Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Default Postbit Selectable By Members Details »
Default Postbit Selectable By Members
Mod Version: 3.7.002, by Mosh (Coder) Mosh is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 51
Released: 08 Jul 2008 Last Update: 04 Sep 2008 Downloads: 337
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

Hack Support

This hack is now discontinued - this means that while it will remain available for download and use, there will be no further updates, nor will support be provided as the thread is no longer monitored. You can now check out the 3.8.x version of this hack, as it also works with v3.7.5, v3.6.12 (and maybe even earlier versions).

Please click Mark as Installed if you are using this hack.


vBulletin Version Compatibility

This hack can be used with v3.6.10 and v3.7.x. This has not been tested with earlier versions of v3.6.x, but should work.


What Does This Hack Do?

This is a hack that lets your members select the type of postbit they want displayed for themselves, just like here at vBulletin.org.

vBulletin now uses a horizontal postbit as default, but it used to display the postbit vertically in two columns (see screenshots) and some long time members prefer the old school postbit over the new one, and this hack gives them the option. You can leave the forum wide setting as the new postbit, and members can choose themselves if they want this or the old one.

Show single posts will also be affected by this setting.

Now, as an added bonus, you can choose to display the member's default postbit in posts or threads.

DEMO: You can see how this works by testing the function out right here at vBulletin.org, all you need to do is tick the Yes, I prefer old-style postbit checkbox in the Thread Display Options of User CP -> Edit Options. Then check a few threads to see what it does.


IMPORTANT NOTE: This hack will only work if you use the horizontal postbit display site-wide.
I have no plans in making it work with the postbit legacy site-wide. I have looked into it, and it would require code changes to vBulletin's core files to make it work.

So, under the Style & Language Settings section of vBulletin Options in the AdminCP:
  • Ensure Use Legacy (Vertical) Postbit Template is set to No.

IMPORTANT NOTE 2: When using Quick Reply when you are in legacy layout with your postbits, posts the QR are displayed in postbit layout when submitted. This quirk is rectified with a refresh of the page (see post #46 for more info). But there is a fix in the v3.8.x version of this hack (which will work with 3.7.x).


Installation Instructions

The Default Postbit Installation Instructions 3.7.xxx.pdf instructions file is included in attached .zip (includes visual instructions).
NOTE: If upgrading then just do Step 2 and Step 3 again.

Uninstall Instructions
  1. In the AdminCP, go to User Profile Fields -> User Profile Field Manager.
    • Delete the Default Postbit profile field.
  2. Uninstall the product using the AdminCP Product Manager.


Version History

v3.7.002 - Thursday 4th September 2008
-- Final Release
-- Fixed: Bug where keywords being searched for were not being highlighted in the results
-- Changed: Total code rewrite
-- Changed: Instructions
-- Changed: Screenshots
-- Changed: No more editing of plugins
-- Added: AdminCP Options for user profile field ID and displaying members default postbit in post/thread
-- Added: 2 new phrases

v3.7.001 - Tuesday 8th July 2008
-- Initial Release


Show Your Appreciation

Although not required, if you have enjoyed the benefits of this hack, and would like show your appreciation for my efforts, then please feel free to click on the Support Developer link and donate any amount you feel is appropriate.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot1.png
Views:	583
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	83694   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot2.png
Views:	700
Size:	75.2 KB
ID:	83695   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot3.png
Views:	544
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	83696   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot4.png
Views:	640
Size:	24.5 KB
ID:	83697  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot5.png
Views:	281
Size:	32.8 KB
ID:	86520   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot6.png
Views:	347
Size:	74.8 KB
ID:	86521  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #16  
Old 29 Jul 2008, 22:39
glorify's Avatar
glorify glorify is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Damn, I go with Legacy as default. Nice work tho.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30 Jul 2008, 09:03
Quillz's Avatar
Quillz Quillz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Joseph
Very nice plug-in, thanks. I've always liked giving users this option, but hated having to do template edits over and over again.
__________________
I've never really understood the appeal of signatures.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08 Aug 2008, 02:27
Chris583 Chris583 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
First off very nice mod been looking for this!

I've got a bug though. Using 3.7.0 Gold

If u are using the old vertical postbit and you make a post or u edit a post, it dissapears and you have to refresh the page to see it. Is this a bug, or something i've done wrong?

I've checked the install and followed your guidelines.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09 Aug 2008, 09:45
Mosh's Avatar
Mosh Mosh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Real name: Mosh Shigdar
Originally Posted by Chris583 View Post
First off very nice mod been looking for this!

I've got a bug though. Using 3.7.0 Gold

If u are using the old vertical postbit and you make a post or u edit a post, it dissapears and you have to refresh the page to see it. Is this a bug, or something i've done wrong?

I've checked the install and followed your guidelines.
I can not replicate this problem. I have tried with installations on Windows and Linux, and across a few styles as well (this hack should be style independent) and can not replicate it.

Does this occur with one style only? Does the same happen with the default vBulletin style?

I am asking as it could be a style issue, as I am pretty sure it is not this hack (it's code is applied well before the page appears on the screen, and uses vBulletin's own postbit class to allow selection of either postbit).

Also, you did do all three plugin edits, didn't you?
__________________
-- The WS Spiders List is still downloadable from vBulletin.com.
-- As of Monday 1st July 2013, I will no longer be supporting my hacks as I am leaving the vBulletin community due to medical and life-style reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 Aug 2008, 18:17
Chris583 Chris583 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I did all 3 plugin edits. Changed to field6 not 8 cause it said field6 on the plugin.

I thout maybe you are right and my style is too old as it has had problems before with other mods. However I tried using classic layout on the default VB template and i replicated the same problem.

Hmm. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10 Aug 2008, 07:37
Mosh's Avatar
Mosh Mosh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Real name: Mosh Shigdar
Originally Posted by Chris583 View Post
I did all 3 plugin edits. Changed to field6 not 8 cause it said field6 on the plugin.

I thout maybe you are right and my style is too old as it has had problems before with other mods. However I tried using classic layout on the default VB template and i replicated the same problem.

Hmm. Any ideas?
Does it occur with all other products/hacks disabled?
__________________
-- The WS Spiders List is still downloadable from vBulletin.com.
-- As of Monday 1st July 2013, I will no longer be supporting my hacks as I am leaving the vBulletin community due to medical and life-style reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10 Aug 2008, 09:30
vBcustompixel vBcustompixel is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Mike
Works fine whit 3.7.2
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12 Aug 2008, 15:36
Jhonnyf's Avatar
Jhonnyf Jhonnyf is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by Chris583 View Post
First off very nice mod been looking for this!

I've got a bug though. Using 3.7.0 Gold

If u are using the old vertical postbit and you make a post or u edit a post, it dissapears and you have to refresh the page to see it. Is this a bug, or something i've done wrong?

I've checked the install and followed your guidelines.
same Problem, the post with QUICKREPLY is not refresh inmediatly.....

I use 3.7.2 PL1 and the Default Skin with any modifications
__________________
Hablo Espaņol para Soporte vBulletin
http://www.vbsoporte.com Foro Soporte vBulletin en Espaņol
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12 Aug 2008, 18:39
RedWingFan's Avatar
RedWingFan RedWingFan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
One idea rather than modify default vB code: if you use the vertical postbit set up in admincp, set it to the horizontal, but then run a database query to change the value over in everyone's profile so they are still on the vertical postbit, unless they go in and specifically change it. (Having not looked into this mod yet, I'm thinking this is set via an additional database field.) That will keep everyone on the vertical postbit.

I may try this myself. If so I'll come back and mark it "installed". There was an earlier mod for 3.5 or 3.6 (don't recall which), but I never got it to work. It operated off of a custom profile field...
__________________
-= N =-
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12 Aug 2008, 22:02
Mosh's Avatar
Mosh Mosh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Real name: Mosh Shigdar
Originally Posted by Jhonnyf View Post
same Problem, the post with QUICKREPLY is not refresh inmediatly.....

I use 3.7.2 PL1 and the Default Skin with any modifications
Again, I am not able to replicate this. I will do some more testing...... but it may come to a point where I am going to have a look at forum which is experiencing this issue, because if I can not replicate this I will not be able to find out what is causing it, and will not be able to provide a fix for it.
__________________
-- The WS Spiders List is still downloadable from vBulletin.com.
-- As of Monday 1st July 2013, I will no longer be supporting my hacks as I am leaving the vBulletin community due to medical and life-style reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12 Aug 2008, 22:29
Jhonnyf's Avatar
Jhonnyf Jhonnyf is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Originally Posted by Mosh View Post
Again, I am not able to replicate this. I will do some more testing...... but it may come to a point where I am going to have a look at forum which is experiencing this issue, because if I can not replicate this I will not be able to find out what is causing it, and will not be able to provide a fix for it.
Ok, but we can found the problem between all

I disable all my Plugin that use Postbit and now It's Work.....

Now. I going to enable one per one and try.....

Testing...............

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ok, Testing done

In my case, only the plugin

[Sniper] - Mood Manager

It's the problem U_U

The people with the same problem, try disable this Mod and comment Please
__________________
Hablo Espaņol para Soporte vBulletin
http://www.vbsoporte.com Foro Soporte vBulletin en Espaņol

Last edited by Jhonnyf; 12 Aug 2008 at 22:44.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12 Aug 2008, 23:39
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by RedWingFan View Post
One idea rather than modify default vB code: if you use the vertical postbit set up in admincp, set it to the horizontal, but then run a database query to change the value over in everyone's profile so they are still on the vertical postbit, unless they go in and specifically change it. (Having not looked into this mod yet, I'm thinking this is set via an additional database field.) That will keep everyone on the vertical postbit.

I may try this myself. If so I'll come back and mark it "installed". There was an earlier mod for 3.5 or 3.6 (don't recall which), but I never got it to work. It operated off of a custom profile field...
That would be cool if it works... Another forum here that is 'legacy' by default- in fact EVERYONE complained when I tried to go to the new style... Most forums I see are legacy setup, all of them except here...
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 13 Aug 2008, 00:09
Mosh's Avatar
Mosh Mosh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Real name: Mosh Shigdar
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
That would be cool if it works... Another forum here that is 'legacy' by default- in fact EVERYONE complained when I tried to go to the new style... Most forums I see are legacy setup, all of them except here...
Originally Posted by 1st Post
NOTE: This hack will only work if you use the horizontal postbit display site-wide.
I have no plans in making it work with the postbit legacy site-wide. I have looked into it, and it would probably require code changes to vBulletin's core files to make it work.
I already stated in the first post that it does not work when legacy is used site-wide, and I have no plans in making it do so, but someone comes up with a solution that does not include edits to vBulletin's core files, then let me know how and I will add it to the hack.
__________________
-- The WS Spiders List is still downloadable from vBulletin.com.
-- As of Monday 1st July 2013, I will no longer be supporting my hacks as I am leaving the vBulletin community due to medical and life-style reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 13 Aug 2008, 01:16
RedWingFan's Avatar
RedWingFan RedWingFan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Originally Posted by Mosh View Post
I already stated in the first post that it does not work when legacy is used site-wide, and I have no plans in making it do so, but someone comes up with a solution that does not include edits to vBulletin's core files, then let me know how and I will add it to the hack.
This is a roundabout way to do it, but here goes.

IF you can run a database query, you can take an extra step to change everyone over. I did it on my forum a few hours ago and nobody noticed.

After you set up your custom field in the user profile, and you have the ID number, you run this simple query first:

update userfield set field26 = '1'

My custom field was "26"...substitute your own field number there, of course. This would be step #1-1/2 in your procedure.

From that point, I then uploaded the XML file, modified the plugins, etc. per your instructions, then went over to the AdminCP and changed the forum over to the horizontal postbit. Since everyone's "Use the old postbit" setting is checked (set to '1' in the database), it is already turned on for them when you switch the main forum setting over to the horizontal postbit; nobody will know any better!

New users who sign up will get the newer postbit, but if they look through their options, they'll find the checkbox and activate it themselves. I did change the wording so that everyone could understand it better.

So the short version is--insert that database query instruction above as #2 in your procedure, and it's an easy workaround when most people are used to the left-hand postbit.
__________________
-= N =-
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13 Aug 2008, 03:31
Mosh's Avatar
Mosh Mosh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Real name: Mosh Shigdar
Originally Posted by RedWingFan View Post
This is a roundabout way to do it, but here goes.

IF you can run a database query, you can take an extra step to change everyone over. I did it on my forum a few hours ago and nobody noticed.

After you set up your custom field in the user profile, and you have the ID number, you run this simple query first:

update userfield set field26 = '1'

My custom field was "26"...substitute your own field number there, of course. This would be step #1-1/2 in your procedure.

From that point, I then uploaded the XML file, modified the plugins, etc. per your instructions, then went over to the AdminCP and changed the forum over to the horizontal postbit. Since everyone's "Use the old postbit" setting is checked (set to '1' in the database), it is already turned on for them when you switch the main forum setting over to the horizontal postbit; nobody will know any better!

New users who sign up will get the newer postbit, but if they look through their options, they'll find the checkbox and activate it themselves. I did change the wording so that everyone could understand it better.

So the short version is--insert that database query instruction above as #2 in your procedure, and it's an easy workaround when most people are used to the left-hand postbit.
It still does not get around guests viewing the board in legacy view (forum-wide legacy view), as far as I can see, which is what people have been asking for, and that does not seem achievable without edits to the core files.

Thanks for posting this though, as I am sure it will be useful for some people

Also, as you seem to be using this hack, please click Mark as Installed.
__________________
-- The WS Spiders List is still downloadable from vBulletin.com.
-- As of Monday 1st July 2013, I will no longer be supporting my hacks as I am leaving the vBulletin community due to medical and life-style reasons.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: