Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Details »
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy
Mod Version: 1.50, by Digital Jedi (Coder/Designer) Digital Jedi is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (20 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 151
Released: 02 Jul 2008 Last Update: 20 Aug 2008 Downloads: 1356
Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

**As with most template edits, this modification is not version specific and will work on any vBulletin for vB3. You can find the vB4 version here.**

Ever felt your postbit_legacy template was just too long? Or maybe you'd like to add more content to your postbit_legacy, but you don't like the cluttered look or extended length of the post, especially when most posts are only a handful of sentences? Almost every decent modification here on vB.org has the option to add a link or a display to your postbit templates, and you've likely struggled, as I have, to come up with just the info you want to display, likely excluding things you thought would look real nice, but just couldn't justify the room for.

Now I've seen several good modifications that address this problem, and all of them are pretty nice. I've seen everything from a drop-down menu that displays the content, to a box that can be opened and closed just underneath the avatar. All of them are practical in their own way, and here's one more way that I worked out using a script from Dynamic Drive's website called Tab Content Script. This cleaned up my postbit_legacy just the way I wanted, and let me add even more content then I would have originally intended. It also allowed me to organize content in whatever manner I wished. I love it and I think you will too.


Screenshots


Live Demo
Click any of the grey dots beneath the user's avatars.


Difficulty: Intermediate
A few things you should know before moving forward. The instructions for this mod are not your standard template modification instructions. It's going to presume that you've edited your postbit_legacy template before and that you're somewhat familiar with its content, with HTML and how to wrap <if condition=""> conditionals. So it's not going to be a "look for this line of code, add this under it" kind of traditional tutorial. What I'm going to do is show you the basic code, how to implement it and then let you do with it what you want. That is, after all, the reason I came up with mod in first place, and I know everyone wont have the same postbit content and/or will want to set theirs up differently.

With that said, knowledge of how to modify your templates and basic HTML coding is something every vBulletin administrator should have. I'm not a coder. I'm a complete hack. But I know enough to take some of the wealth of code snippets available on the web and attempt to use them in new and inventive ways. Administrating a vB forum is that much more satisfying as a result.


Installation
To add this to your forum requires you to upload some files, make one edit to your headinclude template and one to your postbit_legacy template. If you don't know what postbit_legacy does, it's the template that controls the look of your posts when you've chosen to have avatars and user information appear to the left hand side of your posts. If you don't use that look for your forum, but instead use the one where avatars appear above your posts, then that means you use the postbit template, and this modification wasn't designed to look right on that template. (Though we have had a few users give it a try.)

Step 1.
First things first. After downloading the Attachment 83351 file, extract the contents and upload the postbit_tabs folder in your forum's root directory (Your forum root is the folder you have physically installed vBulletin in, which means that for some folks, this isn't the same thing as your site root.)

Step 2.
Right click and download this JavaScript file from the Dynamic Drive website: tabcontent.js (You can also download it from this page.) Upload it to the postbit_tabs folder you just added to your website.

Step 3.
Now to edit your headinclude template. Go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> headinclude.

Add the following block of code to the very bottom. Remember to keep the copyright intact for legal use.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 4.
Now to access your postbit_legacy template, go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> Postbit Templates >>> postbit_legacy.

From here, your going to add a basic set of code from which you can then customize it. You can pretty much add it anywhere in the template, but most likely your going to want to add it just below the avatar. If that's the case, your avatar code is most likely going to look something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add this basic set of code. This block of code will be your physical tab content.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now go to your forum and see if your tabs are displaying properly and your not getting any errors. You should have five dot tabs that display five different sets of information when clicked.

Final Steps
Now comes the hard part. Now you have to decide what you want to put in those places called Tab 1 Content:Block A, etc. This is where knowledge of your postbit_legacy template comes into play. Your now going to move whatever content you want in the respective tabs from their current location into the tabs. This is entirely up to you, but you can use my forum as a starting point. The following posts also have some tips to help you along the way.

Post 2 has a Basic Breakdown of what the tabs do, a tutorial on how to add more tabs, default snippets of code that you can move into the tabs containers as well some snippets from common hacks.

Post 3 has some links to other sites that have implemented this hack to give you an idea of what can be done with it. And it has some additional images to use in place of the default dots.

Post 5 has Frequently Asked Questions for most problems you would encounter.




Known Bugs
There is one minor issue with the tabs that only occurs when using the AJAX quick reply and inline editing. Actually it's two issues, but I've only seen one or the other on my live site vs. my demo board. In one instance, the entire content of all your tabs displays all at once when posting/editing using AJAX. This is not a huge deal, as the only person who sees it do that is the person doing the posting/editing. And it will return to normal anytime he reloads or refreshes the page. The other instance is when after posting/editing through AJAX, no tab content appears, except the dot tabs. This is also not a huge deal as the same thing will happen here too; only the poster sees it and it will look normal anytime he returns or reloads the page. I think it's a minor trade off for the sleek look it gives your forum the rest of the time.

Upgrade Instructions
For those using the 1.00 version of this modification, please see this post for upgrade instructions.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit Tabs Screenie.png
Views:	13915
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	83352   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit-Tabs-Screenie.gif
Views:	14201
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	83353  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements DJ's Translate a Thread in a Google Pop-Up Window Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 42 11 Jun 2009 13:48
DJ's Styles - Rubescence Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.7 Styles 23 02 Mar 2009 11:50

  #256  
Old 19 Mar 2009, 17:54
trulylowcarb's Avatar
trulylowcarb trulylowcarb is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Karen
Aaaaaah............ now it's PERFECT!!!!!

*nominated for MOTM*
Reply With Quote
  #257  
Old 22 Mar 2009, 10:22
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Thank you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #258  
Old 22 Mar 2009, 12:07
itsheinz itsheinz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Sir is this applicable in 3.8.1?
Reply With Quote
  #259  
Old 22 Mar 2009, 22:06
Bowromir Bowromir is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I would like to know too! This looks totally awesome! Woooow!
Reply With Quote
  #260  
Old 23 Mar 2009, 11:01
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
vB version is irrelevant. It's not dependent on anything that they change regularly, and was originally designed for any website.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #261  
Old 23 Mar 2009, 12:33
Bowromir Bowromir is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Yeah that's waht I thought.. anyways.. this is awesome.. If I get the thing to work, I'll make a small donation asap!
Reply With Quote
  #262  
Old 23 Mar 2009, 14:32
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Thank you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #263  
Old 23 Mar 2009, 20:08
GrendelKhan{TSU's Avatar
GrendelKhan{TSU GrendelKhan{TSU is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
omg been looking for something like this FOREVER!!

bookmarked... but soooo doing it. thx!
__________________
Unreal Addicts: The Ultimate UT Fraggin Fix
Unreal Tournament Sniper Clan and UT Gaming Community.
Serving frags and fun to the UT Community Since 1999
www.UnrealAddicts.com
Reply With Quote
  #264  
Old 22 Apr 2009, 20:45
SEW810's Avatar
SEW810 SEW810 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
well, i'll test it.
Anyone using this MOD + vbexperience?.

Regards
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #265  
Old 25 Apr 2009, 14:56
vash911 vash911 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Is it possible to have independent image for each dot? or are they all stuck as 1 type of dot color?
Reply With Quote
  #266  
Old 16 May 2009, 20:28
Feanor_87's Avatar
Feanor_87 Feanor_87 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I'm wondering the same as the poster above me

Great MOD btw! Definetly on of my favorites and a must have for every forum.

Last edited by Feanor_87; 17 May 2009 at 09:37.
Reply With Quote
  #267  
Old 20 May 2009, 21:16
Tacama's Avatar
Tacama Tacama is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by SEW810 View Post
well, i'll test it.
Anyone using this MOD + vbexperience?.

Regards
Yup... working smoothly in 3.82 with vbexperience.

As soon as i finish making all the changes i need on my forum i'll post an image.

Great work Digital Jedi
Reply With Quote
  #268  
Old 25 May 2009, 03:25
dancue dancue is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Any way to have it auto switch between tabs? Like you picture in the first post does?
Reply With Quote
  #269  
Old 25 May 2009, 03:57
dancue dancue is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
disregard the above.

Any way to go through the cycle of tabs only once?

What about rollover instead of click?
Reply With Quote
  #270  
Old 25 May 2009, 10:57
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by vash911 View Post
Is it possible to have independent image for each dot? or are they all stuck as 1 type of dot color?
Originally Posted by Feanor_87 View Post
I'm wondering the same as the poster above me

Great MOD btw! Definetly on of my favorites and a must have for every forum.
This could probably be accomplished by altering the CSS. You'd have to create a unique class for each individual tab and then attribute the different images to those classes. Would probably be a fair amount of work to get going though.


Originally Posted by dancue View Post
disregard the above.

Any way to go through the cycle of tabs only once?
What about rollover instead of click?
Not without editing the JavaScript directly. I'm not sure what would need to be changed off the top of my head. Hopefully I can get around this around the same time I do the AME updates.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: