Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dream's Chatbox Details »
Dream's Chatbox
Mod Version: 2.0, by Dream (Member) Dream is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (46 votes - 4.83 average) Installs: 379
Released: 07 Nov 2006 Last Update: 14 Aug 2007 Downloads: 5844
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

This adds a simple Chatbox in your forum home page for your members to chat.

The Chatbox is like a thread, members leave small messages in it for others to see. Think of it as an off-topic thread that never ends. The Chatbox can also help keep chatting out of the threads.

This mod is light on the server, uses little server resources to work. The default refresh rate is set to 5 minutes. You can disable automatic refreshing entirely in the options.

What's the refresh rate? The chatbox updates the messages shown every given seconds, that's the refresh rate. It sends a request to the server asking for new messages every X seconds, that you choose in the options.

Warning: If you set your refresh rate to 10 seconds this mod stops being so server friendly. You can do it, but be sure your server can handle it.


Features:
- Ajax (no page refreshes)
- Pages
- Set refresh rate in seconds
- Hide Chatbox contents from certain user groups
- Set user groups that can't send messages but can view chatbox
- Moderator user groups that can delete messages
- Disable auto refresh for guests
- Prune messages by user ID, user name, days old or all
- Enable/disable smilies, bbcode and [ img ]
- Automatic URL parsing
- Users can delete their own messages
- Smilies popup with all smilies you can use in messages
- Who's Online Support
- Show message dates or not
- User names linked and colored with their user group colors
- Banned Users
- Hide refresh button
- /me code
- Optional message colors
- Bunch of options in the Admin Control Panel

Live Demos: (leave your live demo in this thread!)
http://www.fliz.ru/ (russian)
http://www.sustainabilityforum.com/forum
http://www.virtualorbit.com/
http://www.bowlandcentral.com/forum


VERSION HISTORY



This mod is now final. It has all the features I think a chatbox should have, so I won't be adding more features to it. Anyone has my permission to use this as a base for another mod. It will still be updated for bugs though.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	chatbox.jpg
Views:	6753
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	65010   Click image for larger version

Name:	smilies.gif
Views:	700
Size:	8.7 KB
ID:	65011  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Statistics Modifications Dream's Forum Statistics Dream vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 340 03 Jan 2013 12:14
Chat Modifications Chatbox Rules in cyb chatbox title Hornstar vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 23 Apr 2011 17:57
Add-On Releases Adsense in Dream's Radio And TV Add-on indie2industry vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 6 26 Feb 2010 19:37
Mini Mods Adsense in Dream's Radio And TV Add-on indie2industry vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 9 17 Jan 2010 13:44
Chat Modifications Dream's Chatbox Dream vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 118 01 Jun 2009 01:47

  #781  
Old 02 Apr 2008, 14:18
LisaJH LisaJH is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Real name: LJ
Database error in vBulletin 3.6.8:

Invalid SQL:
CREATE TABLE chatbox (
`shoutid` INT( 10 ) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT ,
`userid` INT( 10 ) NOT NULL ,
`username` VARCHAR( 100 ) NOT NULL ,
`shout` VARCHAR( 255 ) NOT NULL ,
`dateline` INT( 10 ) NOT NULL ,
`ipaddress` VARCHAR( 16 ) DEFAULT '0' NOT NULL ,
PRIMARY KEY ( `shoutid` )
);;

MySQL Error : Table 'chatbox' already exists
Error Number : 1050
Date : Wednesday, April 2nd 2008 @ 09:17:44 AM
Script : http://www.wildmums.com/admincp/plug...=productimport
Referrer : http://www.wildmums.com/admincp/plug...?do=productadd
IP Address : 124.182.222.141
Username : Queen Bee
Classname : vb_database
it dont wanna work for me...

I have version 3.6.8
Reply With Quote
  #782  
Old 08 Apr 2008, 03:56
torturedsoul26 torturedsoul26 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Hey everyone, I'm getting the following problem:

I uploaded all the files, did the whole setup and the chatbox works like it says. However, the chatbox logs the user out. As admin, I don't have a problem on my computer, but many others are telling me that the chatbox logs off. I mean, they are still "logged in" on the forum, but the chatbox area dissapears saying they have been logged off even though they are still logged in. Is this a chatbox problem or something else?
Reply With Quote
  #783  
Old 09 Apr 2008, 01:50
sensuison sensuison is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Thumbs up

Very nice mod. I got it up and running on my forum.

http://www.philippinebasketball.net/forum

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #784  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 03:20
torturedsoul26 torturedsoul26 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Question

Originally Posted by torturedsoul26 View Post
Hey everyone, I'm getting the following problem:

I uploaded all the files, did the whole setup and the chatbox works like it says. However, the chatbox logs the user out. As admin, I don't have a problem on my computer, but many others are telling me that the chatbox logs off. I mean, they are still "logged in" on the forum, but the chatbox area dissapears saying they have been logged off even though they are still logged in. Is this a chatbox problem or something else?

BUMP!
Reply With Quote
  #785  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 03:35
sensuison sensuison is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Ok I got 1 issue here on my VBAdvanced. I just installed a vbadvanced to make it my homepage:

http://philippinebasketball.net

Notice that on the homepage, the "chatbox" button on the main menu is not working. It is working on the http://philippinebasketball.net/forum page though.

Maybe some script fixing?
Reply With Quote
  #786  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 06:51
torturedsoul26 torturedsoul26 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by sensuison View Post
Ok I got 1 issue here on my VBAdvanced. I just installed a vbadvanced to make it my homepage:

http://philippinebasketball.net

Notice that on the homepage, the "chatbox" button on the main menu is not working. It is working on the http://philippinebasketball.net/forum page though.

Maybe some script fixing?
The link is wrong. It just links you back to the "forum/#". It should say "/forum/chatbox.php" or something to the like.
Reply With Quote
  #787  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 07:27
sensuison sensuison is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
But why is it working on the forum folder? http://www.philippinebasketball.net/forum and it's a java script pop up.
Reply With Quote
  #788  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 17:56
PoLlama PoLlama is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Having a problem too. Just rather different. When you try to post the site will begin to show the source of chatbox.php. Using vB 3.7 RC2.



Any idea what that means?

http://www.pollama.com/forums.php
^ Scroll down to "What's going on".
Reply With Quote
  #789  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 20:48
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by PoLlama View Post
Having a problem too. Just rather different. When you try to post the site will begin to show the source of chatbox.php. Using vB 3.7 RC2.



Any idea what that means?

http://www.pollama.com/forums.php
^ Scroll down to "What's going on".
use the chatbox for vb 3.7 not this one
Reply With Quote
  #790  
Old 10 Apr 2008, 20:48
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by torturedsoul26 View Post
BUMP!
do you use multiple domains? see if the chatbox isnt linking to a different domain
Reply With Quote
  #791  
Old 25 Apr 2008, 17:42
doogie1775 doogie1775 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by StakingAces View Post
Can you tell me if I can rename it instead of saying Chatbox atop the heading of the box to something else? Please elaborate if so. Thank you!
Originally Posted by Dream View Post
change the phrase chatbox_chatbox
I see where to rename the chatbox - thanks!....................but I would also like to rename the Smilie pop-up box to something else, where would I do that please?
Reply With Quote
  #792  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 14:25
bornoffire bornoffire is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Ok I installed 3.7 and now i get an error when I hit send. Is there a fix?
Reply With Quote
  #793  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 14:32
Dream's Avatar
Dream Dream is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Upgrade the chatbox to the 3.7 version.
Reply With Quote
  #794  
Old 01 May 2008, 18:22
Zaeolos's Avatar
Zaeolos Zaeolos is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Originally Posted by Dream View Post
Upgrade the chatbox to the 3.7 version.
And this version is where?
Reply With Quote
  #795  
Old 01 May 2008, 20:07
dennisuello dennisuello is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Denis
Originally Posted by Zaeolos View Post
And this version is where?
In the 3.7 Add-ons forum.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=167569
__________________
OverlandHUB.com
Reno4x4.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: