Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
CERBERUS: 1 vB4: runs multiple domains with custom styles, forums, universal login Details »
CERBERUS: 1 vB4: runs multiple domains with custom styles, forums, universal login
Mod Version: 1.00, by ibautocommunity (Coder) ibautocommunity is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.91 average) Installs: 136
Released: 24 Nov 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1437
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

***Attention: This product is currently UNSUPPORTED***

We would like to release an Alpha version of the vBulletin4 Cerberus product. This product allows you to create one vBulletin4 installation which can power unlimited number of domains and sub-domains; while allowing to customize each domain differently to make it look like different sites or sections. Domains will have one universal admincp and user login information.

***Example***
www.supercoolautoforum.com - main site, all forums
ferarri.supercoolautoforum.com - custom style and forums, same login
bmw.supercoolautoforum.com- custom style and forums, same login
honda.supercoolautoforum.com - custom style and forums, same login
supercoolmotorcycleforum.com - custom style and forums, same login

*** Why are you releasing this, I want more features?! ***

This is a very simple product; we believe that the basic functionality provided in this product will satisfy a lot of communities - and since the product is simple - it will be easy to extend it and modify it to work for your custom community requirements.

Overview of Current Features:
  • One shared installation of vBulletin 4
  • One shared user account on all domains
  • Custom Style for each domain
  • Custom Forum listing for each domain
Known Issues:
  • CMS and Blogs are currently not configured to have special domain-specific categories and sections. CMS is shared across all sites although the appearance will be different for each domain.


Project Contributors: s.lauderdale;m.biddle;a.ahn; anders

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #286  
Old 12 Jan 2011, 19:45
FReeSTER FReeSTER is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Is anyone here using VbSEO with this Mod?
I have 4 sub-domains working with this mod, but unfortunately google is linking to one forum only, I have VbSEO, is there any method to fix this? maybe a major re-write but what else can I do? Do I have to buy a license from vBseo to each domain?
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 03:22
KW802's Avatar
KW802 KW802 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Kevin
Originally Posted by El Intocable View Post
Is anyone here using VbSEO with this Mod?
I have 4 sub-domains working with this mod, but unfortunately google is linking to one forum only, I have VbSEO, is there any method to fix this? maybe a major re-write but what else can I do? Do I have to buy a license from vBseo to each domain?
When you say that "google is linking to one forum only" do you mean the links that are appearing in the Google index are wrong or something else (eg: some kind of redirect after clicking on a link in the Google index)?
__________________
Sci-Fi Forum / The Walking Dead & Horror Forum / CinVin

(Sorry, but I am no longer developing for vB; please do not PM. So long, and thanks for all the fish.)
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 20:11
FReeSTER FReeSTER is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by KW802 View Post
When you say that "google is linking to one forum only" do you mean the links that are appearing in the Google index are wrong or something else (eg: some kind of redirect after clicking on a link in the Google index)?
Yes, to be exactly, all the google links to my site all redirects to my forum home and not actually the thread. I think I will have to do a major re-write on my board.

Another problem is, Im only getting spiders or crawlers on just one forum and not the other 4 subdomains. I will PM you my board so you can see how I did.

This by far is the only thing that is really annoying and I worry about.

The best by far is the sidebar, it pulls threads or any info from only that domain which is nice. I have done the same with the VSA Chat to work separately to each forum having their own chat. Vbadvance rocks with this mod as well since it allow you to add as many portals you want so i did one to each forum.

But my worries are now for the link re-writes and the spiders visiting my forums

Any ideas mate?
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old 17 Jan 2011, 08:50
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Can someone - WHO HAS THIS WORKING - publish their Cerberus options set up in here please.

Mine doesn't even look to be working and so wanted to see what yours were like and try and fix my options.
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old 17 Jan 2011, 14:58
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I posted my exact working settings in Post # 139 in this thread. Here.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old 17 Jan 2011, 15:38
FReeSTER FReeSTER is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Since I have installed this any of the Admins dont have access to the adminCP. Looks like a cookie problem because I login at CP but takes ma back to login again. For me to login I have to disable the plugings through FTP editing the config.php file.

Any ideas what can it be or how can I fix it? I have disable each mod on my site and there is no problems with any of them except Cerberus. When this Mod is disable I have access to AdminCP with no problems.

Any advise please?

I have try fixing this issue since ever got this working but Im giving up sa I cant see the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 17 Jan 2011, 17:30
FReeSTER FReeSTER is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Sorry Double post
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 17 Jan 2011, 21:52
tafreeh's Avatar
tafreeh tafreeh is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canada
Real name: DON
Originally Posted by El Intocable View Post
Since I have installed this any of the Admins dont have access to the adminCP. Looks like a cookie problem because I login at CP but takes ma back to login again. For me to login I have to disable the plugings through FTP editing the config.php file.

Any ideas what can it be or how can I fix it? I have disable each mod on my site and there is no problems with any of them except Cerberus. When this Mod is disable I have access to AdminCP with no problems.

Any advise please?

I have try fixing this issue since ever got this working but Im giving up sa I cant see the problem.
Try This:
Settings > Cookies and HTTP Header > Cookie domain = for suggested settings use blank and see if that solves the issue.
__________________
Vb Forum
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 18 Jan 2011, 19:35
FReeSTER FReeSTER is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by tafreeh View Post
Try This:
Settings > Cookies and HTTP Header > Cookie domain = for suggested settings use blank and see if that solves the issue.
yes is set to that and have the same problems. I have changed it to .domain.com to see if it works but still having same issues.

I have no idea what it could be.

What will happen If I remove the cookies settings on the Cerberus Mod? will that make forums buggy?
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 18 Jan 2011, 20:17
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by El Intocable View Post

What will happen If I remove the cookies settings on the Cerberus Mod? will that make forums buggy?
I'm not sure, but it didn't work right for me.

I wanted to make it so the same cookie would work on all the sites but it seems the cookies needs to be set correctly for each domain.
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 19 Jan 2011, 23:13
andrefedalto andrefedalto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: André
For the ones that are having problems to login on AdminCP/ModCP, follow this:

Go to AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Plugin Manager > Edit plugin "Domains Login" from Cerberus. Replace the original code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

for this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This fix the problem with login to panels. Be aware that you need to clear your cookies to get this working also.
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 19 Jan 2011, 23:21
amagab amagab is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I read that it does not work with the CMS. What if one site has the vB CMS and the other one doesn't? Does it work then?
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 20 Jan 2011, 01:09
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by amagab View Post
I read that it does not work with the CMS. What if one site has the vB CMS and the other one doesn't? Does it work then?
It works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 20 Jan 2011, 05:32
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Is it possible to have a different favicon for each domain?
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 20 Jan 2011, 06:32
merk_aus merk_aus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Brendon
Originally Posted by sticky View Post
Is it possible to have a different favicon for each domain?
Good Question, One I would love to know the answer to. To be honest I hadn't even thought about this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: