Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
SpamBuster: Identify, log and remove spam posts on your forum Details »
SpamBuster: Identify, log and remove spam posts on your forum
Mod Version: 1.1.2, by UK Jimbo (Member) UK Jimbo is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (19 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 193
Released: 14 Aug 2007 Last Update: 08 Nov 2007 Downloads: 747
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

This is the v3.6 version of SpamBuster that I wrote for vBulletin v3.5.x This version is mainly bug fixes.

What does it do?
It spots posts that could potentially be spam then (depending on option settings) creates a thread alerting site admin/moderators about the post and/or hides the post from view.

How does it identify the spam?
All off the posts for users with a post count of less than 10 (configurable) have their posts checked against a number of rules. Each rule has a different "score". If the total score for the post exceeds a specified limit then the post is deemed to be spam.

Can I add my own rules?
The installer file has a default rule set with it, you may wish to customise the rules in the options section of the AdminCP. The rules system is fairly simple to add to, in simple terms each rule is a perl regular expression and a score.

How do I install it?
Import the product via the Product Manager in the AdminCP. The options group and plugins will be added to your system. Now would be a good time to click the install link on here to record the fact that you've installed it.

How do I configure it?
Head to the "SpamBuster" option group in the "vBulletin Options" section of your AdminCP. Fill in the relevant fields. Further documentation will follow but it should be obvious what each setting does for the moment.

How do I upgrade?
Just run a regular install. It's worth backing up your settings particluarly the rules before performing the upgrade. If you have any problems I recommend removing the product then installing it from scratch.

How can I test it?
Try posting a new thread/post with some trigger values in it. The string cialis should do the trick.

Help it's broken my forum!
Erm, that's not an intended feature. Disable all six of the plugins that are part of the product "SpamBuster" and post an error report to this thread. The forum will work fine.

Why doesn't it do x,y or z?
Because I've either not thought about it yet or I've not written it yet. Please drop a post into this thread with any (sensible!) suggestions.

Can I use it commercially?
You're free to use it for whatever purpose comercially/privately as long as you don't resell the code. It's released under the LGPL, see the link below for futher info. If you find this plugin useful and you'd like to make a donation please use the "donate" button below.


click to donate



This software is licenced under the CC-GNU LGPL.


Changelog
  • 8th November 2007 - v1.1.2 - New thread redirect bug fixed
  • 14th August 2007 - v1.1.1 - Multiple post bug fix
  • 13th August 2007 - v1.1.0 - Important bug fixes, updated rules file
  • 15th June 2006 - v1.0.1 - Updated list of rules uploaded as a text file
  • 6th April 2006 - v1.0.0 - Stable release: code remains the same but the rules file has changed.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
SpamBuster v1.0.0 (Stable): Identify, log and remove spam posts on your forum UK Jimbo vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 147 15 Feb 2010 12:38

  #46  
Old 08 Nov 2007, 20:53
webghey webghey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by jmottle View Post
I installed the plugin, but when you try to make a new post that triggers the spam filter you get this message:

Invalid Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator

If you reply to an existing post then it just goes back to that thread and does nto show the post as it has been hidden. Is there a way to perhaps have the message say that their post has triggered a spam filter and will be reviewed by an administrator before it is posted?

Cheers,
Jeff
quoted for identical experience. Is this intended this way? The previous spambuster did not throw the error - about invalid thread.

Have other members who are running this tested this / getting this error?
I uninstalled the 3.5 one completely and tried a clean install - same.

thanks for any info from others
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 08 Nov 2007, 23:03
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by BobbyBig View Post
How about this UK Jimbo: Message that a Thread/Post will be moderatated when Spam is found.
Actually the Users just see nothing and they keep trying to post which results in many unmoderated Posts + angry Users.

We need that badly.
regards
Originally Posted by webghey View Post
quoted for identical experience. Is this intended this way? The previous spambuster did not throw the error - about invalid thread.

Have other members who are running this tested this / getting this error?
I uninstalled the 3.5 one completely and tried a clean install - same.

thanks for any info from others

Hi guys - this has been sorted now in the latest release. It looks like some changes with the code and also some in the 3.6 codebase prevented this from working properly.


Originally Posted by BobbyBig View Post
Actually we feel very angry UK Jimbo, no support, no improvements.
Uninstalling.
Bye
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 08 Nov 2007, 23:04
BobbyBig BobbyBig is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
We allready fixed the redirecting bug for our forum 2 weeks ago
thx for the update anyways, but i hope you will make it even better it is now.

regards
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 08 Nov 2007, 23:16
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by BobbyBig View Post
We allready fixed the redirecting bug for our forum 2 weeks ago
thx for the update anyways, but i hope you will make it even better it is now.
I can't help feeling that it's a bit of a shame you didn't share this with the other users of this modification.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 08 Nov 2007, 23:56
Audentio's Avatar
Audentio Audentio is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Mike
Installed! Ill wait and see how good it works, I do indeed get spam at times on my board quite often so cant wait to see what this does .
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 09 Nov 2007, 06:54
FinalX-TeaM's Avatar
FinalX-TeaM FinalX-TeaM is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 11 Nov 2007, 04:43
Remi Remi is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
is it posible to add the mail function found here to this hack

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...2&postcount=10

I have set my "Alert forum" to send an email incase of a new thread or post but it is not working with "spam threads/posts alerts"

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 15 Nov 2007, 14:14
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Thumbs up

Installed....

Tested and working great ...

Question: Why is it required to enter both a UserID and Username for that same ID in the AdminCP options for this mod? Is it just a check to make sure they match, or can a different Username be associated with the UserID one enters?

Thanks

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 15 Nov 2007, 14:28
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by BadgerDog View Post
Installed....

Tested and working great ...
I love it when a plan comes together

Originally Posted by BadgerDog View Post
Question: Why is it required to enter both a UserID and Username for that same ID in the AdminCP options for this mod? Is it just a check to make sure they match, or can a different Username be associated with the UserID one enters?
The way the data is stored in the database (and that you add a new thread/post to the system) both the id and name are stored (instead of looking it up from the user table).

I could add something to the code to derive the username so you'd only need to specify the user id but I was feeling lazy and figured it's not too much extra effort to specify it that once in the configuration settings
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 15 Nov 2007, 15:36
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo View Post
The way the data is stored in the database (and that you add a new thread/post to the system) both the id and name are stored (instead of looking it up from the user table).

I could add something to the code to derive the username so you'd only need to specify the user id but I was feeling lazy and figured it's not too much extra effort to specify it that once in the configuration settings
Understood...

Thanks.....

Another question: I set the post count to 3 since most spammers on our forums jump right in and make their first (and only) post a piece of spam. When your mod places the spam in moderation, does it count that as a post to the user record? I ask because I wonder if I could reduce the count to one (1) and therefore even if a spammer decided to bang out several quick spams in a row, he'd still be stuck at a valid post count of one (1) and therefore he'd never get out of moderation. Does that make sense?

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 15 Nov 2007, 15:54
UK Jimbo's Avatar
UK Jimbo UK Jimbo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by BadgerDog View Post
Understood...

Thanks.....

Another question: I set the post count to 3 since most spammers on our forums jump right in and make their first (and only) post a piece of spam. When your mod places the spam in moderation, does it count that as a post to the user record? I ask because I wonder if I could reduce the count to one (1) and therefore even if a spammer decided to bang out several quick spams in a row, he'd still be stuck at a valid post count of one (1) and therefore he'd never get out of moderation. Does that make sense?
It does, just!

Only visible posts count towards the post count so the posts moderated by spambuster will not increase the spammers posts count.
__________________
administrator: visordown.com
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 15 Nov 2007, 16:02
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by UK Jimbo View Post
It does, just!

Only visible posts count towards the post count so the posts moderated by spambuster will not increase the spammers posts count.
Roger that ....

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 05:00
croft croft is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Ulric Spaak
installed and was hoping i finally will get rid of lots of spammers. But no such luck for me. When i try to post a test spam post nothing happens. The post isn't hidden and its not posted in my moderator forum either.

trigger level. tested everything from 1 up to 10
post count. 5
enable post reporting. yes
correct forum id. yes
correct user id and name. yes
remove spam threads/posts. yes

Shouldn't those settings find the spam posts and post a notice in my mod forum ?
__________________
Dark Angel Battalion
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 05:21
webghey webghey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by croft View Post
installed and was hoping i finally will get rid of lots of spammers. But no such luck for me. When i try to post a test spam post nothing happens. The post isn't hidden and its not posted in my moderator forum either.

trigger level. tested everything from 1 up to 10
post count. 5
enable post reporting. yes
correct forum id. yes
correct user id and name. yes
remove spam threads/posts. yes

Shouldn't those settings find the spam posts and post a notice in my mod forum ?


does your screen resemble this?
obviously the user id and forum # would be based off your mod forum #.
it's working on my vb3.68 patch 2
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 16 Nov 2007, 05:25
croft croft is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Ulric Spaak
edit. It started to work after a while ??? strange thing.

On another note. Would it be possible to add a user group setting to this spam buster so it doesn't check for spam on certain groups ?
__________________
Dark Angel Battalion

Last edited by croft; 16 Nov 2007 at 05:38.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: