Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Countdown (Forum, Sideblock, vBa CMPS, Multiple Countdowns) Details »
Countdown (Forum, Sideblock, vBa CMPS, Multiple Countdowns)
Mod Version: 1.0.4, by Gemma (Coder/Designer) Gemma is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (19 votes - 4.89 average) Installs: 146
Released: 12 Jul 2011 Last Update: 22 Oct 2011 Downloads: 874
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

Someone PM'd me last week asking for the code I use for my countdown sideblock. So here is the basic countdown (doesn't include the images/blurb that screenshots/demo show)

This countdown uses the users PC clock and calendar to count down to a time and date.

What is it?
A sideblock on your forum index to countdown to a specific date/event.

1. Upload the contents on the zip archive to your server. Keeping the file structure as is.

countdown/js/jquery-1.4.1.js
countdown/js/jquery.lwtCountdown-1.0.js
countdown/js/misc.js
countdown/style/main.css

Change the settings of the countdown/js folder to CHMOD 775

2. Go to AdminCP > Forums and Moderators > Forum Block Manager > Add Block

Title - Countdown
Description - whatever you want
Content Type - HTML
Content - <div></div>
Template to use - block_countdown

3. Go to AdminCP > Styles and Templates > Style Manager > Add New Template

Title - block_countdown

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change this part to set the countdown target date


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save the block.

4. Go to AdminCP > Style and Templates > Style Manager > StyleVars > forum_sidebar_width and change the width to atleast 270px

You can change the colour of the digits/text to suit your forum by changing references to #5C7099 in the main.css file

If you are using vBOptimise go to AdminCP > vBOptimise > Flush Cache

To have more than one countdown

Create a new template called block_countdown2


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Set the targetDate data and save

For reference if making more blocks - (jq('#countdownX').countDown({ and <div id="countdownX"> are used to call additional countdowns).

Create a new forum block in the same way as before but make the template to use: block_countdown2

To Display on vB Advanced CMPS - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=122

To show multiple countdowns on forumhome (screenshots) - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=158

If you want to add images/videos etc to your countdown all you need to do is add some basic code to the template. Search for </script><div> and after that you would add something like.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you are upgrading from a previous version, upload the contents of the zip file and replace the template(s) you are using (ie block_countdown, block_countdown2, adv_portal_countdown etc). Set the targetDate.

History
1.0.4 - Reverted back to using jquery-1.4.1.js
1.0.3 - Now using jquery-1.6.1.min.js and added noConflict to script
1.0.2 - Cleaned up code, added instructions to zip. Also instruction within thread on how to make CMS widget or have more than one countdown.

If anyone wants to further develop any of my addons, you are free to do so.


Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sideblock.jpg
Views:	2476
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	130953   Click image for larger version

Name:	arcade_count.jpg
Views:	1321
Size:	137.3 KB
ID:	133705   Click image for larger version

Name:	count.jpg
Views:	1037
Size:	70.8 KB
ID:	133706   Click image for larger version

Name:	countdown2.jpg
Views:	1173
Size:	43.9 KB
ID:	133714  

Click image for larger version

Name:	countdowns.jpg
Views:	1241
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	133751  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks Show Poll In Forum Sideblock Badshah93 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 169 03 Apr 2017 07:27
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks Tinypic Uploader Forum SideBlock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 22 15 Oct 2015 11:49
vBulletin CMS Widgets IMDb Search Forum SideBlock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 8 19 Dec 2012 09:42
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks MegaUpload FileBOx Forum Sideblock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 9 15 Mar 2012 01:20
vBulletin Forum Sideblocks Imageshack Uploader Forum SideBlock desi-boy vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 3 22 Feb 2010 20:45

  #241  
Old 04 Feb 2013, 18:53
marccap's Avatar
marccap marccap is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
There is alot of coding around on this mod - Whats the final coding for example for 4.2 cms homepage widget

I get this - Image

Last edited by marccap; 05 Feb 2013 at 17:56.
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 08 May 2013, 08:42
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I love this mod! I was looking for it so long...

is it possible to add milliseconds as well to the timer??

Update1: I can see this css code many times in the original code so one is enough to be on top of all code:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Update2: works great on vb4.2.1. I just wish there is a way how to incorporate more auto features like start time, inserting rss to feed the code data filling the start time for example, how many blocks to hide and others to show... or adding more button to show the hidden blocks...

Thanks

Last edited by fxdigi-cash; 09 May 2013 at 16:03.
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 09 May 2013, 14:11
DoumDoum5058 DoumDoum5058 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
It's very good work
Works on VBulletin 4.2.1
Gemma, Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 09 May 2013, 17:50
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Ok, there is a big update in here I made since I spent last 2 hours trying to add things up to this mod. You need to be aware that there are many errors in the code so I decided to post the one I fixed " no errors at all":

first, you need to insert the following links on top of the forumhome "if you want them to to be used on "forumhome" and in "header" if you want them to be used on every page:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

always make sure to add css files before js files since the opposite way cause heavy load on page when refreshed or reloaded...

here is the code for the forumhome fixed containing 6 blocks as the coder posted on his original thread:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And here is the java codes separated from the original code, you need to copy and paste them just above the html code above:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Last, but not least, you have the option to remove the css file in original post and add whatsoever inside that file to additional.css to reduce the page load and increase performance of the pages...

if you have any question about that, I will be passing by from time to time...

Cheers

Last edited by fxdigi-cash; 09 May 2013 at 18:02.
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 24 May 2013, 09:32
1320Nation 1320Nation is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Hi Gemma...

I had to install this mod again after redoing vbadvance and I can't get the counter to come off the 00's. Do you see anything wrong here?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 25 May 2013, 04:16
kylek kylek is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kyle
I think its the missing comma after the 00

Try this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 25 May 2013, 07:16
1320Nation 1320Nation is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Originally Posted by kylek View Post
I think its the missing comma after the 00

Try this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Thanks for the help but there was no change.
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 07 Jun 2013, 10:22
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Originally Posted by 1320Nation View Post
Thanks for the help but there was no change.
it is your javascript has some issue...

try out the original one and you will see it is working...

if you want to add an extra feature to the java code, then it is better to test it on jsfiddle
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 08 Jul 2013, 19:47
Grimes Grimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I really wanted to use this, but it made my browser run really slow. Is there something I can do to make it less of a resource hog? I only had one timer in the sidebar.
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 08 Feb 2015, 17:34
Stakerscorner Stakerscorner is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Is there a 3.8 version

I really like this widget but have VB3.8
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 09 Feb 2015, 22:55
concepts's Avatar
concepts concepts is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Real name: Jamale
Hello, using 4.2.2 I cannot place the Forumblock in the first position (as in the first viewed block on the left column) as it would knock every other block completely under my footer and stretched @100% instead of staying in the left position. Any idea what could be causing it, or how to fix it? (I would prefer an answer to the second) haha
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 06 Sep 2015, 22:07
SkepticalGaming SkepticalGaming is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
this is the best timer i can find, can someone tell me if it can be locked onto a specific timezone only. when i make an event everyone from every timezone sees the timer for their time ex: 6pm will be for everyone so an event at 6pm pst will show up as an event for 6pm est.

i want to start an event at 6pm pst so that means the timer will show 9pm for est. any help will be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:12.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: