Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 16:37
Steve Hoffmeyer Steve Hoffmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Adding a link to the navigation bar

I just upgraded to vB4 and lost the custom navigation bar (and all my custom colors and styles) that I had painfully modified in my previous vB3 version.

Right now I'm looking to add ONE SIMPLE LINK to the default navigation bar (the bar that shows "New Posts Private Messages FAQ etc etc") before the "New Posts" link that says "Home" and links to the home page on my site.

Unfortunately I'm not a vBulletin programmer and I'm a total newbie when it comes to this type of customization/modification, so please give me very detailed instructions.

PLEASE don't refer me to the Articles forum, or tell me that there are a number of good threads already out there. I've already done a number of searches and found them all VERY confusing and not detailed or specific enough for my simple problem.

Thanks in advance!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 16:50
Charlie98902 Charlie98902 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Here you go - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=228492
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 17:01
Steve Hoffmeyer Steve Hoffmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Hi Charlie98902,
Thanks for you help, but I've already looked at that thread and could not figure out how to adapt it to my needs.

Sorry, but as I said I'm NOT a programmer and I dont know what "sample.php?" means.

What I need is detailed instructions on how to insert the word "Home" on the navigation bar and have it linked to "http:\\www.MySite.com"

Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 17:10
Charlie98902 Charlie98902 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

There is the code but to place it you'll want to read how to put it in the right place, this isn't hard as I use it too. Of course replace the mysite.com part to the right URL. Then copy and paste.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 17:27
Steve Hoffmeyer Steve Hoffmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Once again, thanks Charlie, but I need to have detailed instructions on EXACTLY where the right place to put it is, and EXACTLY how to put it there.

Thanks,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 17:30
Charlie98902 Charlie98902 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Find in the navbar template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Don't forget to replace yoursite.com part. This is the easiest way to do it and the only. There is no plugin to do this for you.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 17:56
noppid noppid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
To avoid having the edit the template you can do this too. Both are only going to appear when the forum tab is active.

Populate $template_hook['navbar_start'] using hook process_templates_complete.

Create a new plugin on hook process_templates_complete

Use this php code. Edit the link as necessary.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Add a photo gallery garage to your auto forum and get noticed by your members. Find out how at the vBulletin Computer Help Forum.
An informed rider makes their first destination the motorcycle forum at rider info.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 18:09
Charlie98902 Charlie98902 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Yep works well too. Can you change
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add your personal url there instead too? As I use the mod I provided here but for another purpose.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 18:11
Steve Hoffmeyer Steve Hoffmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Hi Charlie,
That worked, but there's two problems:

1) The words "New Posts" are highlighted
2) When I move the cursor over the words "New Posts" both "Home" and "New Posts get underligned.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 18:14
noppid noppid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Originally Posted by Charlie98902 View Post
Yep works well too. Can you change
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add your personal url there instead too? As I use the mod I provided here but for another purpose.
Sure, you can make it anything you want.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

For instance.
__________________
Add a photo gallery garage to your auto forum and get noticed by your members. Find out how at the vBulletin Computer Help Forum.
An informed rider makes their first destination the motorcycle forum at rider info.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 19:13
Steve Hoffmeyer Steve Hoffmeyer is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Charlie: Thank you so much for that line of code!!!

With a little playing around, I was able to put it in the header underneath the logo and it works great there.

I REALLY appreciate your assistance.

Sincerely,
Steve
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24 Jun 2010, 20:54
Charlie98902 Charlie98902 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Thanks noppid. You're welcome steve, glad I was able to help some.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:46.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: