Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Banner Rotator Details »
Banner Rotator
Mod Version: 2.0 Beta, by andrefedalto (Member) andrefedalto is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.0 Beta 4 Rating: (22 votes - 4.59 average) Installs: 367
Released: 31 Jan 2008 Last Update: 02 Feb 2008 Downloads: 2121
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Is in Beta Stage  


New version of http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=133954, compliant with vB 3.7 and with new features!!!

So, what does this hack do?
- This mod allows you to add lots of forum banners.
- The banners will be randomly showed everytime you reload your forums.

How can i work with it?
- It's all controlable through AdminCP.
- NOT NEEDED ftp access to upload banners.
- You CAN upload banners (jpg, gif & png) through AdminCP.
- You can upload flash (SWF) banners!
- You can set a description for individual banners.
- You can set size (width & height) for each banner individually
- You can edit the description easily and individually.
- You can delete the banners through AdminCP (this function delete the banner from the ftp)
- You can enable/disable you banners.
- Disabled banners remains in the ftp, but will not be shown on forum home.
- NEW: You can set different URLs for each banner!
- NEW: You can select the forums you want the banner to appear!!! (with inherit option)
- NEW: Mass delete banners is now possible.
- NEW: You can set default values for new banners on vBulletion Options

How can i install? (Time to install: 1 minute if you are fast enough )
- Unzip the package and upload the content of the "upload" folder to your forum directory.
- Install product-brotator.xml
- Go to your AdminCP > Style Manager > YOUR SKIN > Edit HEADER template and find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

replace it to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

- Refresh your admincp index and Banner Rotator menu should appear!

The improvements over the last version werent tested a lot, so please report any bugs you find!

Thanks!

SUPPORT GIVEN ONLY FOR WHO CLICKED "INSTALL"

UPGRADE IS NOT AVAILABLE, SO YOU NEED TO UNINSTALL THE OLD VERSION AND INSTALL THIS ONE

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 07 Apr 2008, 22:40
Chevy II Chevy II is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Installed and works great, for me... However, I have one user that says that none of the banners are being displayed... Only a blank area, has anyone else heard a user with this issue?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 16 Apr 2008, 12:07
veb veb is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
that's probably because they have something that disables banners and stuff... thinks they are adware.

I'm atm trying to get this to work on 3.6.7

EDIT: Works great! Thanks man, keep up the good work *hits install*
EDIT: I have a suggestion, a counter to keep track of how many times a banner has been clicked, and is displayed in the EDIT screen in the Admin control panel?

Last edited by veb; 16 Apr 2008 at 12:37.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 18 Apr 2008, 10:54
atlambros83's Avatar
atlambros83 atlambros83 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Real name: Angelo
marked as installed and nominated. works great for me on 3.6.8 pl2. thanks!


.....is there any way to change it so that when the banner is clicked it doesn't open a new window and just refreshes to the forum index? (im using it to display different styles of forum banners on my page rather than for advertisements)
__________________

Last edited by atlambros83; 18 Apr 2008 at 11:07.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 19 Apr 2008, 04:55
veb veb is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Originally Posted by atlambros83 View Post
marked as installed and nominated. works great for me on 3.6.8 pl2. thanks!


.....is there any way to change it so that when the banner is clicked it doesn't open a new window and just refreshes to the forum index? (im using it to display different styles of forum banners on my page rather than for advertisements)
Edit the style.

From:
<center><a href="<if condition="$ban['url']">$ban[url]<else />$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]</if>" target="_blank">$banner</a></center>

To:
<center><a href="<if condition="$ban['url']">$ban[url]<else />$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]</if>">$banner</a></center>

(Notice I took away the "Target" part?)
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 19 Apr 2008, 09:19
tmiland's Avatar
tmiland tmiland is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Tommy
Hi all, i need some help, i wanted to show the banners below the navbar, with a border around it like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So, what i need to know is what to add to the if condition
to make the border not show when the banner isnt showing: if condition="whatdoiputhere"

Hope you know what i mean

*edit*
i figured it out!
if condition="$ban"

Last edited by tmiland; 19 Apr 2008 at 10:35.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 20 Apr 2008, 07:21
baymortgage99 baymortgage99 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Ive been looking for a hack that allowed me to have a rotating banner

Excellent !
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 20 Apr 2008, 14:50
Britmovie Britmovie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
There will be a field for allowed file types, just add "image/gif" there (dont forget the comma).
This was the reason why i was unable to upload the files.

I have put image/png and now I can upload pings, but when i added gif as in 'image/png,gif' I could not upload gifs. I also tried image/png,image/gif so what format should it be.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 20 Apr 2008, 18:01
macc's Avatar
macc macc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Hello!

in IE 7 is ok but in Firefox banners is not in center , much outside - right side !

some help ?

reg

macc
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 20 Apr 2008, 18:05
atlambros83's Avatar
atlambros83 atlambros83 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Real name: Angelo
Originally Posted by veb View Post
Edit the style.

From:
<center><a href="<if condition="$ban['url']">$ban[url]<else />$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]</if>" target="_blank">$banner</a></center>

To:
<center><a href="<if condition="$ban['url']">$ban[url]<else />$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]</if>">$banner</a></center>

(Notice I took away the "Target" part?)
ahhh....much better. thank you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 27 Apr 2008, 19:28
yaoren's Avatar
yaoren yaoren is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
I uploaded a banner but couldn't see the image on my actual forum. Also is there any way to have it so you can upload a banner to a particular skin?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 28 Apr 2008, 05:38
cerbdawg cerbdawg is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
I've installed this on my testing server (using 3.6.8) and it works according to spec (so far).

My question!

Is there a way to make this banner function "only" on the forumhome?

Rather than using this as the site banner, I am using it as a "Sponsors" banner Ad Manager.

Any thoughts?
------------------------------------------------------------
Ignore this post. I came up with my own very ghetto solution (encapsulated the header modification in an If statement to check the forumid).

Still, if anyone gets a more elegant solution - I'm all ears!

Last edited by cerbdawg; 29 Apr 2008 at 01:20.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 30 Apr 2008, 04:27
old7888 old7888 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Everything is installed properly but I do not see a banner, I have v3.7
Is there something I am missing?
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 04 May 2008, 22:03
karrerax karrerax is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Clicks INstall

This pluguins is wonderful!! Thanks

Last edited by karrerax; 04 May 2008 at 22:15.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 05 May 2008, 02:20
DawnsWebDesigns's Avatar
DawnsWebDesigns DawnsWebDesigns is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: Dawn
Originally Posted by Stile2 View Post
This is how I added banners to my forum. Works great!! I ended up with my original header with an ad banner right next to it. Both are centered, and both are links to separate sites. My original header links to my forum home page and the ad banner links to page that I told it to when I added the banner. Hope that makes sense.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

BTW, I really like how I can tell the banner which forums to show up in.
Good job on this mod.

Thanks
Keith
Thanks for this. But with the default theme the logo's centered left. How can I get the banners to go right? Or if I simply lose the logo how could I add some space between the banners & the top of the forum?

Also with my main theme the headers left. How do I add space between it & the banners to make them go right. http://x.dawnswebdesigns.com if you want to see what I'm talking about.

Thanks for any help.

Also to be helpful to others the creator of this mod may want to add to the instructions: create a folder under images called brotator & chmod it to 777. And although the settings have added pnglgifletc. you must add image/ before every single one before they'll work. And since it already has image/jpeg you'll have to delete one else have 2.

Otherwise thanks very much. I've been looking for this a while...glad I finally found it.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 06 May 2008, 06:45
wickedstangs wickedstangs is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Real name: Emilio
very nice mod..
__________________
www.mustangsvstheworld.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: