Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[Namaless] Snow Storm Details »
[Namaless] Snow Storm
Mod Version: 1.2.4, by Namaless (Member) Namaless is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.0 Rating: (12 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 101
Released: 10 Dec 2010 Last Update: 19 Dec 2010 Downloads: 773
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  

Let It Snow.
So, you want Javascript snow on your web site, eh?


What It does
Snowstorm is a Javascript-driven snow effect that can be easily added to web pages. It is free for use, and easy to set up. A single Javascript file provides the functionality required. No images are used for the snow effect.


Demo
My Blog: http://www.namaless.com
vBulletin Forum: http://www.techno-house-electro.de/forum/


Installation
  1. Download this Product
  2. Unzip this Product
  3. Upload the content from directory UPLOAD in your vBulletin Root Directory
  4. Import this product product-namaless_snowstorm.xml
  5. Go to vBulletin Options -> Snow Storm Settings setup this product.


Change Log
  • Version 1.0.0
    • Initial Release.
  • Version 1.1.0
    • Added all Javascript options to vBulletin Options Pannel.
    • Added in the footer links "Snow Storm On/Off", this link enable/disable snowing with cookie setting.
    • Change jQuery Javascript to YUI2 (vBulletin Javascript Framework).
    • Minor bug fix.
  • Version 1.1.1
    • Added "Script Locations" from this suggestion. Now show Snow Storm ONLY where THIS_SCRIPT is used here. Leave empty to show in all pages but your server CPU bye bye xD
    • Moved "Toggle Snow On/Off" link from footer links into header userinfo. In next major release move this link to upper where not found template_hook and move with YUI DOM.
  • Version 1.2.0
    • Fixed "Script Locations" from this post.
    • Moved "Toggle Snow On/Off" link from header userinfo before notifications with jQuery (not found template hook for insert link here).
    • YUI2 death. I love jQuery and use this.
    • Remove JS min option and use min javascript to default.
  • Version 1.2.1
    • Update "Toggle Snow On/Off" link with relative status related of SnowStorm Status (when snow is off view "Toggle Snow ON").
    • Use official Namaless CDN for all Javascript scripts.
    • Added 2 screenshots.
    • Remove 2 templates because isn't need.
  • Version 1.2.2
    • Update "Toggle Snow On/Off" link, show for guest and members.
    • Show snow in all pages (removed 'index' from default setting).
    • Fixed 'uncached template'.
  • Version 1.2.3
    • Remove Namaless CDN and use local version of Javascripts.
    • Fixed bug for "Toggle Snow ON/OFF" link because some members not show the link (sorry for inconvenience).
  • Version 1.2.4
    • Fixed Toggle Link bug.


IMPORTANT NOTE
For the correct operation of the MOD must have in your template the following template_hooks:
  • headinclude_javascript
  • footer_javascript

In your template "header" find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In your template "footer" find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If these are not the template_hook MOD WILL NOT WORK!
Before commenting that the MOD does not work, make sure that these template_hooks are present in your template.

The Javascript provide by http://www.schillmania.com

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	namaless_snowstorm_toggle_off.png
Views:	768
Size:	60.3 KB
ID:	124484   Click image for larger version

Name:	namaless_snowstorm_toggle_on.png
Views:	1281
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	124485  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Snow for Christmas Ev!L ErN!E vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 126 02 Oct 2013 13:48
Forum Home Enhancements Snow for your site :-) UKBusinessLive vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 108 27 Dec 2012 12:17

  #91  
Old 25 Dec 2010, 09:04
MoreLinux MoreLinux is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Thanks, Namaless. Works perfect!!!

Happy holidays!!!
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 26 Dec 2010, 18:44
anushkumarb anushkumarb is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
When i tried to import XML i am getting following error (XML Error: not well-formed (invalid token) at Line 1)
any help?.

Advance Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 26 Dec 2010, 21:28
JayCat JayCat is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Great mod.

One suggestion though,
Allow customization of showing the skin based on the style the user is using as well. (I don't want snow on all of the styles available to my members).
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 28 Dec 2010, 20:16
Namaless's Avatar
Namaless Namaless is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Italy
Originally Posted by JayCat View Post
Allow customization of showing the skin based on the style the user is using as well. (I don't want snow on all of the styles available to my members).
Thanks for suggestion
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 09 Oct 2011, 02:53
Mukashi's Avatar
Mukashi Mukashi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Liam Pomfret
Namaless, have you tested this one with current vB4 versions? Interested in deploying it with our Christmas skins this year, particularly if you've managed to get tht last suggestion by JayCat working.
__________________
Webmaster, Bulbagarden.net / Bulbapedia
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 27 Nov 2011, 07:22
cykelmyggen's Avatar
cykelmyggen cykelmyggen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Hi
Installed this on 4.1.4 and it works fine. However after installing this I get some bars across the page on both Chrome 15, FF 8 and IE 9 - all flipping on and off. See attached screenshots. Any solution to this?

snow_bar_chrome.jpg

snow_bar.jpg
__________________
boggnasker.dk
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 01 Dec 2011, 21:46
Bacon Butty Bacon Butty is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Works great. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 02 Dec 2011, 15:16
fxwoody's Avatar
fxwoody fxwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
hehehe cool little trick shot
Installed

Humm, would there be a way to select some little flake images ou can we add a shadow or something like that because on a white background, we loose the effects
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 04 Dec 2011, 02:15
thenamesgould thenamesgould is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Has anyone got it going on 4.1.8? Just want to check before I install it myself.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 05 Dec 2011, 16:49
therookery therookery is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Yep, works fine on ours and looks great.
Originally Posted by thenamesgould View Post
Has anyone got it going on 4.1.8? Just want to check before I install it myself.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 08 Dec 2011, 19:53
TeknoSounds TeknoSounds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Looks like the javascript needs to be updated to the latest:
http://www.schillmania.com/projects/snowstorm/
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 09 Dec 2011, 21:19
thenamesgould thenamesgould is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
What do I need to enter in the Script Locations box to have the snow just show on the index?
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 15:10
www.ch-joy.com's Avatar
www.ch-joy.com www.ch-joy.com is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Very nice
__________________
منتدى الفرح المسيحي
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 15 Dec 2011, 22:30
Nelson58 Nelson58 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by woffie View Post
Same here. Toggle on and off is not showing 4.1.0 PL2
Toggle on/off is showing but not working VB version 4.18



Edit:
The site is www.Hobby-Machinist.com



Nelson

Last edited by Nelson58; 16 Dec 2011 at 12:26.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 15 Dec 2011, 22:36
Nelson58 Nelson58 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Originally Posted by therookery View Post
Yep, works fine on ours and looks great.
The on/off toggle shows up at the top, but doesn't work.

What did I do wrong?


Edit:
The site is www.Hobby-Machinist.com


Nelson

Last edited by Nelson58; 16 Dec 2011 at 12:26.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:23.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: