Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin Cron Based Database Backup Details »
vBulletin Cron Based Database Backup
Mod Version: 4.2.0.2, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (160 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 1436
Released: 28 Dec 2009 Last Update: 26 Nov 2013 Downloads: 7175
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

As of 23 Nov 2017 this modification has been withdrawn.

This is a cut down version based on a backup system written by Trigunflame for vb 3.0. It is a simple vBulletin cron trigged php system that does a dump of your database - either as one complete file, or as one file per table. Especially useful now that IB removed the old ACP backup option in vBulletin 4. Files can be (G)Zipped to save space.

All the options are located in the ACP in vBulletin Options >> vBulletin Automatic Backup

To install, download and unzip the files, and follow the instructions in the text file.


History:

v4.0.1 : 28-Dec-2009 : Initial release for vb 4.0.0 Gold.
v4.0.2 : 29-Dec-2009 : Added ability to block process larger tables.
v4.0.3 : 27-Jun-2010 : Added Gzip option.

v4.1.0 : 04-Dec-2010 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.0.

v4.1.7.0 : 16-Oct-2011 : Updated for vBulletin 4.1.7.

v4.2.0.0 : 24-May-2012 : Updated for vBulletin 4.2.0.
v4.2.0.1 : 17-Mar-2013 : Removed vboptions from backup call..
v4.2.0.2 : 25-Nov-2013 : Fix php 5.3 deprecated warnings, added mysqldump backup.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Vbulletin Database Backup Pro (Cron Support) Trigunflame vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 443 05 Sep 2008 16:12

  #526  
Old 08 Oct 2011, 18:20
Trevor Matthews Trevor Matthews is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Problem solved.

I created a folder called backups and placed it in the same folder as my forum.

I then set the path to backups/
That solved the problem and it now works.

How do I know if I have any InnoDB Tables

And should I set block processing to on and what size should I select?

My forums database is about 40meg on the server and the gzip file is 10meg, does that sound right?

Thanks for a very useful mod.
Reply With Quote
  #527  
Old 09 Oct 2011, 21:46
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
You should avoid saving backups anywhere that is acessible over the web (like in your forum folder). If you must, then at the very least protect the folder using htaccess. If you dont anyone can access your backups by typing in the url.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #528  
Old 09 Oct 2011, 21:47
Trevor Matthews Trevor Matthews is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
It seems Cometchat uses InnoDB tables.
I have this installed so have selected that option.
Reply With Quote
  #529  
Old 10 Oct 2011, 11:14
TeknoSounds TeknoSounds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by Trevor Matthews View Post
Hi
I too have the same problem.

backBackup Error : Could not write to destination file ( ../../backups/2011-10-08/Forum-2011-10-08-Access.sql )

I created a folder called backups and put in the forums folder and tried it in the root of the server but I stil get the above error.

Permissions were tried at 777 and 755.

Any idea what I have done wrong?
Originally Posted by Trevor Matthews View Post
Problem solved.

I created a folder called backups and placed it in the same folder as my forum.

I then set the path to backups/
That solved the problem and it now works.

How do I know if I have any InnoDB Tables

And should I set block processing to on and what size should I select?

My forums database is about 40meg on the server and the gzip file is 10meg, does that sound right?

Thanks for a very useful mod.
You can set the folder outside the forums using the relative path. Such as "../backups/" This path works for me currently. But as mentioned if anything you will need to protect it with a htaccess user/pw to ensure its not immediately accessible from the net.
I see in your previous post you used "../../path/"
That path will go up 2 folders from the VB forums folder. The question is does your linux user have permissions to be able to write to that folder?
And yes, that zip file sounds about right for the correct size.

Last edited by TeknoSounds; 10 Oct 2011 at 11:19.
Reply With Quote
  #530  
Old 13 Oct 2011, 05:28
FTDave FTDave is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
If you don't install this you are insane.

This little hack has saved me big time!!!!

Thank you!!!
__________________
I CAN BARELY TURN ON A COMPUTER
Reply With Quote
  #531  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 13:50
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Updated: This is now available for the 4.1.x series of vBulletin only.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #532  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 15:14
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Paul,

Any reason to upgrade if the old version is working well? Any new features?
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #533  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 17:27
misericorde misericorde is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Thank you Updated

Nice
Reply With Quote
  #534  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 17:58
Marios858 Marios858 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks mate , you are the best !!! Excellent mod !!!
Reply With Quote
  #535  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 19:35
HMBeaty's Avatar
HMBeaty HMBeaty is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Brooks
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Paul,

Any reason to upgrade if the old version is working well? Any new features?
The only changes I see in it are in:

includes/mysqlbackup.php
includes/cron/cronbackup.php

So really, all you have to do is upload the files. No need to import the .xml. (Paul, please correct me if I'm wrong)
__________________
"Our greatest weakness lies in giving up. The most certain way to succeed is always to try just one more time!"
"It's important to only think about what you desire, not what you fear to achieve your ultimate goal!!
Reply With Quote
  #536  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 20:15
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Paul,

Any reason to upgrade if the old version is working well? Any new features?
Simply bringing all of my mods into line, not all will have changes other than the version.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #537  
Old 16 Oct 2011, 20:23
Trevor Matthews Trevor Matthews is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks TeknoSounds, as it is all working correctly I will just add the .htaccess file to it.
Reply With Quote
  #538  
Old 21 Oct 2011, 17:10
Cicada Cicada is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Processed Database in 99.906 seconds

Backup Completed Successfully
Done


thanks for this!
Reply With Quote
  #539  
Old 13 Nov 2011, 05:24
Desibabu19 Desibabu19 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
This is fantastic hack. If at all one needs only one hack, this should be it.

Paul, I have a question.

Some time, I see the compression is not done, and I have the inflated file for few days while most of the days the compression is done.

What can I do to ensure the compression is always done ? why would it skip compression some time ?
Reply With Quote
  #540  
Old 13 Nov 2011, 14:51
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
The mod will always instruct the server to gzip the file (if you have the option set). If its not doing it sometimes then thats a server side issue.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:05.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: