Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Spiders Display on Forumhome and Who's Online for vb4 Details »
Spiders Display on Forumhome and Who's Online for vb4
Mod Version: 1.1.3, by Boofo (R.I.P.) Boofo is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (93 votes - 4.76 average) Installs: 666
Released: 28 May 2010 Last Update: 18 Jan 2012 Downloads: 4209
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

Spider Display for vB 4
Version 1.1.3
(By Boofo)

What does this product do?
This product will display the number of spiders on Forumhome and Who's Online. It will also add the count behind the spider name on Forumhome if there is more than one of a certain spider [ i.e. Google (3) ].

Credits:
A big thank you goes out to Adrian for helping me come up with the fix for this for vB 4.1.2, and straightening me out on keys in an array. Also, thanks to Paul M and Mosh for the comma fix for 4.1.8. Another thanks goes out to Mosh for the image file as well as making the mod work with all versions of vB 4. And yet another thank you goes out to HMBeaty for helping me find the fix for vB 4.1.10 and testing it thoroughly.

Version Information:
Version 1.0.0 --Initial release for vB 4
Version 1.0.1 --The count variable was wrong for the spider plural convention. Thanks goes out to Mosh for catching it. Also, the spiders_vbulletin.xml file has been updated to a more recent version, and the link for it below has been changed to another site that is keeping it up to date better than the original spiders list.
Version 1.0.2 --Fixed double comma issue with vB 4.0.5 in IE8.
Version 1.0.3 --Fixed issue with spiders displaying in a vertical listing in some browsers. The phrase ",with 0 spiders" will no longer show when there are no spider names listed.
Version 1.0.4 --Fixed to work with vB 4.1.2. Also, the "spiders_vbulletin.xml" file has been updated to the latest version as of February 15, 2011. => vBulletin 4.1.2 only
Version 1.0.5 --Added a setting to change the color of the spider name in the listing. Added a setting for Allowed Usergroups who can view spiders in the listing. Added a "View Map" link that will show up behind the spider count (or guest count if no spiders are currently on the site) on both the Forumhome and Who's Online. This link will only be visible if you have the "Digital Point User Map" mod installed. The spiders_vbulletin.xml file has also been updated to the latest version as of February 25, 2011. => vBulletin 4.1.2 only
Version 1.0.6 --Removed font color setting and added Style Variable setting for the Spider Display Font Color, so it can be set for each style separately. Set the dependency minversion to 4.1.2 in the xml file so there would be no improper version installs anymore. The spiders_vbulletin.xml file has also been updated to the latest version as of March 15, 2011. => vBulletin 4.1.2 only
Version 1.0.7 --Now fully phrased, as requested. => vBulletin 4.1.2 only
Version 1.0.8 --Should now work with all versions of vB 4, from 4.0.0 and up, including 4.1.8. Added a spider image to show before each spider, if the setting is enabled. It is off by default. The "spiders_vbulletin.xml" file has been updated to the latest version as of November 29, 2011.
Version 1.0.9 --Added a white spider icon image to go with styles that are dark. A setting has been added to choose what color image (black or white) you want to display before each spider name in the listing. The "spiders_vbulletin.xml" file has been updated to the latest version as of January 1, 2012.
Version 1.1.0 --Removed setting to choose the color of the spider icon and replaced it with a new style variable for the path to what spider image you wish to display for each style.
Version 1.1.1 --Added a setting to set the vertical alignment of the Spider Image. Added some more spider images.
Version 1.1.2 --Fixed to work on vB 4.1.10.
version 1.1.3 --Fixed to work with DragonByte Tech InfoPanels version 2.04 and above only.

NOTE: The word "Spider" or "Spiders" will no longer show up after each spider name listed in the activeusers listing on the Forumhome.

Installation overview:
----------------------------
1 Product XML (6 Plugins, 15 Phrases, 3 Settings, 2 Style Variables)
1 spiders_vbulletin.xml (located in the upload/includes/xml directory of this product ZIP file)
6 Spider Image files (located in the upload/images/misc directory of this product ZIP file)

Installation Instructions:
----------------------------
1. Upload the spider image files to the forums/images/misc directory on your site.

2. Upload spiders_vbulletin.xml to the forums/includes/xml directory on your site.

NOTE: Go to the following link for spiders_vbulletin.xml updates: http://www.wolfshead-solutions.com/spiders-list

3. Go to 'Admin CP -> Settings -> Options -> Who's Online Options -> Enable Spider Display' and make sure it is set to 'Yes'

4. Go to your Admin CP
Scroll down to 'Plugin System'
Click 'Manage Products'
Click 'Add/Import Product'
Click the 'Browse' button, and locate the 'product-boofo_spiderdisplay.xml' file on your computer

5. Go to your Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> 'Spiders Display on Forumhome and Who's Online' and set the following options:
Spiders Display : Allowed Usergroups: These usergroups can view the Spiders Display on Forumhome. (Default is: '0' - All Usergroups)
Spiders Display : Show Spider Icon: Show Spider Icon to the left of each spider? (Default is: '1' - Yes)
Spiders Display : Spider Icon Vertical Position: Set the vertical-align property of the Spider Image. (Default is: 'bottom')

6. Style Variables:
Go to your Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Style Variable Editor -> Click Go Button -> Boofo -> boofo_spiders_color
Enter the color code of the font color that you want the spiders to show up in.
Go to your Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> Style Variable Editor -> Click Go Button -> Boofo -> boofo_spiders_icon_image
This is your spiders display icon image. Set to the path of the spiders display icon image you want to use.

NOTE: You will need to do this for all styles.
-----------------------------------------------------

Done!
Enjoy!



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	whos_online_spider.png
Views:	3244
Size:	9.4 KB
ID:	121311   Click image for larger version

Name:	wgo_spider.png
Views:	4573
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	121309   Click image for larger version

Name:	Spider_Image.png
Views:	1919
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	135400  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Spiders on ForumHome [NO FILE EDIT] Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 62 31 Jul 2012 19:18
Forum Home Enhancements Spiders on ForumHome Atakan KOC vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 63 17 Dec 2010 11:43
Forum Home Enhancements Show Spiders on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 206 17 Oct 2009 10:44
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 197 28 May 2007 00:36
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 330 08 Feb 2006 18:13

  #316  
Old 02 Jan 2012, 22:48
bulldog51981's Avatar
bulldog51981 bulldog51981 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Originally Posted by HMBeaty View Post
... you may also have some css that adds that comma (as discussed earlier in this thread)
If it is something in the CSS, I'm not sure what would cause it (i.e. I don't know what I should look for there). I know it's probably asking a lot, but does anyone know what I should be on the look out for?
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 02 Jan 2012, 23:03
HMBeaty's Avatar
HMBeaty HMBeaty is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Brooks
Try this, in your FORUMHOME template, find and replace everything between:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
"Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time!"
"It's important to only think about what you desire, not what you fear to achieve your ultimate goal!!
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 02 Jan 2012, 23:04
HMBeaty's Avatar
HMBeaty HMBeaty is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Brooks
***Make a backup of your FORUMHOME template before applying the code I posted above***
__________________
"Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time!"
"It's important to only think about what you desire, not what you fear to achieve your ultimate goal!!
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 02 Jan 2012, 23:18
bulldog51981's Avatar
bulldog51981 bulldog51981 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Backup made, changes applied.....still two

grrrrrr

(not this mods fault I'm sure, but frustrating non the less)
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 02 Jan 2012, 23:42
bulldog51981's Avatar
bulldog51981 bulldog51981 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Update - I still do not know the original cause of the double comma, but I found in the CSS template->vbulletin.css


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

that the Currently Active Users calls from. So, I'm sure that there's a better way to do this but this is what I did:

In FORUMHOME find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In vbulletin.css

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by bulldog51981; 03 Jan 2012 at 00:58.
Reply With Quote
  #321  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 04:57
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Your comma issue has nothing to do with this mod. Sounds like you missed reverting a template somewhere. Are you using the split usergroup mod that displays separate usergroups in the currently online users?
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 05:01
bulldog51981's Avatar
bulldog51981 bulldog51981 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Your comma issue has nothing to do with this mod. Sounds like you missed reverting a template somewhere. Are you using the split usergroup mod that displays separate usergroups in the currently online users?
I do have that one installed, however not using it. I disabled it thinking that might take care of it and it still added the extra comma between names. Is it a known issue? (Thank you for getting back to me on this.)
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 05:04
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Yes, that was a known issue. Try totally uninstalling it and that should fix your problem. Plus, make sure you clear your browser cache before testing it again.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 17:03
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Thanks for the update Bob
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 20:10
bulldog51981's Avatar
bulldog51981 bulldog51981 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Yes, that was a known issue. Try totally uninstalling it and that should fix your problem. Plus, make sure you clear your browser cache before testing it again.
Tried uninstalling and clearing cache and still had the issue. I don't use that mod anymore so I'm leaving it uninstalled however I still had to use the fix above since the double comma remained. Thanks for the advice though, it was worth a shot. But when you get all these mods interacting with one another, havoc can reign supreme.
__________________
"People are always asking me if I know Tyler Durden…"

Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 20:23
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Another thing to consider is if you are using a custom skin or didn't revert the templates when you upgraded, then some of the old code is still in there and that could be causing the issue. Some of the templates don't merge like they should on upgrades.
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 21:22
bulldog51981's Avatar
bulldog51981 bulldog51981 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
Another thing to consider is if you are using a custom skin or didn't revert the templates when you upgraded, then some of the old code is still in there and that could be causing the issue. Some of the templates don't merge like they should on upgrades.
I am using a custom skin, though this was never a problem before. When I upgraded from 4.1.1 to 4.1.9 I did revert all templates that needed it and then added code back in to make things work again. I have a lot of mods installed too, so tracking down what was causing this would take some time. Adding something different for that list to call from in the CSS (though a little involved) has to be easier that trying to track down what cause it...lol
__________________
"People are always asking me if I know Tyler Durden…"

Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 03 Jan 2012, 21:40
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
My only concern is that someone else will see that post above and think that will fix whatever problem they are having with another mod messing up or if they didn't revert their templates and then they end up blaming this mod for the issues.
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 06 Jan 2012, 12:47
Schoelle Schoelle is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks for the update Rob!
__________________
Attachements in private messages.
Vote here: http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-5750
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 08 Jan 2012, 23:38
Dr.osamA's Avatar
Dr.osamA Dr.osamA is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Syrie
Real name: Dr.osama
thank you for update bro
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:57.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: