Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Article Options
Easy Plugin developement
Andreas
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,863

Germany
by Andreas Andreas is offline 02 Oct 2005

You are developing Plugins on localhost and don't like the Plugin Manager too much because of it's limited editing capabilites and would rather like to use your favourite editor?

Then you might find the following useful:

1) Create a directory hooks in your includes directory
2) In File class_hook.php find

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace that with

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Then write your Plugin Codes as normal Files in directory hooks.
Example: hook_global_start.php for a Plugin on global_start

Note: Don't use <?php and ?>-Tags or your code won't work!
Views: 4780
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 02 Oct 2005, 07:16
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Great work Kirby. Have been walking around with the same idea, but never had time to look into it. Never would have guessed it would only need a 1 line edit.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03 Oct 2005, 09:00
Brad Brad is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I like it, many thanks Kirby.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 23:04
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
Great idea. Can I have more than one plugin in such file? Or am I supposed to fill those files with regular PHP code?
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 23:05
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
I don't understand the question ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 23:08
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
What is supposed to be in "hook_$hookname.php"? PHP codes that would otherwise be added into the plugin manager?
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 23:16
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Yes. What else should be there?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Oct 2005, 23:24
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Presumably you can do this on a remote server as well since I have an editing program that can directly edit remotle ftp files. It would be even better if it only loaded the file contents if it can't find anything in the normal hooks database.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29 Oct 2005, 00:38
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
Actually, all this is not required, as vBulletin...
http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/o..._plugin_memory
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Article Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:11.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: