Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Adsense below Recent Comments List on Blog Home Details »
Adsense below Recent Comments List on Blog Home
Mod Version: 1.00, by StarBuG (Designer) StarBuG is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 15
Released: 10 Sep 2007 Last Update: 10 Sep 2007 Downloads: 55
Not Supported Template Edits  

Hi

To continue my Adsense modification series I decided to make my blog placements public.

What this hack does:
This hack adds a standard 468x60px Adsense Banner below the Recent Comments List on the Blog start page.

Install:

In template blog_home find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and add below:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now you just need to customize the adsense code marked with:

<!-- 468x60 Banner after Recent Comments List on Blog Home -->

replace "YOUR PUB ID HERE" with your pub-ID
and change the colors to fit your forum colors

If you have the "Template Modification System" (TMS) installed, I have attached a TMS XML for you. Remember to do the changes!

DEMO: http://www.patientenfragen.net/blog.php

Please click install and leave feedback, if you use this mod. THX

StarBuG

If you did not register for an Adsense account yet but you plan to, feel free to contact me. If you register via my referral I am willing to help you get the most out of your adsense placement by assisting you during the setup process and implementing the best adsense modifications. Just write me a Private message.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	adsense_below_recent_comments_blog_home.jpg
Views:	368
Size:	32.0 KB
ID:	69643  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements Add Recent Blog/Site Feed under Postbit. Displays Recent Blog feeds or Site Feeds. a1whs.com vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 17 10 May 2011 21:05
vBulletin Blog Adsense Banner below Blog Entry and above Comments StarBuG vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 12 19 Nov 2008 19:58

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 08:01
PoetJA-1975's Avatar
PoetJA-1975 PoetJA-1975 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Real name: Jacquii Cooke
Great - Thanx again for the sharing

JAcquii.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 11:37
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
hmm - thanks for sharing, but I did the manual edits indicated in blog_home and instead of coming out under the comments it is below the "recent entries" box on /forum/blog.php. When I go to /forum/blog.php?b=1#comment2 I don't see any adsense code listed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 17:51
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
it is on the blogs homepage not the comments of one specific entry.
Maybe my description is a little imprecise
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 18:00
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
ok - then it works perfectly I was a bit confused by the description...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26 Oct 2007, 01:42
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Need help with your great hacks

Hello StarBug,

Thanks for this hack as well as the other hacks in blog navigation and blog show entry. They seem to be really good.

I have tried them in my test forums and yet to implement in live for want of some help.

My forum style color is a little purplish. I am attaching screenshots of my blog pages with your hacks installed. The hacks display Google ads in blue color that doesn't go very well with my style color.

Is it possible for you to help me with the following tweaking:

1. How do I change the dotted lines around Google ads box into normal black line?
2. How do I change the background color, surrounding color of the ads to merge with the color of my style?

I am attaching screenshots of my test site showing the ads displayed by your hacks.

I am not very good in programming and need help.

Thank you.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Blog_home.jpg (85.3 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg Blog_navigation.jpg (92.7 KB, 19 views)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26 Oct 2007, 08:22
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by induslady View Post
1. How do I change the dotted lines around Google ads box into normal black line?

This would be one possibility:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Originally Posted by induslady View Post
2. How do I change the background color, surrounding color of the ads to merge with the color of my style?
You can go into your Adsense and create your own adsense banner (468x60px) with your own colors, channel, etc. and replace the one I put there.

or replace the color part with this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Or change the RGB Codes (#2F251C is one, for google adsense without the #) to your liking.

StarBuG
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26 Oct 2007, 17:01
SVTCobraLTD SVTCobraLTD is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Just curious on what the purpose would be to add Adsense to your forum? Is there a benefit to it. This really has nothing to do with the templete file but was curious why it would be done.

SVT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Oct 2007, 17:48
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by SVTCobraLTD View Post
Just curious on what the purpose would be to add Adsense to your forum? Is there a benefit to it. This really has nothing to do with the templete file but was curious why it would be done.

SVT
to make $
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27 Oct 2007, 22:42
SVTCobraLTD SVTCobraLTD is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Originally Posted by yoyoyoyo View Post
to make $
How does that work?

SVT
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Oct 2007, 04:09
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hello StarBug,

Thank you for the tweaks you suggested. The tborder and color settings for the Google ads are now perfect and goes well with the style I use in my site.

I need one more help...if I may ask!

The ads showing up in between the blog entry and the comments (using the code in blog_show_entry) is either getting wrapped or the ad link is missing.

I tried this in Firefox - the ad link (URL) is not showing up.
I also tried in IE - the ad is getting wrapped and is incomplete.
I am attaching screenshots below.

Please help! Many thanks in advance.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IE-Google_ad_wrapped_incomplete.jpg (124.2 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Firefox-Google_URL_not_showing.jpg (171.4 KB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Oct 2007, 16:13
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I have no clue what you mean.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 19:02
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Please visit this link http://www.indusladies.com/forums/blog.php

using Internet explorer & Firefox browsers.

Please refere the Google ads below recent entries and recent comments section at the end of the page. You will see that the Google ads (when viewed in IE) are displaying one after the other and the 2nd ad is cut off. The height of the ad box isn't enough to fit.

If you see the same set of ads (when viewed in Firefox), the ads are displaying side by side within the box, but still the URL is cut off in the ads because of the height of the box.

Please can you help in this regards. Many Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 19:54
StarBuG's Avatar
StarBuG StarBuG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
The box has no height.
It is defined by the ad inside.
It looks ok to me.

Some ads don't display URLs if the ad text uses 2 lines.
It is a standard 468x60px banner.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31 Oct 2007, 20:47
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
StarBug,

I too don't see the issue with all the ads. The wrapping or cut-off of the ads happen only at certain instances. If you do a refresh repeatedly, you will notice one such instance for the ad showing up.

I know this might not be a problem with your hack, but jsut want to know if any tweaking in the code can fix the issue. I have also written to Google.

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:33.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: