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg doh.jpg (27.4 KB, 22 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04 Apr 2011, 20:13
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
http://img16.imageshack.us/i/91245089.jpg/

My goal is to have a countdown clock in the center (or right side) of the page... haven't decided yet.... across (on the same line) of the "Test Forums" text.

I've made some attempt, but I'm doing something wrong here.

In the FORUMHOME

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04 Apr 2011, 20:58
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Try looking for a "float: right" or something similar in the templates search.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04 Apr 2011, 23:29
your24hourstore your24hourstore is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
ok that area is in navbar template , search for navbits and it will look like this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

add this
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------- Added 04 Apr 2011 at 23:29 ---------------


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by your24hourstore; 04 Apr 2011 at 23:29. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 00:29
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
This didn't work.

http://img218.imageshack.us/f/37468797.jpg/

I basically want the "Test" to be moved up 2 lines in that first pic I showed you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 03:32
your24hourstore your24hourstore is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
dont work that way

even putting it in breadcrumbs line it will float right as bread crumbs get deeper, since the template is fluid, its going to move stuff around when you add stuff in the template. so its not that easy. you have a couple of options.

you can redo a style, like this , that area is in the DOC background area
Not knowing what size whatever your going to put in that navbar template I cant tell you what it will do , what code are you trying to show

And instead of showing a link to image shack. upload the pic as an attachment right here of what your expectations are for this template mod
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dd.jpg (87.5 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 03:36
your24hourstore your24hourstore is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
"Notifications, Profile, Settings, Logout" links on the header?"
as far as this positions that's easy use the advertising block for that area
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 18:38
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
This is a little discouraging because adding a countdown clock in that area would be really attractive, IMO.

Here is the script I want to use, and you can see a working example there, http://www.hashemian.com/tools/javascript-countdown.htm

Redoing the style is not an option as I am using a custom style from here.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 19:27
Staxed's Avatar
Staxed Staxed is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Real name: Daniel
Originally Posted by Chase View Post
This is a little discouraging because adding a countdown clock in that area would be really attractive, IMO.

Here is the script I want to use, and you can see a working example there, http://www.hashemian.com/tools/javascript-countdown.htm

Redoing the style is not an option as I am using a custom style from here.
What style? If you let us know the style someone might be able to quickly throw up the code needed to put it there.
__________________

I'm available for custom graphics, styles, mod installs, forum transfers and other services. Send me a PM to inquire
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 19:30
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Why not do the countdown in the WGO area like I did with the Site Life Status mod?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 19:47
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by Irisfire View Post
What style? If you let us know the style someone might be able to quickly throw up the code needed to put it there.
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=257319

Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Why not do the countdown in the WGO area like I did with the Site Life Status mod?
Thanks for the reply but I would like it to be at the top of the page. Quicker, easier access for users.

--------------- Added 05 Apr 2011 at 21:00 ---------------

I mean there has to be a way this can be done... because in showthread there is text aligned to the left and to the right, on the same line.

Last edited by Chase; 05 Apr 2011 at 21:00. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 23:01
your24hourstore your24hourstore is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
works fine
I just cant put it exactly were you seem to want it

heres the code its showing on my site its counting down and its centered

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

its in NAVBAR template though

--------------- Added 05 Apr 2011 at 17:02 ---------------

oh im running 4.1.3 beta too and its working fine

Last edited by your24hourstore; 05 Apr 2011 at 23:04. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 23:07
your24hourstore your24hourstore is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
did you want it here i see something about above last post
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ee.jpg (90.6 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05 Apr 2011, 23:10
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by your24hourstore View Post
did you want it here i see something about above last post
Right, that's where I would like it.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: