Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[Scandal's] Countdown Timer BBCode Details »
[Scandal's] Countdown Timer BBCode
Mod Version: 1.0, by Scandal (Coder/Designer) Scandal is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (3 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 13
Released: 23 Aug 2015 Last Update: Never Downloads: 100
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files  

Description
This product add two new BBCodes as follows:
[COUNTDOWN]00:00:00:00[/COUNTDOWN]
... and
[ECOUNTDOWN]00:00:00:00[/ECOUNTDOWN]
The string inside the BBCode is:
DAYS:HOURS:MINUTES:SECONDS, that you specify when make a post.

The results is a live countdown timer based on a specified Timezone! See screenshots!

But what's the difference between [COUNTDOWN] and [ECOUNTDOWN]?
COUNTDOWN has a start date-time, the date-time the item is posted.
As many times you edit the message, countdown timer will not change its start date.

ECOUNTDOWN is a countdown timer which will restart each time you edit a post! See it in action!


::EXAMPLE::

Let's say you make a post at: 1:00PM with bbcode:
[COUNTDOWN]00:02:00:00[/COUNTDOWN]

When the post saved, the countdown timer will start from:
00:02:00:00
and will countdown...
00:01:59:59...
00:01:59:58... etc
and will end at 3:00PM.

So the countdown timer will run at post time + the value you set inside the bbcode.
As times you edit the post, the countdown timer will end at 3:00PM 'cause is [COUNTDOWN], not [ECOUNTDOWN].



The same if at 1:00PM you make a post with bbcode:
[ECOUNTDOWN]00:02:00:00[/ECOUNTDOWN]
.. but if for example you edit the post at 2:00PM and hit save, the countdown timer will start again:
00:01:59:59...
00:01:59:58... etc
... and will end at 4:00PM

So in "E" case, we have the edit time (if an edit exists, otherwise we have the initial post time) + the value you set inside the bbcode. As many times you edit a post with "E", the timer will start again.
This bbcode can work on display of:
  • Forum Posts
  • Forum Announcements
  • Social Group Messages
  • Private Messages
  • Profile Visitor Messages

Installation
1. Upload all files of /upload folder to your forum root.
2. Import *xml product and check Settings.
Done!!

Credits to akz645 on vbulletin.org for his idea and his paid support for the development of this product!!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	countdowntimer1.jpg
Views:	210
Size:	119.7 KB
ID:	153184   Click image for larger version

Name:	countdowntimer2.png
Views:	377
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	153185   Click image for larger version

Name:	countdowntimer3.png
Views:	248
Size:	25.6 KB
ID:	153186  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 23 Aug 2015, 22:46
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Thanks for the Mod
Works on vBulletin 4.2.3

@Members
If the countdown timer is a few hours off from what you intended when you post, that means you have to adjust the timezone from the adminCP settings until it is correct.

Note:
I tried it on 2 different servers. One of them isn't very fast, so the timer often doesn't work properly- it shows sometimes when I refresh, but most of the times it doesn't. However, it did work most of the time on VM. I'm assuming that's because the thread has too many images (design/post heavy), so the timer stays stuck at 00:00:00:00 due to the server not processing the page cache correctly (something along those lines).
Edit: It turns out it was because I had activated cloudflare on my webhost, which doubled the cache of the entire forum. Hence that caused the entire forum to slow down/not load correctly.

However on my quicker webhost server, it worked without any problems. I doubt anybody here will have any problems, if you aren't a free user on a webhost. Just thought I'd mention it, incase somebody has this problem in the future.

Last edited by akz645; 15 Sep 2015 at 04:44.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 Aug 2015, 14:04
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
When you write about start time, do you mean end time, time when timer will reach end (ie. 00:00:00:00)?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 Aug 2015, 14:55
Scandal's Avatar
Scandal Scandal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peter
Originally Posted by Alan_SP View Post
When you write about start time, do you mean end time, time when timer will reach end (ie. 00:00:00:00)?
hmm yes,
let's say you make a post at: 1:00PM with bbcode:
[COUNTDOWN]00:02:00:00[/COUNTDOWN]
When the post saved, the countdown timer will start from:
00:02:00:00
and will countdown...
00:01:59:59...
00:01:59:58... etc
and will end at 3:00PM.

So the countdown timer will run at post time + the value you set inside the bbcode.
As times you edit the post, the countdown timer will end at 3:00PM 'cause is [COUNTDOWN], not [ECOUNTDOWN].



The same if at 1:00PM you make a post with bbcode:
[ECOUNTDOWN]00:02:00:00[/ECOUNTDOWN]
.. but if for example you edit the post at 2:00PM and hit save, the countdown timer will start again:
00:01:59:59...
00:01:59:58... etc
... and will end at 4:00PM

So in "E" case, we have the edit time (if an edit exists, otherwise we have the initial post time) + the value you set inside the bbcode. As many times you edit a post with "E", the timer will start again.

Hope now its more clear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24 Aug 2015, 15:40
Bastien's Avatar
Bastien Bastien is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
If activated on my board, I can't post any new thread/post because the texatarea disappear (WYSIWYG mode activated !)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Aug 2015, 16:03
Scandal's Avatar
Scandal Scandal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peter
Originally Posted by Bastien View Post
If activated on my board, I can't post any new thread/post because the texatarea disappear (WYSIWYG mode activated !)
Be sure you have upload all necessary files. There are an *xml product to import and a /upload folder, on the package with files. You do not upload the "upload" folder as it is, but its contents, to your forum root.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24 Aug 2015, 16:42
Bastien's Avatar
Bastien Bastien is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
It seems Filezilla didn't upload the content whereas I asked it to do ...

Sorry for the unpleasantness and thank you for your answer
It works
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24 Aug 2015, 16:51
Scandal's Avatar
Scandal Scandal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Peter
Great!

No prob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06 Sep 2015, 21:37
SkepticalGaming SkepticalGaming is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
can i put any code into a forum block to work in there?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Dec 2015, 12:46
tim.liton tim.liton is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
@scandal thank you for the great plugin. Is there a option to show the ecounter in the threads where are listed? This will be perfect!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12 Dec 2015, 01:15
Mangahaven Mangahaven is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
How much server impact does this have on CPU executions?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Dec 2015, 02:05
Mark.uG Mark.uG is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
When i post the timer i can see it counting down but no one else is this how it supposed to be everyone had permission to see it

Seems as it wont go across skins so if you have a site with multi skins it wont work for some reason.

Last edited by Mark.uG; 12 Dec 2015 at 02:11.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13 Dec 2015, 18:27
tim.liton tim.liton is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I have made a ecounter to run for 10 days and STOPPED working after 2 days. Am adding now another ecounter but is not working anymore. I have not changed nothing. Someone else facing the same issue?

Just hitted the uninstall button is not worth to add something that is not supported.

Last edited by tim.liton; 13 Dec 2015 at 18:44.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13 Dec 2015, 18:56
akz645 akz645 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Still works fine for me. (vBulletin 4.2.3 & 4.2.2).

Originally Posted by tim.liton View Post
I have made a ecounter to run for 10 days and STOPPED working after 2 days. Am adding now another ecounter but is not working anymore. I have not changed nothing. Someone else facing the same issue?

Just hitted the uninstall button is not worth to add something that is not supported.
I'll make a 11 day timer now (Ecountdown & Countdown) and see what happens.

Last edited by akz645; 13 Dec 2015 at 19:11.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15 Dec 2015, 14:00
tim.liton tim.liton is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Originally Posted by akz645 View Post
Still works fine for me. (vBulletin 4.2.3 & 4.2.2).



I'll make a 11 day timer now (Ecountdown & Countdown) and see what happens.
Any news?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: