Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 26 Oct 2014, 14:36
Actualidad TMA's Avatar
Actualidad TMA Actualidad TMA is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Keep or remove Vbseo?

Hello everyone.

I would like to hear some opinions about keeping or removing vbseo. Right now everything is working without problems and I if I have to delete it is due to big security problem.

If I delete it, is easy to reorganize the mess generated by the uninstall?

I'm running 4.2.2 Pl2 vbseo 3.6.1

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26 Oct 2014, 14:39
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
remove and use dbtech seo its better
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26 Oct 2014, 18:51
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Remove and keep your fingers from other seo software. I removed vBSEO in June and have not had any negative effects.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Oct 2014, 00:11
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Is there a security issue with it enabled right now?
If it's working I wouldn't change anything for now.
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Oct 2014, 07:08
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Since I have removed it, I don't monitor security issues for vBSEO anymore. But there have plenty of security issues in the past, and I seem to remember at least one serious since they vanished. Anyway: Of course you can keep it up and running, but you need to be prepared to remove it on very short notice if an issue pops up. I chose to do a controlled, well prepared removal instead, and have not suffered any setbacks on the google front. If anything, my seo has improved (seasonally adjusted).
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27 Oct 2014, 17:30
Actualidad TMA's Avatar
Actualidad TMA Actualidad TMA is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by Brandon Sheley View Post
Is there a security issue with it enabled right now?
If it's working I wouldn't change anything for now.
That is what i want to know, because i've been locking for in this forum and I haven't found any thread or topic talking about it.

Cellarius, could you tell me which steps to follow? Can you give me a link? I'd appreciate it.

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Oct 2014, 20:13
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Well, it's not all that difficult. You just need to make sure you have proper 301 redirection rules in your .htaccess file for everything that is important. I did it manually using one of the plenty redirection testers available online (I have a custom url structure). There also is some sort of generator that creates redirection rules if you upload your settings xml file.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27 Oct 2014, 23:08
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Either get DBSEO, or get rid of all SEO mods all together.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Oct 2014, 00:40
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
vBSEO works fine for me. I made some of my own edits to fix up a few things and get it working with vB4. If you have it, I say keep it rather than spending even more cash getting a newer SEO mod.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28 Oct 2014, 01:39
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Originally Posted by FreshFroot View Post
vBSEO works fine for me. I made some of my own edits to fix up a few things and get it working with vB4. If you have it, I say keep it rather than spending even more cash getting a newer SEO mod.
You should move to a SUPPORTED AND SECURE seo mod, if you want to keep it. But don't stay on vBSEO, there were unpatched exploits prior to them closing, and no one is continuing to patch the code. Why leave yourself open for that?
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Oct 2014, 21:34
Actualidad TMA's Avatar
Actualidad TMA Actualidad TMA is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by Zachery View Post
You should move to a SUPPORTED AND SECURE seo mod, if you want to keep it. But don't stay on vBSEO, there were unpatched exploits prior to them closing, and no one is continuing to patch the code. Why leave yourself open for that?
I know that I should move to a product updated and secure, but, nowadays my forum with vbseo is working 100%... and I don't want to touch the urls and get everuthing screwed up... loosing all the google ranking.

I dont know what to do.

vBSEO works fine for me. I made some of my own edits to fix up a few things and get it working with vB4. If you have it, I say keep it rather than spending even more cash getting a newer SEO mod.
Security fix? Could you explain what you did? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Oct 2014, 21:37
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Zachery Woods
Originally Posted by Actualidad TMA View Post
I know that I should move to a product updated and secure, but, nowadays my forum with vbseo is working 100%... and I don't want to touch the urls and get everuthing screwed up... loosing all the google ranking.

I dont know what to do.



Security fix? Could you explain what you did? Thanks!
DBSEO supports the vBSEO settings 100%, it is a 1:1 transition. You can switch and be running in just a little bit.
__________________
Looking for ImpEx?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Oct 2014, 22:21
HM666's Avatar
HM666 HM666 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Real name: Len Kaiser
Originally Posted by Zachery View Post
DBSEO supports the vBSEO settings 100%, it is a 1:1 transition. You can switch and be running in just a little bit.
Yep, agreed. I converted a client's forum from vBSEO to DBSEO and it worked just fine, all the URL's were converted and everything including the settings were picked up for the most part. So you should be fine using a product that has support for it and is not defunct.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Aug 2015, 12:28
JesWhite JesWhite is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Real name: Jes
DBSEO based VBSEO...
but all products coming with pro
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Aug 2015, 18:17
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Originally Posted by Actualidad TMA View Post
nowadays my forum with vbseo is working 100%...
I wouldn't touch it then but keep it in mind for a major forum upgrade & also know that your forum will have security holes.
I wouldn't move to another paid seo mod either. It wasn't all that long ago and we'd be having this discussion but vbseo was the one everyone suggested. (including myself)
Who's to say that dbseo will be around tomorrow?
I'd either stick with it, or remove it completely and setup 301's like mentioned above. Or option C is to change forum platforms to a more modern code where you don't need a "seo mod" to achieve what vbseo provided.
__________________

Love and support one another #vote2020
I offer Managed IT Services in Kansas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Global rel canonical for vbulletin as vBSEO v1.1 final, remove duplicate content abdobasha2004 vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 20 29 Oct 2014 13:14



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: