Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Countdown (Forum, Sideblock, vBa CMPS, Multiple Countdowns) Details »
Countdown (Forum, Sideblock, vBa CMPS, Multiple Countdowns)
Mod Version: 1.0.4, by Gemma (Coder/Designer) Gemma is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (19 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 146
Released: 12 Jul 2011 Last Update: 22 Oct 2011 Downloads: 867
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

Someone PM'd me last week asking for the code I use for my countdown sideblock. So here is the basic countdown (doesn't include the images/blurb that screenshots/demo show)

This countdown uses the users PC clock and calendar to count down to a time and date.

What is it?
A sideblock on your forum index to countdown to a specific date/event.

1. Upload the contents on the zip archive to your server. Keeping the file structure as is.

countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js
countdown/js/jquery.lwtCountdown-1.0.js
countdown/js/misc.js
countdown/style/main.css

Change the settings of the countdown/js folder to CHMOD 775

2. Go to AdminCP > Forums and Moderators > Forum Block Manager > Add Block

Title - Countdown
Description - whatever you want
Content Type - HTML
Content - <div></div>
Template to use - block_countdown

3. Go to AdminCP > Styles and Templates > Style Manager > Add New Template

Title - block_countdown

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change this part to set the countdown target date


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save the block.

4. Go to AdminCP > Style and Templates > Style Manager > StyleVars > forum_sidebar_width and change the width to atleast 270px

You can change the colour of the digits/text to suit your forum by changing references to #5C7099 in the main.css file

If you are using vBOptimise go to AdminCP > vBOptimise > Flush Cache

To have more than one countdown

Create a new template called block_countdown2


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Set the targetDate data and save

For reference if making more blocks - (jq('#countdownX').countDown({ and <div id="countdownX"> are used to call additional countdowns).

Create a new forum block in the same way as before but make the template to use: block_countdown2

To Display on vB Advanced CMPS - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=122

To show multiple countdowns on forumhome (screenshots) - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=158

If you want to add images/videos etc to your countdown all you need to do is add some basic code to the template. Search for </script><div> and after that you would add something like.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you are upgrading from a previous version, upload the contents of the zip file and replace the template(s) you are using (ie block_countdown, block_countdown2, adv_portal_countdown etc). Set the targetDate.

History
1.0.4 - Reverted back to using jquery-1.4.1.js
1.0.3 - Now using jquery-1.6.1.min.js and added noConflict to script
1.0.2 - Cleaned up code, added instructions to zip. Also instruction within thread on how to make CMS widget or have more than one countdown.

If anyone wants to further develop any of my addons, you are free to do so.


Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sideblock.jpg
Views:	2456
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	130953   Click image for larger version

Name:	arcade_count.jpg
Views:	1304
Size:	137.3 KB
ID:	133705   Click image for larger version

Name:	count.jpg
Views:	1022
Size:	70.8 KB
ID:	133706   Click image for larger version

Name:	countdown2.jpg
Views:	1160
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	133714  

Click image for larger version

Name:	countdowns.jpg
Views:	1233
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	133751  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks Show Poll In Forum Sideblock Badshah93 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 169 03 Apr 2017 08:27
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks Tinypic Uploader Forum SideBlock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 22 15 Oct 2015 12:49
vBulletin CMS Widgets IMDb Search Forum SideBlock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 8 19 Dec 2012 10:42
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks MegaUpload FileBOx Forum Sideblock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 9 15 Mar 2012 02:20
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks Imageshack Uploader Forum SideBlock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 3 22 Feb 2010 21:45

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Jul 2011, 22:28
sadaar's Avatar
sadaar sadaar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Thanks for the mod, it looks great. However, I cannot seem to set it to display anything other and 0's. I tried eliminating the cache time, I tried entering the year in both 2011 and just 11 format. Can you please post an example of a functioning time?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Jul 2011, 22:34
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Jul 2011, 23:20
sadaar's Avatar
sadaar sadaar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Thanks for the quick reply, unfortunately I still am not getting the countdown, just 0's
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 00:10
sadaar's Avatar
sadaar sadaar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Again, I appreciate your support.

I downloaded the zip, upload and overwrote. I verified the directory structure. I deleted the forum block and created a new with a direct cut and paste of your's. Then pasted the sample date and time.

I still get nothing but 00's

Is it just me? Or is anyone else having this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 06:52
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Uninstalled, would not display anything but 0's.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 08:53
un? in? un? in? is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Oh, don't work.
Please fix
Demo: http://raovat.vn-news.org/forum.php
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 09:13
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
I don't know, it works fine on every site I've installed it on and I've used the same code on them all.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace the target date data with your own.

If no-one can confirm it working then I'll get one of the mods to delete this. Sorry

edit: Confirmed as working
__________________

Last edited by Gemma; 13 Jul 2011 at 10:15.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 10:46
Taurus1's Avatar
Taurus1 Taurus1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Works and looks awesome. Thank you so much!
__________________
For custom designed Windows 7 Visual Styles/Themes, please visit CreativX!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 10:51
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Originally Posted by Taurus1 View Post
Works and looks awesome. Thank you so much!
If you are looking to add an image above the countdown, add something like this below </script>

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you want to link the image to something, ie when clicking on the image it would go to a forum post or external site use this format instead, replace the <img src="LINK TO YOUR IMAGE"> with something like this - <a href="http://www.yourlink.com"><img src="http://www.yourimagelink.com/image.jpg" alt="hover over title" width="x" height="x" /></a>

Last edited by Gemma; 13 Jul 2011 at 10:56.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 11:06
Taurus1's Avatar
Taurus1 Taurus1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
OH cool! Thank you Gemma. Is there a way for me to use a longer title? When the title is too long it overlaps the box, it is not broken into 2 sentences or so.
And did you release this as widget somewhere?
__________________
For custom designed Windows 7 Visual Styles/Themes, please visit CreativX!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 11:21
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Originally Posted by Taurus1 View Post
OH cool! Thank you Gemma. Is there a way for me to use a longer title? When the title is too long it overlaps the box, it is not broken into 2 sentences or so.
And did you release this as widget somewhere?
I'll look at the title part and see what's up.

You should be able to use the same code to make a cms widget but you would need to be using a sidebar of 270px or more for it to display properly
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 11:41
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Originally Posted by Gemma View Post
I'll look at the title part and see what's up.

You should be able to use the same code to make a cms widget but you would need to be using a sidebar of 270px or more for it to display properly
Actually, I take that back

You'd need to use something like this for a CMS Widget


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 11:46
Kulham Kulham is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
FIXED:

1.- Add before..

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2.- Check folder permission #0775

3.- Clear Cache sideblock.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Jul 2011, 11:52
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Thanks. I removed the jquery-1.4.1.js lines from the code because it wasn't needed for all the installs I'd made (but I left the script in the zip file). Any time you make a new widget/sideblock it is always recommended to clear or purge the cache.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: