Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 03:24
awkawk awkawk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Help! I set my cookie timeout to 0 seconds and can't login!

I am a newb at vbulletin, so I do not know how to access the database or anything besides using AdminCP.

I'm on version 5.2.4 patch level 2.

How do I reset the cookie timeout without access to AdminCP (since I can't login due to cookie timeout 0)???

--------------- Added 18 Nov 2016 at 03:55 ---------------

vBulletin is hosting my site, so I don't have access to FTP or the DB?

Last edited by awkawk; 18 Nov 2016 at 03:56.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 05:14
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I already fixed this for you when you put in a ticket. There isn't a way for you to fix it without access to the database.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 18:16
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Just go into phpadmin, settings table and look for cookietimeout.. Change the value..

Clear your browser cache and log in..

If the browser clear does not work change the cookie prefix in your config file.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 18:34
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
He is on vBCloud, so he was unable to run queries on the database.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 19:03
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
He is on vBCloud, so he was unable to run queries on the database.
My apologies Lynne. I wasn't aware of that.

Oh well, the information will possibly be helpful to someone else.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 23:10
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Why would anyone set it to 0 in the first place
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Nov 2016, 23:47
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
^ Also please don't set this value very high either, it can cause issues being set too high as well.

I've never seen it set to 0 before and that is why Paul also seems quite surprised!
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman
For all your vBulletin and Wordpress custom needs.

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 Nov 2016, 18:44
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Why would anyone set it to 0 in the first place
They either thing 0 is unlimited or they accidentally deleted the value in there and Saved. At least, that was what happened the two times I have seen this done.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Nov 2016, 15:13
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
vBulletin should put eval code in that field so that this cannot be set to less then 30 seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Nov 2016, 15:34
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
There has always been code in vB (3 & 4) to prevent it being < 60 seconds.

The problem with vB5 is that as they slowly stopped using the legacy vB4 code is was initially built from, they reached a point where that particular code was no longer running on the front end, which means its now became a potential issue. They added the code (well similar) back into 5.2.6.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 Feb 2017, 10:18
Sdarot Sdarot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Hi,
I'm facing the same problem.
I change the cookie timeout value to zero by mistake.
Afterwards I was unable to login.
so I run this query:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And changed the cookie prefix in both config.php and /core/include/config.php

But I'm still unable to login to my forum, How can I fix it?

Last edited by Sdarot; 10 Feb 2017 at 18:28.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10 Feb 2017, 18:33
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It needs to be done in the datastore table also which is serialized input (so don't modify it manually unless you know what you are doing). You can try reuploading the /core/install directory (without the install.php file) and uploading the tools.php file from the do_not_upload directory into the /core/admincp directory, point your browser to the /admincp/tools.php file and click to update the Options Cache. See if that fixes the issue.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 Feb 2017, 09:00
Sdarot Sdarot is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Thank you, problem solved!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Extended timeout for whois online without changing cookie timeout Jakeman vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 21 30 Nov 2006 04:38



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: