Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Quick Reply Multiquote (Ported Xenon's vb3.0) Details »
Quick Reply Multiquote (Ported Xenon's vb3.0)
Mod Version: 1.00, by deathemperor (Member) deathemperor is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 17
Released: 27 Oct 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 27
Not Supported  

This hack is simply a ported version (with permission) of Xenon's hack for vb3.0 , the old hack can be found here. Hence, all credits goes to him. Thanks !

my board has been upgraded to 3.5 and I can't stand missing this, so yesterday I ported it myself.

there are known issues, like when no texts are chosen, it doesn't quote the full message. I think it is because the function qr() was removed.

Feel free to comment and give bugs fixes ^^.


Originally Posted by Xenon
This Modification allows users to highlight text in user's posts and after clicking the QR-icon it will get entered into the qr-form surrounded by quote tags When no text is highlighted, the QR icon will work as it did before.

You can see a demo version on vb.org already

Thx to EvilS1 for the IE-JS code

Notice: the .js Files are cached by most browsers, so if you installed the hack, and don't notice a change, do a hard refresh to download the newest version from the server.

Notice: The hack is designed to work with normal text boxes, right now the wysiwyg editor is not supported.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Quick Reply Multiquote Xenon vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 112 29 Jun 2007 07:53
Quick Reply Thread Management: Open/Close & Stick/Unstick in Quick Reply Box Nomb vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 49 09 Nov 2005 23:34

Comments
  #2  
Old 27 Oct 2005, 06:46
gldtn gldtn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Hate to be the bear of bad news!

Just installed it on my vB3.5 board and it seems to not be working.

Firefox Browser
Instead it's working just like the quote button when clicked. No text get copied to QR, it opens a new reply window as a quote button would and it quotes the whole msg.

Internet Explore Browser
Seems to work t'll a certain point.. It copies the highlight text but it does not unable the QuickReply box and when I un-highlight the text and click on "QR" button it directs me to a REPLY page and it quotes the whole post.

Hence
Not sure if it works when you have vB option Quick Reply to "Yes - Click Not Required"; I have it set as "Yes - Click Required".

Seems like a promissing hack ported here by you, hope you work out the bugs!

Good Luck

Last edited by gldtn; 27 Oct 2005 at 06:52.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Oct 2005, 06:56
deathemperor's Avatar
deathemperor deathemperor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Lucius Hunk
it works for me of FF, demo here: http://forum.holvn.org perhaps you need a hard refresh or delete your cache files.

the others: I didn't try on 'require click for quick reply', because I don't understand why we have to click ?

once again, you may need to clear your cache for the browser to load the js file again, or do hard refreshes. Because it's working for me on my site and my localhost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Oct 2005, 07:59
gldtn gldtn is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Originally Posted by deathemperor
it works for me of FF, demo here: http://forum.holvn.org perhaps you need a hard refresh or delete your cache files.

the others: I didn't try on 'require click for quick reply', because I don't understand why we have to click ?

once again, you may need to clear your cache for the browser to load the js file again, or do hard refreshes. Because it's working for me on my site and my localhost
Sorry about that, after a hard refresh It works fine now on FX. Although the othe bugs with require quick reply remains.

Originally Posted by Admincp/Admin Help
... If you use the 'require click' option, users will have to click a post's QR icon to be able to use QR. Otherwise, they will not, but this has the expense of making Threaded/Hybrid view not very useful, as the system has no way of knowing which post a user is replying to and will simply at it at the end; threaded/hybrid views will become non-sensical.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Oct 2005, 10:01
GuaRRand's Avatar
GuaRRand GuaRRand is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Aw crap....i didnit read the last sentence until after installation!!
Notice: The hack is designed to work with normal text boxes, right now the wysiwyg editor is not supported.
Any idea when this will be inmplemented?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 04:44
donBLACK donBLACK is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
It isnt workin for me, when i highlight text, and click QR button, nothin happens.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 04:46
deathemperor's Avatar
deathemperor deathemperor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Lucius Hunk
As I stated above, you must either delete your cache first or do hard refreshes so that the browser will load new js file, or else it won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 04:57
donBLACK donBLACK is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
already did all that
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 04:58
donBLACK donBLACK is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
ok explain how to clear cache, my members say it works for them
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 05:16
deathemperor's Avatar
deathemperor deathemperor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Lucius Hunk
If you are using IE, go to Tools -> Internet Options -> Delete Files.

for FF: Tools -> Options -> Privacy -> Cache -> Clear.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 05:19
donBLACK donBLACK is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
i did this still doesnt work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 05:21
donBLACK donBLACK is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
nvm i got it, it was because i had my QR in editors mode.


Thanks, nice hack, oh and when i dont highlight text, it quotes the whole thing..?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28 Oct 2005, 05:24
deathemperor's Avatar
deathemperor deathemperor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Lucius Hunk
no it doesn't quote the whole thing, that's the issue I'm trying to overcome, there have been changes in the js files from vb3.0 to vb3.5.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Nov 2005, 00:10
SpaceStar SpaceStar is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
unfortunately it isn't working for me either - when highlighting some part of text and clickin on the QR-icon - it just jumps down to the box and nothing happend then.... (a feature I and my users use a lot)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22 Dec 2005, 18:46
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Any updates?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: