Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
GeoIP Tool Details »
GeoIP Tool
Mod Version: 1.3, by Will Watts (Contributor) Will Watts is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (16 votes - 4.88 average) Installs: 60
Released: 07 Sep 2013 Last Update: 08 Sep 2013 Downloads: 224
Not Supported  

Removed - blame IB.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Geotargeting by GeoIP integration The M.I.P. vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 27 11 Jun 2012 19:38

  #16  
Old 14 Feb 2014, 19:25
LIFEPACKR LIFEPACKR is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Hi Will, I cannot for the life of me, figure out how to use this tool.

Installation is simple, but how do I use this tool? Where do I find the tool? How do I access it?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14 Feb 2014, 19:41
tme_power tme_power is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by LIFEPACKR View Post
Hi Will, I cannot for the life of me, figure out how to use this tool.

Installation is simple, but how do I use this tool? Where do I find the tool? How do I access it?
This tool adds location GeoIP info and a map display for moderators in the IP info section of a post.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 14 Feb 2014, 20:11
Will Watts Will Watts is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by LIFEPACKR View Post
Hi Will, I cannot for the life of me, figure out how to use this tool.

Installation is simple, but how do I use this tool? Where do I find the tool? How do I access it?
View a post - you should see the IP button at the bottom left of a users post. It's next to the Infractions and Report buttons.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16 Feb 2014, 20:24
Barcham Barcham is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Real name: Robert
I just installed this and it works just as advertised. This will certainly help in keeping trolls and spammers under control. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16 Feb 2014, 20:37
Will Watts Will Watts is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by Justinphx View Post
I don't expect accurate. Perfect I meant the same state and the correct provider would be nice. Cox Cable Arizona and Comcast Florida is a huge difference. The IP is accurate though but this mod displays maps. The mod is great, it is just the source it is pulling from isn't up to date as much as others.
Unfortunately no geolocation services are 100% accurate; in particular the accuracy is also less for any free service, paid geolocation services are updated more regularly. For the majority of users this tool will give you a rough location and details of which ISP they are with. I find this info is particularly useful when dealing with possible spammers - it's a quick way to check what country a user is based in.

Originally Posted by Barcham View Post
I just installed this and it works just as advertised. This will certainly help in keeping trolls and spammers under control. Thanks!
Thanks! It's simple, but effective.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 17 Feb 2014, 00:46
LIFEPACKR LIFEPACKR is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Originally Posted by Will Watts View Post
View a post - you should see the IP button at the bottom left of a users post. It's next to the Infractions and Report buttons.
Thanks, I was thinking it was for checking users as they register.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 24 Feb 2014, 08:24
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I installed this and it works as it should.
If I would like to change the address for search to this http://www.ip-address.org/
How is this possible?

Thanks for the share Will Watts.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 29 Mar 2014, 20:14
Will Watts Will Watts is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by DemOnstar View Post
I installed this and it works as it should.
If I would like to change the address for search to this http://www.ip-address.org/
How is this possible?

Thanks for the share Will Watts.
Hey DemOnstar,

I couldn't see an API to work with that site. I'd be happy to add it as an option if it's available.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 18:17
qpurser qpurser is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Thanks for this mod. Works really nice.
Would it be possible to get the map in a new tab/window instead in the same one?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 18:22
Will Watts Will Watts is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by qpurser View Post
Thanks for this mod. Works really nice.
Would it be possible to get the map in a new tab/window instead in the same one?
Hi qpurser,

The IP function is already part of vBulletin and doesn't open automatically in a new tab, I don't have much control over that. You can always right click the IP button and select "Open in New Tab" (wording will probably vary depending on which browser you use).
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12 Apr 2014, 00:09
mudrunner mudrunner is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Will thanks for sharing, my moderators love this mod.

I was wondering, is there a way to add the map to the user management page of admincp.

So when we view a user in admincp it shows the IP address of user and then we can see the map or click a link from there to see the map.

Or since the IP is a hyperlink to: forums/admincp/usertools.php?do=gethost&ip=xx.xx.xx.xx
How can we add the map to usertools.php so when we do gethost&ip it will show up.

I'm willing to work with you on the code if you shoot me a pm. I don't know much PHP and VB though...I'm more Java and C++
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 19 May 2014, 21:38
madness85 madness85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
hi buddy i have a problem with this with chrome the map loads prefect but if i use firefox its just loading for ages then get internal server error.

any idea why this is?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 19 May 2014, 22:24
Will Watts Will Watts is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Hey madness85,

It seems to be working for me fine on Firefox. I've tested it with several versions.

Are you using any script blockers such as NoScript on the page? It sounds like something is blocking the connection to the Google Maps API.

If that's not the issue, which version of Firefox are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 19 May 2014, 22:26
Will Watts Will Watts is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Originally Posted by mudrunner View Post
Will thanks for sharing, my moderators love this mod.

I was wondering, is there a way to add the map to the user management page of admincp.
I'll look into adding this. I suppose my only concern is keeping the code very light and compatible, but I don't think there would be any major issue with adding something like this.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 01 Oct 2014, 16:51
migratoria migratoria is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I have an error in vb 4.2.2 today. The search are very slow
Service it's inactive?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: