Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 18:18
Dan's Avatar
Dan Dan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Daniel
Vista?

I'm currently pondering moving to Vista, I've been able to acquire a copy from my grandfather who is downgrading to XP because he doesn't like the way Vista works. I'm willing to make the leap though. I'm just curious what you all would think my performance would be like.

cpu: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3800+ at 2411MHz
gfx: ATI Technologies Inc. ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x5B63) 256MB
ram: 1027/3070.5MB (33.44%) [|||-------]
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Guildhead | Torhead | Wowhead
Please do not Private Message, Email or Instant Message me for Support with vBulletin or help with any Modifications to vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 18:25
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
You shouldn't have any problem at all with that setup, although I would follow your Grandfather's path. Vista is just pretty graphics and bloatware.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 18:30
Dan's Avatar
Dan Dan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Daniel
Well he does use programs that where coded and never upgraded past windows 3.11 so that might be a reason Vista isn't friendly to him =p
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Guildhead | Torhead | Wowhead
Please do not Private Message, Email or Instant Message me for Support with vBulletin or help with any Modifications to vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 18:39
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Trust me, when you want to add new programs to Vista, it won't be friendly to you, either. I figure if Microsoft can extend the support deadline for XP, then that should tell you something about the faith they have in their new baby.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 18:45
Dan's Avatar
Dan Dan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Daniel
Sadly Bob, I'm not looking for reasons not to upgrade, I'm looking to see if the box should run it fairly well without issues =p I don't use many old programs that I would think would have issues.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Guildhead | Torhead | Wowhead
Please do not Private Message, Email or Instant Message me for Support with vBulletin or help with any Modifications to vBulletin.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 19:07
chrisdaman77's Avatar
chrisdaman77 chrisdaman77 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Real name: Chris
Personally I don't see any issues with Vista. As far as your specs go you should be fine. I use Vista Business and use 2 gig memory and it flies. I was only at 1 but had to bump it up as Vista does require a lot of memory.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 19:12
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by Dan View Post
Sadly Bob, I'm not looking for reasons not to upgrade, I'm looking to see if the box should run it fairly well without issues =p I don't use many old programs that I would think would have issues.
Then, yes, you should do fine. But as chrisdaman77 pointed out, more memory would make things better.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:32
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Josh Arcadia
Don't do it! I have downgraded like 20 computers for guys curious like you and it's a headache... :P
__________________
. █│║▌│█│║▌║│█║▌│║║█║
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:35
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
I agree, but I got chewed out for it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:46
chrisdaman77's Avatar
chrisdaman77 chrisdaman77 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Real name: Chris
Just out of curiosity what did you all find to be your problem? I have had bot Vista Premium and Business and any program I want to use works well for me. The only thing I found so far that didn't work was my printer...but it is an older printer.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:48
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
It is just bloated with a lot of useless crap that slows things down. Think how fast XP would run on your computer if you think Vista runs good. When the PC Mag editors say they'll stay with XP, it makes you sit up and take notice.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:50
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Josh Arcadia
Well... Nexialys is the good one on technical explanations, but he got a 'Mac' so on this just trust us
__________________
. █│║▌│█│║▌║│█║▌│║║█║
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:52
chrisdaman77's Avatar
chrisdaman77 chrisdaman77 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Real name: Chris
I guess everyone has a different experience with both OS's. Personally I hated XP. I miss when I had ME. That was an awesome OS.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:52
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Fear is the path to the dark side... fear leads to anger... anger leads to hate... hate leads to suffering... suffering leads to the Macintosh.

which explains Nex's outlook on life.

--------------- Added 01 Mar 2008 at 20:53 ---------------

Originally Posted by chrisdaman77 View Post
I guess everyone has a different experience with both OS's. Personally I hated XP. I miss when I had ME. That was an awesome OS.
You need help! ME? Even Microsoft hid in the corner on that one.

Last edited by Boofo; 01 Mar 2008 at 20:53. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01 Mar 2008, 20:54
Feckie (Roger)'s Avatar
Feckie (Roger) Feckie (Roger) is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Roger
Originally Posted by chrisdaman77 View Post
Just out of curiosity what did you all find to be your problem? I have had bot Vista Premium and Business and any program I want to use works well for me. The only thing I found so far that didn't work was my printer...but it is an older printer.
Vista Ultimate 64
Quad Core
8 gigs memory
c: 500 gig mirrored
d: 500 gig mirrored


only thing i had a problem with was web cam........
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EG - Vista Ranks mac27 vBulletin Rank Sets 69 16 Dec 2012 13:55
Vista DX Leo™ vBulletin 3.6 Styles 4 20 Sep 2008 09:39



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: