Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Navbar Forumjump- Adds a DHTML "Forum Jump" menu to your Navbar Details »
Navbar Forumjump- Adds a DHTML "Forum Jump" menu to your Navbar
Mod Version: 1.0.8, by Analogpoint (Member) Analogpoint is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2007 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (22 votes - 4.91 average) Installs: 191
Released: 08 Sep 2007 Last Update: 13 Oct 2007 Downloads: 1173
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Navbar Forumjump


This mod adds a popup menu to the navbar with quick links to all your forums.



If you like this, you can show your support by Rating it, Marking it as installed, Nominating for MOTM, and/or Donating to the author. Thanks, you rock.


Why would you want to install this?
  1. Increases usability for your members.
  2. Decreases server resources/usage.
How does this increase usability?

In forums I often find myself clicking on the "forum home" link to see the list of forums and then choose one to visit. With this mod, you simply click the "Forum Jump" menu, and down drops a dynamic menu with all your forums (represented in correct hierarchy of parents/children, and organized by category). The user can more easily visualize the structure of your forums, and can get to where they want to go quicker. And this is a lot prettier and better placed than the forum jump at the bottom of the pages.

How does this reduce server resources?

With this mod installed, the users will go directly to the next forum they want to visit without first going to the forum home. This saves the HTTP requests associated with a pageload, as well as the database queries required to generate the page.

All Features.
  • Installation is a snap, just import the XML file
  • The popup menu looks identical to the other built-in vB popup menus.
  • Automatically generates the menu, if you add or remove forums, that's automatically reflected in the menu.
  • The menu can optionally display a small icon that links to the last post next to the forum name.
  • Respects forum permissions, hidden forums, etc. If the user is not permitted to view the forum, it won't show up, just like on the forum home page.
  • No template edits needed.
  • Admin control panel that explains everything, and offers many configuration options:
    • Enable / disable the mod
    • Show menu to everyone or only to logged-in members.
    • Optionally specify forums to exclude from the menu.
    • Choose to display the forumjump popup on the left or the right side of the navbar.
    • Choose to display the menu as one column, or separate each category (with its sub-forums) into its own column. You may also specify how many categories to display per column.
    • You define the characters to prepend to the forum titles to show the indented hierarchy of forums
    • Options to configure CSS styles and sizes for the menu. This allows you to shrink the menu if you have many forums by reducing the font size and the cell padding in the menu.
    • You may optionally style the currently selected forum differently than the rest (with CSS).
  • The mod is fully phrased, including the ACP options and descriptions.
Changes it makes

Adds one plugin and a control panel options section (and its associated phrases). The menu is attached to the navbar using a template hook.

Installation
  1. Download and uncompress the zip file.
  2. Import the XML product file in the Admin Control panel.
  3. Visit the Options page and see if you want to change any of the default settings. (If you're using less than vB 3.6.8 you'll need to visit the options and see how to manually insert the menu into your templates.)
Changelog/History

Version 1.0.8 Bug fix (Oct. 13, 2007)
Fixed bug when using the forumjump with vBa. (See post #145)
Version 1.0.7 Bug fixes and workarounds (Sept. 18, 2007)
Integrated fix for Smoothie's problems (Post #76 and on)
Fixed display bug from post #101
Workaround for logging out display problem (post #104)
Completely separated the auto-insert code from the manual template inserting.
Version 1.0.6 New Features (Sept. 17, 2007)
Workaround for menu display problem in Opera
New option to add a relative URL to prepend to links (helps when using vBa)
New option to not auto-display menu via template hooks. Provides better compatibility for vB < 3.6.8 and when not displaying menu in the navbar template.
Version 1.0.5 Internal Development - Not released

Version 1.0.4 New features (Sept. 12, 2007)
Added optional link (icon) to the latest post in each forum
Added admin options panel help system.
Added compatibility with vB 3.6.0 to 3.6.8
Version 1.0.3 New features (Sept. 11, 2007)
All error messages output as HTML comments (better end user experience)
You may now specify how many categories are displayed per column
Version 1.0.2 Bug fix (Sept. 10, 2007)
Fixed bug introduced in Version 1.0.1
Added more error checking
Added useful error messages for debugging.
Version 1.0.1 Bug Fixes and Enhancements (Sept. 10, 2007)
Fixed a bug when URLs have session IDs in them.
Added Option to disable the menu for non-logged-in visitors
Added Option to exclude forums
Version 1.0.0 Initial Release


Screenshots



Menu with the icon link to last post enabled.


Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #136  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 13:25
kyokushin4life kyokushin4life is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Thanks for the plugin! I was wondering if you could tell me how to get the font size of the links in forumjump to be smaller? I bet I can change it in style/css? Where could I change this? thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 15:44
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Change the "CSS to Format all Links" in the options from font-size: 1.0em; to font-size: 0.9em; or font-size: 0.8em; or font-size: 0.7em; etc.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 20:54
kyokushin4life kyokushin4life is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Wicked. One problem though. When i use the code. The category font becomes much smaller. The font size of the category is already smaller than other sub categories.

thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 21:54
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Yes, the CSS to Format all Links scales everything in the popup menu. If you want to change that, you'd have to modify the plugin.

If you're up for that, just find every instance of

class='thead'


in the XML file, and change it to

style='font-size:1.2em;' class='thead'

Do this in the XML file, then upload and overwrite the current product. You can change the font-size:1.2em bit to whatever you like.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 22:03
kyokushin4life kyokushin4life is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Dear Analogpoint,
I think it would be nice to update this in your next version of your product as the category link becomes smaller than other subforum links. It may be just my style(template) but yer neat small feature to have.
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 02:08
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Thanks KY,

In the next version, I'll probably put all the HTML in templates. It'll make it easier for anyone who needs to edit things.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #142  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 10:54
kyokushin4life kyokushin4life is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Thanks Analogpoint.
Reply With Quote
  #143  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 21:49
Flygye Flygye is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Hi, i haved downloaded this hack and installed it on my forum, i followed the instructions but i can't get it work.

It doesn't appear on my header.
Can you help me.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #144  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 22:11
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
PM me (or post here) with your fourm URL and a test user account (if you have it to only show to logged in member), and I'll take a look.

Also, welcome
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #145  
Old 13 Oct 2007, 14:29
htscpl's Avatar
htscpl htscpl is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Houston
Real name: Henry
Thanks for a great mod ! Installed and works great except for one little link. I'm sure I missed something but if you could point me in the right direction...

On the drop down links the first one is "Forums" and should link to the forum home page or index.php. When I'm on the forum home page it links just fine, however, when I'm on Vbadvanced page the link is broken. All the other links work from VBA page just not the first one ??? Any idea as to what I need to do to fix it. A lot of my members goto the index page to view 'what's going on' .

Thanks again for your mod and support. I look forward to your response.
H
Reply With Quote
  #146  
Old 13 Oct 2007, 15:05
ncangler's Avatar
ncangler ncangler is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Will this work with a modified Navbar template and CMPS?

Hi. This looks very interesting and I'd like to use it but before I install it, a couple of questions:

1) My navbar template has been modified with custom drop-down links. Will this product install okay with a modified navbar template?

2) I use vBa CMPS for my home page with several CMPS pages, Photopost, Classifieds, etc. included in the navbar template. Will this work with CMPS?

I'm happy to contribute for the use of this if the answer to the above questions is yes. Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #147  
Old 13 Oct 2007, 21:07
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by htscpl View Post
Thanks for a great mod ! Installed and works great except for one little link. I'm sure I missed something but if you could point me in the right direction...

On the drop down links the first one is "Forums" and should link to the forum home page or index.php. When I'm on the forum home page it links just fine, however, when I'm on Vbadvanced page the link is broken. All the other links work from VBA page just not the first one ??? Any idea as to what I need to do to fix it. A lot of my members goto the index page to view 'what's going on' .

Thanks again for your mod and support. I look forward to your response.
H
Fixed in 1.0.8. Thanks for installing

Originally Posted by ncangler View Post
Hi. This looks very interesting and I'd like to use it but before I install it, a couple of questions:

1) My navbar template has been modified with custom drop-down links. Will this product install okay with a modified navbar template?

2) I use vBa CMPS for my home page with several CMPS pages, Photopost, Classifieds, etc. included in the navbar template. Will this work with CMPS?

I'm happy to contribute for the use of this if the answer to the above questions is yes. Thanks for your time.
This would be a 'yes' on both counts.

#1 Try the autodisplay for the navbar forumjump menu, if it doesn't work, then follow the manual instructions in the help on the options page.

#2 Yep.
__________________
My vBulletin Modifications.
Reply With Quote
  #148  
Old 13 Oct 2007, 22:44
ncangler's Avatar
ncangler ncangler is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Installed and it is working great. Beautiful coding work. Thanks for making this so simple! Let us know where to send a donation.
Reply With Quote
  #149  
Old 15 Oct 2007, 11:00
nader nader is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in C:\AppServ\www\upload\admincp\plugin.php on line 512
Reply With Quote
  #150  
Old 15 Oct 2007, 11:16
punk23 punk23 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Hi there, excellent add on.

Is there any way to speed up the menu as it displays...mine seems a bit slow?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 22:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: