Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
GTSearch: Google™ Custom Search Engine Details »
GTSearch: Google™ Custom Search Engine
Mod Version: 1.00, by Princeton (Coder/Designer) Princeton is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (33 votes - 4.79 average) Installs: 385
Released: 06 Nov 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 2985
Not Supported Auto-Template Additional Files  

Now you can have your very own Google™ Custom Search Engine tailored specifically for your web site.

Why GTSearch: Google™ Custom Search Engine?
  • Help your visitors find what they're looking for
  • Invite your friends and community to contribute
  • Make money with AdSense for Search
Custom modification brought to you by Joe Velez (aka Princeton vbulletin.org Admin).

1.0.0 VERSION (download GTSEARCH.zip)

This is a "No Template Edits" modifications.

Show your support and click Mark As Installed and Nominate For MOTM.

For continued support and upgrades - support by donating via PayPal.

What is a Custom Search Engine?

A Custom Search Engine is a tailored search experience, built using Google's core search technology, that prioritizes or restricts search results based on websites and pages you specify. Your Custom Search Engine can be tailored to reflect your point of view or area of expertise. With a Custom Search Engine, you can:
  • Apply your website's look and feel to the search results page.
  • Provide search refinements within results pages to make it easier for searchers to find the information they're looking for.
  • Add sites to your search engine's index as you surf the web.
  • Invite friends and trusted users to co-edit and contribute to your search engine.
  • Make money from your Custom Search Engine by participating in Google's AdSense program.
Once you've defined your search engine index, Google will give you a simple piece of code for a search box to place on your site or blog. You'll then have the option to choose various customization options to make the look and feel and functionality of your search engine your own.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q)
What exactly does this modification do?
A) It integrates your CSE with your site - results are on your site not on a Google-hosted page.

Q) Can I run Adsense ads on the same page?
A) No, it's Adsense Google's TOS. To earn money, you will need to associate your CSE with your Adsense account. You can do this by clicking the "Make Money" section of your custom search engine control panel.

Instructions
  1. Upload gtsearch.php file to vbulletin root (same place where global.php file is located)
  2. Install GTSearch: Google™ Custom Search Engine product file
  3. Create a Custom Search Engine @ google.com
  4. Want to make money? Follow directions as instructed in the Make Money section of your CSE page.
  5. When completed copy/paste Code to GTSearch: Google™ Custom Search Engine vBulletin Options.
  6. Done




Questions about Google™ Custom Search Engine?Must Read History:
  • November 6 2007 - GTSearch: Google™ Custom Search Engine release
Recently Released Modifications:

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Google Custom Search Engine Integration [AdSense capable] reteep vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 12 22 May 2008 10:21
vB Easy Archive FINAL - Search Engine Spiderable Hack! Get your posts listed @ google SkuZZy vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 686 26 Jul 2006 16:41
Custom Invitation Message, w/Search Engine, Terms tgreer vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 14 16 May 2006 22:26

  #136  
Old 02 Jan 2008, 00:52
David Bott David Bott is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Outstanding hack and installed on AVS Forum.


One thing I am looking for help on.

When you get the results and have the option to search the local site (Can't find what you are looking for), how can I make that display POSTS vs THREADS. Or, give the option?

Thank you kindly.
__________________
David Bott
AVS Forum/DBSTalk
Founder - TiVoCommunity.com
http://www.avsforum.com - http://www.dbstalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 02 Jan 2008, 01:12
David Bott David Bott is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
BTW...I jsut found out that is someone uses " " in the search as "video display" it will then not return any results if they then try "Can't find what you are looking for..."

It looks like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The link looks like this...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any way around this?

Thanks
__________________
David Bott
AVS Forum/DBSTalk
Founder - TiVoCommunity.com
http://www.avsforum.com - http://www.dbstalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 03 Jan 2008, 09:56
Forum Lover Forum Lover is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: aupurbo
hope it is 3.7 compatible. installed.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 03 Jan 2008, 16:06
Teresa Teresa is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Originally Posted by Teresa View Post
Okay. I think I'm asking the wrong question.

I THOUGHT that the url: www.mysite.com/forum/gtsearch.php would bring up the search input screen. I want to have a link to that search screen from anywhere on my site, not just in the forum.

Is this a faulty assumption?

My search works perfectly from the navbar pull-down.

How do I get a search input screen that can be referenced from any url?
Any help on this?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 03 Jan 2008, 18:33
David Bott David Bott is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Looks like no one is around for help on this hack.
__________________
David Bott
AVS Forum/DBSTalk
Founder - TiVoCommunity.com
http://www.avsforum.com - http://www.dbstalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 03 Jan 2008, 21:19
David Bott David Bott is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Not sure about ANY URL...But you can add the Google seach anywhere you would like it to be seen.

I added it right under out nav bar by just adding the below at the end of the navbar template.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
David Bott
AVS Forum/DBSTalk
Founder - TiVoCommunity.com
http://www.avsforum.com - http://www.dbstalk.com
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 14 Jan 2008, 04:58
grafbyte grafbyte is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
hello... sorry my english

am installed dis
http://crysis-forum.de/test_/hehe/1.png
http://crysis-forum.de/test_/hehe/oky.png
dis is oky!

But it will not..

http://crysis-forum.de/test_/hehe/nicht_oky1.png
http://crysis-forum.de/test_/hehe/nicht_oky.png

Here, the search is not
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 20 Jan 2008, 18:49
Silviu's Avatar
Silviu Silviu is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Great hack Princeton, installation went flawlessly... after I reverted the navbar template that is

One question though: is it possible to use separate CSS for the search engine page in accordance with the vB styles on a forum?

I'm thinking a conditional along the lines of if forum style id = x show css 1 else if forum style id = y, show css 2.
__________________
Computer Games Forum - the best Romanian online community
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 23 Jan 2008, 13:13
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
not sure what you are asking
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 23 Jan 2008, 16:11
scottct1 scottct1 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
I am having an issue...

When I go to search from the navbar or the stsearch.php I get an error that the address is not real.

The address it tries going to is...

http:///?cx=00543219246489012345%3Al...test&sa=Search

Any idea why its not putting the google address in there? In my settings screen my info is exactly what google gives me (see the box below) (Note I blocked out my google id code)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg gtsearch.jpg (57.3 KB, 24 views)
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 23 Jan 2008, 19:04
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
you didn't fill the google fields correctly - the form has no action

click INSTALL
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 23 Jan 2008, 20:25
scottct1 scottct1 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Doh!

Working now.

Marked as installed.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 30 Jan 2008, 14:05
Shaheen's Avatar
Shaheen Shaheen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Red face suggestion

Nice work Princeton !
i have one suggestion bcoz of big search the width of page bcom much bigger then normal in who online .if u can do some thing for it that will be great ..
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg sasas.jpg (34.1 KB, 27 views)
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 31 Jan 2008, 02:38
Scalemotorcars's Avatar
Scalemotorcars Scalemotorcars is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Daniel
Working great on 3.6.5 Ya I know I need to update...

Few suggestions if I may.

On the search results page, why isn't there a border and table division for the google search and (cant find what you needed) section. No biggie I can code that in but it just looks unfinished to me.

Also what about setting the results with a margin or is that a result of the google search or my personal setup. I haven't tried tweaking it yet. Either way as always if It says Princeton it's top quality work. Way to go on another very useful mod.. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 03 Feb 2008, 01:19
basketmen's Avatar
basketmen basketmen is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
i have been reporting this to official CSE google groups here but they still cant answered it, so maybe this just happening in this hack :


everytime new people open my site they get Privacy Report
warning (red eyes sign in the left bottom), for example open this site
you will get Privacy Report warning : http://mygtblog.org/


this is very annoying for me, i think this just happened in ie 6, i
dont get that warning in firefox


please give the trick how to remove Privacy Report warning
__________________
I am SEO specialist and forum coordinator
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: