Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Use real ip when proxy server is detected. Details »
Use real ip when proxy server is detected.
Mod Version: 2.13, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.5.x Rating: (1 vote - 1.00 average) Installs: 294
Released: 28 Aug 2005 Last Update: 15 May 2006 Downloads: 177
Not Supported  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip when a proxy is detected, meaning that all existing ip functions should continue to work, basically ignoring the proxy server (other than recording it's presence).

i.e.

* The real ip (or host) is displayed in the who's online page.
* The real and proxy server ip's are accesible for each post, the button is red for members using a proxy server.
* The real ip is searchable in the admin/mod cp (but not the proxy ip).
* The real ip can be banned by admins.

etc etc ......

Obviously this hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection. This hack is packaged as a vBulletin product.



History:

v2.12 : Template fix for px.gif.
v2.13 : Minor changes, no update necessary.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Proxy IP to real IP conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 152 20 Feb 2011 23:46
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Proxy to Real IP Conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 459 07 Apr 2009 22:26
Proxy ip to real ip conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 236 27 Jan 2007 05:25

Comments
  #2  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 03:06
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
< Post reserved for future use >
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 03:24
KuRi KuRi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Chris
Great mod. Thanx
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 03:51
FrozenCreations FrozenCreations is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
yeah !!! really useful!!!

*install!!*

this is probally a stupid question!!!

screens? if there are any

what about eliete anon, proxies

Last edited by FrozenCreations; 28 Aug 2005 at 03:54.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 04:56
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
There is not really much to show in a screen shot, I'm sure you know what an ip address looks like. Obviously anon proxies do not pass on the http variables, so no, you won't detect them (which is why they called anonymous proxies .......)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 06:48
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Call me X
I have it instaled with no errors...but how do I know this is working. I don;t see the red icons showing up anywhere on my board. For example AOL uses proxies so wouldn;t the red icon show up for an AOL user?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 13:38
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Xplorer4x4
I have it instaled with no errors...but how do I know this is working. I don;t see the red icons showing up anywhere on my board. For example AOL uses proxies so wouldn;t the red icon show up for an AOL user?
Sadly, No. AOL use proxies that don't pass on the originating IP (which is very poor and annoying, but what do you expect from such a crap company) so they are not detected as such. I don't know what non uk ISP's use them as we are uk based - I believe shaw cable do.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 13:50
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Call me X
Originally Posted by Paul M
Sadly, No. AOL use proxies that don't pass on the originating IP (which is very poor and annoying, but what do you expect from such a crap company) so they are not detected as such. I don't know what non uk ISP's use them as we are uk based - I believe shaw cable do.
Why do you think there lossing a customer at the end of the year.

Now bassicly if this traces a proxie the red IP icon atached in the zip file will show up instead of the regular one...right?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 14:02
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Xplorer4x4
Now bassicly if this traces a proxie the red IP icon atached in the zip file will show up instead of the regular one...right?
Correct (obviously this only applies to posts since the hack was installed).
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 14:06
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Call me X
Originally Posted by Paul M
Correct (obviously this only applies to posts since the hack was installed).
Thanks and one final question..will the icon take affect on ALL my skins seeing as some refer to diffrent directories for buttons?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 14:30
hotrod1 hotrod1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Great mod, thanks but you need to change the directions so that you modify the includes/class_core.php file.
__________________
Need any help with your vbulletin forum? Need to install your forum and/or hacks? Then feel free to PM me.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 15:21
Valter Valter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Nice mod, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 15:53
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Xplorer4x4
Thanks and one final question..will the icon take affect on ALL my skins seeing as some refer to diffrent directories for buttons?
No, you will have to add the image to any other style button folders.

Originally Posted by hotrod1
Great mod, thanks but you need to change the directions so that you modify the includes/class_core.php file.
Possibly, there is only one class_core.php. I'll think about it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 20:12
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Call me X
Ahh ok, just one more question, seriously this time , do you know of a proxie surfer I can use to test this method?

Thanks for all your help Paul.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 28 Aug 2005, 20:12
thc34 thc34 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Great mod. Thanx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: