Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Auto-Create Discussion Thread (when posting new thread) Details »
Auto-Create Discussion Thread (when posting new thread)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Tekton (Member) Tekton is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.6 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 4
Released: 27 Jan 2005 Last Update: 27 Jan 2005 Downloads: 20
Not Supported  

___________
If you installed before 01/28/05, you should search through the added code to newthread.php and replace $vboptions[homeurl] with $vboptions[bburl]. There is one occurrence of this.

ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ

Discussion Threads Requested Here

Estimated Time: ~5 minutes [Any questions? This thread only please ]

What is it: Adds a button in the new thread creation that will auto-create a discussion thread. Useful for posting in a forum that is locked to normal users and gives them a place to discuss it.

Options: Global ON/OFF, Start Forum, End Forum, Allow Discussion Thread creation by usergroup or user, text to addon to the original thread, text to add before or after Discussion Thread title, and starting text in the new Discussion Thread. (SEE IMAGES)

Images:
Possible Changes: using the vboptions instead of a seperate (kinda sloppy) page to set the values. I dislike vboptions, but anyone can feel free to do this! Also, multiple usergroups and users instead of just a single (not too hard) ANYONE IS FREE TO CHANGE THIS OR MAKE IT BETTER!

// ###### INSTALLATION ######
Currently, I'm storing the data in a row on the adminutil table (it's kinda empty).
You can run the attached file (discussion_maker_install.php) from your admin directory, or just run this vB query for initial setup:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

OR this SQL query (not tested)

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


// ###### SETUP ######
Place the attached file (discussion_maker.php) into your admin directory.
____________________
OPTIONAL: If you want a link to it from your admin panel; in your admin index.php find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add AFTER:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
In your newthread template, add "$discussion_maker" (without quotes) wherever you want it to show up in the template. (as long as it's inside the <form> tags)
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
In newthread.php, find:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add AFTER:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

// =======================

DONE! Make sure you configure the setup in discussion_maker.php. Tell me if there's any problems; it's possible I missed something in the instructions. This hack has been tested and does work~ Use at your own risk! (I'm not responsible, etc etc)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 27 Jan 2005, 10:27
Tekton Tekton is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Real name: Jason S
Additionals

If you want to change what the button says, there are two things you need to change in the newthread.php (should probably have been one, but oh well ^^)
Find:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

//------
Find:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change the value tag to the exact same text as your changed above.


ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
If you don't want to add that large amount of code to your newthread.php, you can add this instead instead:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then, place the attached file into your includes folder~
Attached Files
File Type: php functions_discussion_maker.php (3.2 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Currently: (vb3~)
Stockmarket Minigame - Discussion Threads - Secure Login BETA (IP + bit mask)

Planned for personal use:
Helpful System, Favorites, Super Announcement, Subscriptions (different), HostingCP, Team Gather, psuedo-UserCP, and Member Transfer

Last edited by Tekton; 27 Jan 2005 at 11:19.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Jan 2005, 11:03
nexialys
Guest
 
hum.. this hack is amazing for me... THANKS Tekton for the idea !!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Jan 2005, 13:00
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Hi Tekton,

pretty cool. Thanks for writing a hack out of my suggestion.

This thing is not clear to me:
If you don't want to add that large amount of code to your newthread.php, you can add this instead instead:
Can you tell us where to place this line and what else you then don't have to add somewhere else?

I am looking forward to see your pseudo-UserCP and the HostingCP.
I'll write you a PM about the last thing.

Thanks man!
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Jan 2005, 16:02
Tekton Tekton is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Real name: Jason S
Hi. Basically I mean placing the last bit of code (the really long part) into a seperate php file and then just including it into the newthread.php with the 'require_once' function mentioned above. The code in the functions_discussion_maker.php is the same as listed in that last one (only change is that it's wrapped in php tags - <?php ?)
__________________
Currently: (vb3~)
Stockmarket Minigame - Discussion Threads - Secure Login BETA (IP + bit mask)

Planned for personal use:
Helpful System, Favorites, Super Announcement, Subscriptions (different), HostingCP, Team Gather, psuedo-UserCP, and Member Transfer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Jan 2005, 17:16
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Very great hack. Its working fine. Thanks man
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Jan 2005, 20:15
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Bug Found!

Hi,

there is a small bug in

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This construct
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

makes links like:
http://www.url.comshowthread.php

There is a / missing and also the forum directory.

For example:
My board must have this link: http://www.url.com/forum/showthread.php

I changed this:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

which is working fine for me.
If another user has installed his board in http://www.url.com/board change
the above /forum/ to /board/

__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Jan 2005, 20:21
Tekton Tekton is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Real name: Jason S
Ah, yeah sorry we use the base directory for all of our forums~ ^^;;

Replace $vboptions[homeurl] with $vboptions[bburl]
__________________
Currently: (vb3~)
Stockmarket Minigame - Discussion Threads - Secure Login BETA (IP + bit mask)

Planned for personal use:
Helpful System, Favorites, Super Announcement, Subscriptions (different), HostingCP, Team Gather, psuedo-UserCP, and Member Transfer

Last edited by Tekton; 28 Jan 2005 at 20:25.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31 Jul 2005, 18:20
MoogleCC MoogleCC is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Text in this field will be added to the bottom of the original thread in the form of a link that will take the user to the Discussion thread. (cannot use '~')
but this doesn`t work
maybe because of 3.0.7 ????
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 Oct 2005, 10:03
jluerken's Avatar
jluerken jluerken is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Germany
Tekton could you create this also for vB 3.5?
__________________
Ciao jluerken
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: