Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[OzzModz] Hide Quote Buttons In First/Last Post Details »
[OzzModz] Hide Quote Buttons In First/Last Post
Mod Version: 1.1.0, by ozzy47 (Member) ozzy47 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (7 votes - 4.86 average) Installs: 19
Released: 18 Jan 2014 Last Update: 24 Sep 2014 Downloads: 55
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Another mod brought to you by,


Here is a small modification you can use to hide the quote and/or multi quote buttons in the first/last post of a thread..

It is a simple installation, just import the product XML, product-ozzmodz_hide_quote

You can edit the options under the settings, [OzzModz] Hide Quote Button In Last Post Settings

This will work whether your members display the newest post last, or first.

Complete Feature List
  • Option to disable the mod completely.
  • Option to select which usergroups this mod will affect in the last post.
  • Option to select which userid's this mod will affect in the last post.
  • Option to select to hide only the quote button, still showing the multi-quote in the last post.
  • Option to select which usergroups this mod will affect in the first post.
  • Option to select which userid's this mod will affect in the first post.
  • Option to select to hide only the quote button, still showing the multi-quote in the first post.
Frequently Asked Questions.

Q. Why do I need such a thing, you ask?

A. Some admins see no reason to quote the first/last post in the thread, as you are most likely replying to that post. Plus someone asked for the mod, and it was easy enough, so I threw it together.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you like this mod please hit the button to the right ---->

Please remember to click the, button to the right if you installed the mod ---->

What does 'Marking As Installed' do ?

* It helps you to stay on top of updates - members who have installed modifications will be notified whenever new updates are available.

* For security issues - vbulletin.org will contact all members who have installed a modification whenever a security issue is brought to their attention.

* Marking a modification as installed also helps me know how many people are using my work, giving me extra incentive to provide more features and new modifications.

I appreciate the support!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* History (Changelog) *
-------------------------
v1.0.0 (January 17, 2014)
- Initial public release.

v1.1.0 (September 24, 2014)
- Added ability to hide only the quote button in the last post, still show the multi-quote button.
- Added ability to hide the quote/multi quote in the last post per userid.
- Added ability to hide the quote/multi quote buttons in the first post per usergroup.
- Added ability to hide the quote/multi quote in the first post per userid.
- Added ability to hide only the quote button in the first post, still show the multi-quote button.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	no quote 1.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	77.4 KB
ID:	150516   Click image for larger version

Name:	no quote 2.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	104.4 KB
ID:	150517  

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements [OzzModz] Hide Quote Buttons In First/Last Post ozzy47 Modification Graveyard 8 24 Sep 2014 22:31
Hide Post Buttons tubedogg vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 21 03 Jul 2002 01:57

Comments
  #2  
Old 18 Jan 2014, 01:23
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Reserved.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Jan 2014, 06:13
mitch84 mitch84 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Thumbs up

nice idea, but if you can add a option first post, woud be nice too, because I don't why, but 75% my members quote first post, thx and installed of course
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Jan 2014, 06:22
Action-N's Avatar
Action-N Action-N is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Scott
Yes I've noticed that too with posts. Only conclusion I can make is they like the quote button on the right side as the reply is way over to the left. Someone might have to test that theory by moving the reply button. Anyhow great idea for a mod, makes sense.
__________________
Action Network Forums : Visit our Free web portal for aftermarket and performance automotive enthusiasts to connect and share with other gear heads.
vbRides new garage add-on for vb 4.0.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Jan 2014, 01:43
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
This is excellent idea.

Only thing I think would be also optional is multi quote, sometimes it could be useful to (multi) quote last post and compose it in your reply. So I think that there should be option to have multi quote included in last post.

First post is also interesting question, as many people quote whole first post, which sometimes is totally unnecessary.

And idea about changing places of quick reply and quote buttons, its easily done by manual template edit.

Edit postbit_legacy (probably its the same for postbit) template, find this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And change they places, so you have this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You need to observe this last condition about multiquote, it needs to be at the end, as you don't need it if there's no multiquote option.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Jan 2014, 01:51
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
I can add the option for multi quote in the next version. And thanks for marking as installed.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19 Jan 2014, 02:10
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Well, I'm one of those who are allergic about quoting previous post, so your mod is excellent for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 Jan 2014, 20:39
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I found one problem, not too big, but still to report it.

If it's used with DBTech's AJAX (live) threads and there's more and more new "live" posts, all these new posts, including the last one when you entered thread don't have quote button.

It can be a bit of a problem. If there's a way to check if post is posted with live thread mod and in that case allow it to have quote button, it would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19 Jan 2014, 20:41
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Do the same results happen, if you refresh the page manually?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Jan 2014, 05:22
tme_power tme_power is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Nice one, very practical, but won't install because it'll make user confuse when they want to quote the last post.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Jan 2014, 20:25
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Do the same results happen, if you refresh the page manually?
Do you mean full page reload? Or using option to reload (check if there's new posts) within AJAX (live) threads?

In first case, it would be fine, quoting buttons where they need to be, for second case I'll need to test this behavior, have again live threads with multiple posts created this way and see, but I think it wouldn't solve this behavior, as this option just checks if there are new posts before it's automatically done.

If you could check somehow if AJAX threads is creating post, it would be solution for this problem, but I don't know if this is even possible.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20 Jan 2014, 20:26
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Yeah ajax is not nice, as you probably know, posting with that running, some things in the postbit do not show, and IIRC the thanks don't show either.
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20 Jan 2014, 22:41
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Well, quote button without this mod is shown. But, as every new post posted with AJAX threads is last at the moment of posting (I really don't have that active forum to have more than one new post every few seconds), showing of quote button is omitted.

With this mod off, this works just fine, so if it could be checked if AJAX thread mod is used for posting, you could stop plugin from omitting quote button. Similar to welcome thread, where plugin checks if there's something in username, or not.

Problem is, how to check if AJAX thread is used to post certain post.

Thing is, on very active threads too many posts would be without quote button to allow further use of this mod. And I really like this mod.

EDIT: Thinking about it, if you could go other way round, to leave quote button in postbit, but when user tries to use it on last post in thread, to block it and give message that last post in a thread couldn't be quoted. This would work with AJAX thread without problems.

Last edited by Alan_SP; 20 Jan 2014 at 22:46.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21 Jan 2014, 02:34
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Did you by chance ask Fillip, if there is anything they can do?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21 Jan 2014, 19:17
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
For the moment I stopped using it.

As a temporary solution, I'll need to know which file of AJAX threads to edit and there to add these two lines before code for posting posts:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This would manually force quote and multi quote buttons in AJAX threads.

But, on further thinking, this also could be a problem. Maybe ideal solution from my perspective would be mod that would check if post is last in a thread after someone press quote button, and if it is, instead executing code for quoting, just execute code for reply (i.e. quickreply).

Even that in some occasions isn't applicable.

It looks like I'll leave it be for the moment.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: