Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Adding Google Analytics to your Board Details »
Adding Google Analytics to your Board
Mod Version: 1.00, by TheBlackPoet (Member) TheBlackPoet is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2008 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.0 Rating: (6 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 99
Released: 03 May 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1078
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

What is Google Analytics?

Google Analytics (abbreviated GA) is a free service offered by Google that generates detailed statistics about the visitors to a website. Its main highlight is that a webmaster can optimize AdWords advertisement and marketing campaigns through the use of GA's analysis of where the visitors came from, how long they stayed on the website and their geographical position. {http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Google_Analytics}

Why is Analytics Important?
If you (the Board Owner) want to know what is really happening on your site and how best to optimize it to increase visitors and participation and hopefully...... get a conversion.... (make money).... then GA is an important tool for you...

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	googleanalytics.gif
Views:	62
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	79714   Click image for larger version

Name:	g1.jpg
Views:	820
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	79765   Click image for larger version

Name:	g2.jpg
Views:	517
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	79766   Click image for larger version

Name:	g3.jpg
Views:	665
Size:	53.1 KB
ID:	79767  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 03 May 2008, 02:55
furst furst is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Isn't it as simple as putting Google's code in your footer and verifying your account?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03 May 2008, 03:08
Ipuck's Avatar
Ipuck Ipuck is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: William O
Originally Posted by furst View Post
Isn't it as simple as putting Google's code in your footer and verifying your account?
I second that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 May 2008, 03:26
TheBlackPoet's Avatar
TheBlackPoet TheBlackPoet is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Malik Ali Shabbazz
no... if you put google in your footer... it will only read your pages... without conversions... it would be like putting it in a template... it works.., but when you want to measure more than simple page visits....., you put the code in the </body> and each page becomes unique..

so, no, its not that simple...

the idea behind analytics is to analyze.. to measure click-through rates.. conversions... if you just want a counter... get a counter...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 May 2008, 04:26
Ipuck's Avatar
Ipuck Ipuck is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: William O
the idea behind analytics is to analyze.. to measure click-through rates.. conversions... if you just want a counter... get a counter...
OK

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03 May 2008, 14:04
TheBlackPoet's Avatar
TheBlackPoet TheBlackPoet is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Malik Ali Shabbazz
If the information seems to be overwhelming.., I will show you how to create a dashboard later today... Dash boards off you the chance to view specific data streams that are important to you on one page...
if i dont get back to this in time, I suggest you go to your google account and take a look at that option...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05 May 2008, 03:15
thewatchdesk thewatchdesk is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
In the directions, I think step two tells me to cut and paste the google code into each template, just before the </body>

But it sounds like step three is doing that with the replacement variable,

Is step 2 just telling me what step three is going to do?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 May 2008, 04:04
Chris-777's Avatar
Chris-777 Chris-777 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Chris
This, to me, seems like the wrong way to go about it. Replacing the /body code with an RV for your analytics code + /body doesn't do anything different than just putting it in the footer. It's the same code.

vBSEO handles my Analytics code so I don't do it either way, but I fail to understand how making a RV would make one page unique any more or less than just hardcoding it into the footer. It's doing the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06 May 2008, 04:33
TheBlackPoet's Avatar
TheBlackPoet TheBlackPoet is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Malik Ali Shabbazz
listen... trust me when i say this... if you put the code in the footer... you are doing the analytics a great dis-service... because the footer comes up no matter what page you go to.., you are not getting all of what GA is offering...

in order for analytics to work it has to be in a part of the site that is unique from other pages... the body pages are unique. when you put the code in the footer .. you are not getting the results such as site overlay, landing page, bounce rates.., etc....

but if you think its effective for you to put it in the footer... by all means.... do what you do!!

as far #7 is concerned...

In the directions, I think step two tells me to cut and paste the google code into each template, just before the </body>

But it sounds like step three is doing that with the replacement variable,

Is step 2 just telling me what step three is going to do?
no, dont manually put the code in each template... i believe what i meant to say was if you have more than one style........ do this.... but you have the right idea.. about the replacement variable.. that's what i suggested you do...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 May 2008, 15:35
myown myown is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
thanks for all this information.
__________________
http://pak.net
Urdu Forums - Articles, Jokes, Poetry and lots more
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 May 2008, 03:25
PixelFx PixelFx is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
just put the code in your header include and be done with it ..
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10 May 2008, 06:23
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
I don't think it matters where you put the code as long as it is on the page being displayed. If it is in the footer then it is going to be on every page. Google does not just read the footer, it reads the content of the whole page. It does not matter where it gets put as long as it is on every page that gets displayed and the footer does that.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 May 2008, 11:06
theparentpack theparentpack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Is this info only viewable to admins? This Noob needs instructions, I don't know what to do with the file sorry, too new, lol
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 May 2008, 12:43
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Real name: Christian
i don't remember who, but someone told me that the correct way is put the code in the footer ...

@parent: you need to register on google.com and get the code ... only who owns the google account can see the stats ...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 May 2008, 00:31
theparentpack theparentpack is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
So if I already have a registered email with google then I have an account I am assuming! Thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: