Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
All Topic / Master Forums - View Threads from Multiple Forums in a Master Forums Details »
All Topic / Master Forums - View Threads from Multiple Forums in a Master Forums
Mod Version: 2.1, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (8 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 46
Released: 28 Jun 2010 Last Update: 03 Mar 2011 Downloads: 172
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

This a complete and total upgrade to version 2.0!

This mod is now an importable product, there are no more manual file edits.

In addition this mod will be able to auto edit your templates if you run the standard threadbit template, otherwise there are instructions in the zip file for manual template edits if needed.

What does this mod do? - Basically this is only the most awesomest mod ever for vBulletin. You can now view threads from other forums in "Master Forums" you designate.

For example on my site "Off Topic" is my "Master Forum" and virtually all other forums are assigned to the Master Forum offering user's the ability to browse 1 forum while seeing threads from many others.

New in version 2.0: You can now have multiple master forums.

See the screen shots for an example.

All instructions are included in the zip file.

As pointed out by phpdesk you must have at least 1 thread in your master forum for this to work.

I have tested this on VB 3.8.6 and am sure it will work on all 3.8 versions. I also strongly believe it will work as far back as VB 3.6 but can't test it myself.

This will not work for vBulletin 4.0, do not try to install it. The VB4 Version is here.

If you used the old version revert your forumdisplay.php file back to it's original condition before installing.

Please Mark as Installed if you use this.

You can mostly ignore all posts in this thread up to post #28. Old posts are not longer relevant to this new version. (Note: post #7 is still relevant if you have only 1 master forum.)

Upgrade to Version 2.1 (March 3, 2011)
Fixes a bug where the master forum wouldn't display as many pages as there were posts.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ss_masterforum_set.jpg
Views:	611
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	124702   Click image for larger version

Name:	ss_masterforum_vb3.jpg
Views:	1180
Size:	137.3 KB
ID:	124703  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #46  
Old 10 Aug 2011, 16:39
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
This mod does not affect anything on Forumdisplay. The thread counts remain the same because the threads really are in their original forums, this mod simply lets you see threads from multiple forums in one- it doesn't move or copy the actual thread.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.

Last edited by BirdOPrey5; 10 Aug 2011 at 19:03.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 10 Aug 2011, 16:59
0ptima 0ptima is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
thanks for the info. What does these hooks, forumdisplay_query_threadscount and
forumdisplay_query_threadid do?
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 10 Aug 2011, 19:07
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Sorry I thought you were talking about forumhome earlier. What I meant to say is this mod does not affect forumhome. The hooks you mention change the database query to select all threads from all forums selected as part of the master forum.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.

Last edited by BirdOPrey5; 10 Aug 2011 at 21:08.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 10 Aug 2011, 19:58
0ptima 0ptima is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
I was talking about forumhome.... oh well, its a neat mod anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 15 Aug 2011, 19:31
Undertaker #59 Undertaker #59 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quick question before I see if this will work for me.

In your screen shot, it shows the new thread button. How does that work? In which forum will the new thread appear?
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 15 Aug 2011, 20:42
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
The new thread appears in the master forum.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 15 Aug 2011, 20:57
Undertaker #59 Undertaker #59 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
I'll have to test it out, but I am wondering if I can not allow new threads in this forum, but still allow replies. Basically I want to use this mod as a way to view and reply to threads from multiple forums, but I want new threads to be placed in the proper forum for those who choose not to use the master forum view and view the forums singly.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 15 Aug 2011, 21:06
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Each thread remains in its own forum... When someone is viewing the master forum the "New Thread" button will put a thread in the Master Forum as if ti was any other forum.

If someone clicks on a thread that is shown in the Master Forum but is from another forum, say Forum 2, then once the user clicks on it they will be in Forum 2. If they use the Forum Jump menu for example they will be taken "back" to Forum 2. That's why on my forum I edited the Jump Menu to include a link back to my master forum at all times.

Best way to understand is just to try it.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 20 Aug 2011, 09:04
punchbowl punchbowl is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Brilliant mod. Just testing it on 3.8 but hopefully it'll bring order to chaos when we upgrade to vb4 too.

Anyone tested this on the vb mobile apps/tapatalk? (I saw something about it not being compatible with tapatalk in this thread or the vb4 one)

If I wanted to force users to select a forum when they hit post new thread when in the master forum I'd have to edit the newthread.php as well as the template wouldn't I? (thinking aloud - I could do it with a plugin)

Cheers!

Last edited by punchbowl; 20 Aug 2011 at 09:34.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 20 Aug 2011, 12:15
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
I know it doesn't work with Tapatalk, not sure about vbulletin mobile app. For Tapatalk I find a lot of people use the "New Posts" feature anyway.

Yes you can edit new thread to ask where to post, but I haven't done it.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 20 Aug 2011, 15:27
Undertaker #59 Undertaker #59 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
I would love that feature (having it prompt for forum on new thread).

Anyway, downloading and installing now.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 01 Sep 2011, 04:23
hpidriver hpidriver is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Marked as installed! great mod, extremely useful thank you.

I have a question - I have a forum that is being used a master forum. Where would I edit to have the sub-forums be displayed above the threads (so the opposite as in your first example screenshot)
tia
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 01 Sep 2011, 12:22
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by hpidriver View Post
Marked as installed! great mod, extremely useful thank you.

I have a question - I have a forum that is being used a master forum. Where would I edit to have the sub-forums be displayed above the threads (so the opposite as in your first example screenshot)
tia
To do that best way would be to not use the auto template edit on the threadbit and do the manual edit instead- per the instructions:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

changes in red.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 24 Oct 2011, 21:44
James T Brock James T Brock is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
I am getting the below error. Any ideas on how to fix this?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 25 Oct 2011, 01:07
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by James T Brock View Post
I am getting the below error. Any ideas on how to fix this?


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
One of two things is the problem...

1) You have another mod using the hook forumdisplay_query_threadscount. In plugin manager see if any other plugin is using that hook and if so let me know which mod and I'll take a look.

Or

2) Are you using a modified or different forumdisplay.php file then came with your version. Please replace your forumdisplay.php with a copy from the original 3.8.5 install. (Keep a backup in case of anything.)
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:27.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: