Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
iQuote vB3 - Fast & Easy Text Quoting Details »
iQuote vB3 - Fast & Easy Text Quoting
Mod Version: 1.10, by MoMan (Coder) MoMan is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (9 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 45
Released: 14 Sep 2010 Last Update: 25 Mar 2011 Downloads: 295
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Re-usable Code  

New version (1.1) released 3/23/2011: added support for social groups.

This is a vBulletin 3 implementation of the following mod: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=248504

It allows users to quickly quote selected parts of a post inline. Simply highlight some text, and the quote option will appear. As of v1.1, social groups are also supported, but the quoting will only work properly if you have this template mod installed.

On my board, this is one of my users' favorite features!

Note: this requires quick reply to be on and your showthread template must have the $template_hook['showthread_after_activeusers'] hook! To check if the mod is working, view the page of any showthread page and search for 'iquote'. If there are no matches, then the template hook isn't there.

Installation instructions are provided in the zip. Enjoy!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	qq.gif
Views:	1036
Size:	4.8 KB
ID:	121925  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements iQuote - fast & nice text quoting Vitaly vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 307 26 Dec 2017 19:43
Mini Mods [Alexey] Create a new php file Easy and fast Alexey™ Modification Graveyard 4 08 Apr 2009 17:59

  #46  
Old 26 Jul 2011, 11:25
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
You would probably want to replace this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 09 Aug 2011, 10:08
imedic's Avatar
imedic imedic is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Many thanks for your reply. Unfortunately I have not find the code to replace.
Can you please specify the file that needs to be edited. I have looked in all files from upload folder.
Sorry for coming so late but I was caught in many other projects.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 09 Aug 2011, 13:07
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
rcd_iquote.js

Note that you should download v1.0 not 1.1, as 1.1 has minified JS.
__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 13 Aug 2011, 19:54
elzarie's Avatar
elzarie elzarie is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Real Great , but can't get it to work although checked it that the hook is there
__________________
Welcome
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 15 Aug 2011, 10:34
cclaerhout's Avatar
cclaerhout cclaerhout is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Cédric Claerhout
Thank you for this implementation ; it works great. I've just changed the appearance of the popup menu to make it minimalist. Thank you !
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 17 Aug 2011, 12:19
imedic's Avatar
imedic imedic is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Many thanks for suggestion. I have made the modification and minified the file. Only uploading the file (minified) from the previous version over last version worked.

For who is lazy and want the file already edited so after citation page to be repositioned over the quick reply box can use attached file.

Best regards and thank you for a great great mod. It should be developed further to be able to quote that text in a PM / email or maybe even in social media.
Nice way to interact with content.
I will keep an eye here and vote all stars and nominate it too. This should be standard in vb

NOTE: Dont forget to change extension of saved file to .js (I cant upload js file to vb)!
Attached Files
File Type: txt rcd_iquote.txt (3.9 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 21 Aug 2011, 15:30
cclaerhout's Avatar
cclaerhout cclaerhout is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Cédric Claerhout
The members of "my" forum LOVE that addon. They also wanted to have this function in the 'newreply' page with the Advanced Editor. Fortunately the Javascript file was greatly documented. It took me hours, but I've succeed to do it

Thanks again Imedic to convert this hack to vB 3 !


P.S :
  • This mod uses what I called a "minimalist design". I didn't want a big menu to display.
  • To make it work with the "newreply' page, your template 'newreply_reviewbit' must not have been edited, which shouldn't be a problem.
Attached Files
File Type: zip iQuote_vB3 (mod minimalist & newreply).zip (42.8 KB, 10 views)
__________________

Last edited by cclaerhout; 21 Aug 2011 at 15:35.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 02 Sep 2011, 12:21
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
FYI version 1.1 in the original post supports social groups, but I've lost the non-minified file and will have to go looking for it.

I'd very much like to add the functionality for PMs as well.
__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 13 Sep 2011, 18:39
Konstantinos's Avatar
Konstantinos Konstantinos is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
it works well but in chrome when u click the instant quote while the quoted text enters into quick reply the popup stays there and doesnt vanish

edit. it also quotes singatures and if someone has quoted someone else in a post and u quote the quoted text it inserts the quote username wrong

Last edited by Konstantinos; 13 Sep 2011 at 20:11.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 13 Feb 2012, 03:45
mk craig 42 mk craig 42 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Craig
Everything works great however, it doesn't display the name
for example, it does this when I click it:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

As opposed to this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Any ideas? Here is my js file:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 13 Feb 2012, 11:19
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I would check your postbit or postbit_legacy template- actually try it on a complete default style and see if you have the same problem or not.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 13 Feb 2012, 14:36
mk craig 42 mk craig 42 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Craig
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I would check your postbit or postbit_legacy template- actually try it on a complete default style and see if you have the same problem or not.
Thanks for your reply BirdOPrey5, I found the problem, but I don't know how to fix it!

It's because I have Username Images installed, so I was testing this on myself, where I have a username image & it's not fetching my username.. I logged on today and tried on someone who doesn't have a username image, and it worked perfectly...

Any ideas of a fix to that, here is that section on my postbit_legacy


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 14 Feb 2012, 13:34
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I don't know if it would work but I'd try this...

change this code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'm not sure it will help or not- it will at least create the username but it will be invisible.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 14 Feb 2012, 23:11
mk craig 42 mk craig 42 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Craig
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I don't know if it would work but I'd try this...

change this code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'm not sure it will help or not- it will at least create the username but it will be invisible.
You genius! I never even thought to do something like that! Worked like a charm, thanks so much

Last edited by mk craig 42; 14 Feb 2012 at 23:58.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 24 May 2015, 23:40
karabaja3's Avatar
karabaja3 karabaja3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Does anyone know how to disable usage in the latest post?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: