Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
Backup/Restore ANY Forum WITHOUT SSH
TruthElixirX
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 517

Oklahoma
by TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline 16 Apr 2007

As a former newbie administrator, I was faced with the daunting task of backing up my forum. I tried backing up via phpMyAdmin with o success after my forum reached 8+ megs. I then tried the billions of SSH tutorials given to me by veterans. I didn't understand it then, and I still don't understand it now.

Enter in MySQL Dumper.

1. First, to do this, you need to know how to:
  • Upload Files
  • CHMOD folders
  • Download stuff
  • Install web based PHP scripts (like vBulletin)
If you do not know how to do any of this, this tutorial is not for you. Moving on,

2. Go here: http://www.mysqldumper.de/en/ and download the latest .zip of MySQL Dumper and unzip it somewhere on your PC and/or Mac.

3. Upload "/mysqldumper/" somewhere in the public_html/www section of your server. You will need to do this with an FTP program. You may be able to run it outside fo the public_html folder, but I haven't tried it.

4. Navigate to: http://www.yoursite.com/mysqldumper/install.php. Choose your language, leave hostname as "localhost" unless your host has specified something different for you. Enter in your vB database's username and password. Leave the rest blank unless specified by web host. Hit "connect to MySQL".

5. You should get confirmation of databases it connected to. Hit save and continue.

6. Continue with installation and default settings

7. You will now see a list of directories. If there are not green check marks on them continue to step 7a. If there are green check marks continue to step 8.

7a. In your FTP client go to: public_htlm/mysqldumper/ and create a folder called "work" if it doesn't already exist. Now CHMOD it to 777. To do this right click the folder, and you will see something that says "CHMOD" and a box fro numbers. Just simply put in "777". Now go inside of this folder and create: config, log, backup, and structure folders; CHMOD them to 777 as well. Go back to your browser and hit "check directories" and see if the green check marks come on. They should at this point. If not, ask for help in this thread. Also, one of the posts further down had this to say about running your server in safe mode:

Originally Posted by NolF View Post
It was a mix of deleting and creating again the folders in 777. Apparently the ones it creates automatically are no good, so...

When you get the green tick on work delete all the 4 subfolders, and make them again, put them in 777 run the script again and it should work. At least it did for me. If not, try to run combinations of deleting, running the check script and making folders in 777
Don't know if this works, no safe mode server to verify it on; but it shouldn't hurt anything to try if you're having these problems.


8. Hit "continue with installation"., then hit "start mysql dumper".

To back up go to 9a. To restore go to 9b.

BACKING UP:

9a. Now on the bar on the left hand side, click "back up". Select "start new back up" and it will begin backing up your database. It will take a little while depending on size, so just wait and watch it.

10a. After it is done, on the menu bar select "File administration". Click your database of choice. You will be displayed with a list of backups on record. Right click which ever one you wish and save it. You must RIGHT CLICK, left click will just give you a little bit of information about the file. I'm not sure why...

RESTORE:

9b. If the .sql file is not already on the server upload it to /public_html/mysqldumper/work/backup.

10b. Select "restore" option on left hand side bar. Click the database you want to restore.

11b. Select the radio button next to desired backup, hit restore at the top, and let it go. Should be finished in a bit and you're good to go.

This method hasn't failed me yet.

Since this is an open source project, I am going to try to work on integrating it into vB 3.5 and 3.6 when school gets out, though this is a ways away. If I did this, than all you would do is upload the files and hit "back up". It can also be configured to do nightly back ups and such, which I may write about later if I have time.

If you notice any problems with my write up (typos, etc) let me know and I'll correct them. If you need help with any of the steps let me know; but only if you're willing to learn, I live a busy life of rock bands, jazz bands, calculus, and parties; don' have time to waste with jerks. . I will not help anyone for free with a "do it for me" or "do it now!" type attitude, it will cost you types .

Thats all, let me know how it goes!

Last edited by TruthElixirX; 21 Apr 2007 at 14:00..
Views: 13525
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 17 Apr 2007, 20:43
EnIgMa1234 EnIgMa1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: David
Wow thanks man, exellent
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Apr 2007, 01:16
TruthElixirX's Avatar
TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by EnIgMa1234 View Post
Wow thanks man, exellent
No problem, when I found out this little hack, I was amazed; glad I can help someone.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19 Apr 2007, 05:20
a squared's Avatar
a squared a squared is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Has anyone used mysqldumper for moving databases from one server to another?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Apr 2007, 11:35
NolF's Avatar
NolF NolF is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
I can't get past step 7a...
Only folder "work" gets the tick as show on the picture. I tried downloading the latest version (on their forum 1.22) and didn't fix it

http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/1954/dumperkp9.jpg

Last edited by NolF; 19 Apr 2007 at 17:15.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Apr 2007, 13:29
TruthElixirX's Avatar
TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by a squared View Post
Has anyone used mysqldumper for moving databases from one server to another?
I have, and it has worked for me.

Originally Posted by NolF View Post
I can't get past step 7a...
Only folder "work" gets the tick as show on the picture. I tried downloading the latest version (on their forum 1.22) and didn't fix it



I hope I can use this method
PS thx for the future help :P
You need to CHMOD all of them to 777.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19 Apr 2007, 17:22
NolF's Avatar
NolF NolF is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
They are ALL in 777 (sorry got the img link ab it wrong)
I've tried also 755 (Indicated on mysqldumper page) but nothing

Also tried deleting all the work (777) subfolders and pressing check, the subfolders were created again, but no green tick. Thre created subfolders are in 777 already...

My server is on linux safe mode, that might help... (don't think so tho )
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 Apr 2007, 23:46
TruthElixirX's Avatar
TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by NolF View Post
They are ALL in 777 (sorry got the img link ab it wrong)
I've tried also 755 (Indicated on mysqldumper page) but nothing

Also tried deleting all the work (777) subfolders and pressing check, the subfolders were created again, but no green tick. Thre created subfolders are in 777 already...

My server is on linux safe mode, that might help... (don't think so tho )
Safe mode mgiht be causing problems. Try running a back up, and tell me what happens when you try.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 18:57
NolF's Avatar
NolF NolF is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by TruthElixirX
Safe mode mgiht be causing problems.
I can't really do much about this, I'm on a shared server so...

Originally Posted by TruthElixirX
Try running a back up,
Meaning? Sorry, I don't know what you mean by saying "running a backup"

Thanks for explaining in advance
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Apr 2007, 20:07
TruthElixirX's Avatar
TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by NolF View Post
I can't really do much about this, I'm on a shared server so...

Meaning? Sorry, I don't know what you mean by saying "running a backup"

Thanks for explaining in advance
Since you created the folders, try to run the script anyways. See if it works; if it doesn't, I'll try to think of some other solutions for you.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21 Apr 2007, 09:11
NolF's Avatar
NolF NolF is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thx It finally work
Originally Posted by TruthElixirX
Since you created the folders
That quote seem to give me the idea.

It was a mix of deleting and creating again the folders in 777. Aparently the ones it creates automatically are no good, so...

When you get the green tick on work delete all the 4 subfolders, and make them again, put them in 777 run the script again and it should work. At least it did for me. If not, try to run combinations of deleting, runing the check script and making folders in 777

----PS
backed up my forums, very easy no problems, hope I'll never need to restore one of them but... I'll write my experience if it happens :=)
Thx again TruthElixirX
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21 Apr 2007, 13:58
TruthElixirX's Avatar
TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by NolF View Post
Thx It finally work

That quote seem to give me the idea.

It was a mix of deleting and creating again the folders in 777. Aparently the ones it creates automatically are no good, so...

When you get the green tick on work delete all the 4 subfolders, and make them again, put them in 777 run the script again and it should work. At least it did for me. If not, try to run combinations of deleting, runing the check script and making folders in 777

----PS
backed up my forums, very easy no problems, hope I'll never need to restore one of them but... I'll write my experience if it happens :=)
Thx again TruthElixirX
No problem, I'll add your advice to the first post.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28 Apr 2007, 00:16
beduino's Avatar
beduino beduino is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Joao
Hi,
myqslqdumper is a fine opensource work
I translate do portuguese br [see in site] and i really like the program ... but... I don't know how we can automatize the script. I think is a pearl script.
But i don't have any ideia how can i make the script.

Anybody can help?

All the best
Beduino
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28 Apr 2007, 00:57
TruthElixirX's Avatar
TruthElixirX TruthElixirX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Originally Posted by beduino View Post
Hi,
myqslqdumper is a fine opensource work
I translate do portuguese br [see in site] and i really like the program ... but... I don't know how we can automatize the script. I think is a pearl script.
But i don't have any ideia how can i make the script.

Anybody can help?

All the best
Beduino
Not sure what you mean. You can set up a cron job to run it every so many hours.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16 May 2007, 08:48
Coders Shack Coders Shack is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Chad Scira
SSH...

To login and backup a database in one line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To restore a database in one line:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I use the backup cmd in an automated backup script which saves the file then uploads the file to a backup server.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: