Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
KX - Rename Config File Details »
KX - Rename Config File
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by Ziki (Coder) Ziki is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 10
Released: 14 Dec 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 45
Not Supported Code Changes Translations  

This modification was brought to you by
KXDesign
http://www.kxdesign.com/


~Modification name
Rename Config File

~Modification description
This modification allows you to rename or move the config.php file.This is to protect your sensible information and increase the security of your vBulletin board.

The majority of boards get hacked because a hacker uploads a malicious script to get hold of the config.php content.But if you move or rename it,there is no chance that they find out the location of it.

~Modification options
None

~Modification info
File uploads: 0
File edits: 1
Templates: 0
Template edits: 0
Plugins: 0
SQL Queries: 0
Phrases: 0
Settings: 0
Hooks: 0

Install time: 1 minute
Install level: Light

~Modification installation

Step 1: Open includes/class_core.php and find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And replace it with:



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Where XXXXX is the relative path to your new config file.It can be, for instance:
admincp/mynewconfig.php or includes/configuration.php .

~Modification screenshots
None


~Modification changelog
  • 1.0.0 - First Release


~Modification copyright
This may not be distributed,released or claimed as your work without author's permission.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools KX - Rename Config File Ziki vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 37 30 Mar 2010 11:14
Move and or Rename config.php Protoman vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 19 15 Oct 2008 00:47
Move and or Rename config.php Zachery vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 10 25 Apr 2008 08:55

Comments
  #2  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 13:50
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
~Reserved~
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 13:55
vip-q.com's Avatar
vip-q.com vip-q.com is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
thanks, it's not new for me, I was know how to do it

but it may help others
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 14:46
JOFAA JOFAA is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Thumbs up

Thankx

i have been hacked before ... so i hope im save now
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 16:07
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Josh Arcadia
incredible move... but does it causes any more problems? or runs smoothly?
__________________
. █│║▌│█│║▌║│█║▌│║║█║
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 20:24
Ziki's Avatar
Ziki Ziki is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Sure it works fine.
__________________
My free mods~click here
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14 Dec 2008, 23:03
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
I'm going to give this a go asap as I have had to many problems with these hackers going around and defacing my sites. I have even hired a security team to go over the server, so hopefully this will help that little more.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Dec 2008, 05:57
NoCo7's Avatar
NoCo7 NoCo7 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Hmm, might be blind here... But cannot locate the string to edit in Step1 ??
Copied class_core.php from server, opened in txt editor... manually went over it, even tried using the "find" feature and nothing.

I am using VB3.7.4 PL1 , is it different for this latest version?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Dec 2008, 08:04
tlwwolfseye's Avatar
tlwwolfseye tlwwolfseye is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Gerhard
Its in Line 2532 - 2545 of the class_core.php in my vB 3.7.4 PL1.
Just edited that, seems to work great.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:29.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: