Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Split Useronline on Forumhome Details »
Split Useronline on Forumhome
Mod Version: 2.0.0, by consolegaming (Member) consolegaming is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (6 votes - 4.17 average) Installs: 136
Released: 01 Jun 2008 Last Update: Never Downloads: 879
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations  

Description
Splits the User Online section on the Forum Home to allow for staff/team members and users to be separated into groups. This is a new version of Surviver's original modification which was made for vBulletin 3.6.4. This new product was made with Survivor's permission and is heavily based upon the original modification.

The original modification can be found here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=135771

Features
  • Currently allows for three different types of extra users (Team, Premium and VIP) on top of the usual members.
  • This is now controlled through the usergroup manager whereby you can select Yes or No for each of the three types of users.
  • Fixes the saving issue experienced by users of the previous modification running vBulletin 3.7.

Installation
  1. Upload all necessary files to their respective directories.
  2. Install the product XML file.
  3. Turn on the Split Useronline tool (vBulletin Options -> Forum Home Page Options -> Split Useronline - Yes.
  4. Implement small template edit (see below).
  5. Set relevant permissions for each usergroup.

Upgrade
Unfortunately anyone wishing to upgrade from the previous modification to this will be unable to. I was advised to create this as a seperate product to avoid any potential conflicts in the future, and also due to the differences in how the settings are done there would have been no way to keep the saved settings anyway.

However anyone who has already experienced the saving issue with the existing Product will have already lost their settings.

Template Edit
  1. Open the forumhome_loggedinuser template.
  2. Find:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

  3. Replace with:

    Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
    Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Author Notes
The change of location for the settings was done for two reasons: it was easier to sort out and I wanted the settings to be more logically placed. This allows for anyone with several 'team' usergroups to create new usergroups based on the permissions of an existing one therefore keeping the relevant permissions. Meaning it should make things easier in the long term.

Credit for the original modification obviously goes to Surviver as mentioned at the top. Also the credit for the above template edit goes to GamerGirl27 though I will be trying to find a solution that removes the need for any template edits.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screen1.jpg
Views:	1326
Size:	11.4 KB
ID:	81615   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen2.jpg
Views:	1240
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	81616   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen3.jpg
Views:	2914
Size:	48.2 KB
ID:	81621  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Split Useronline on Forumhome (Members / Team) Surviver vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 112 23 Sep 2009 18:02
Split ForumHome page - Custom ForumHome Design flup vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 4 19 Nov 2007 10:24
Split Forumhome into several Pages Andreas vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 43 30 May 2006 00:10

Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 17:02
Fırtına Fırtına is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Musa
Thanks
__________________
T.R
K.S.A
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 20:14
pureturk pureturk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
It didnt do anything?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 21:23
consolegaming consolegaming is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by pureturk View Post
It didnt do anything?
Firstly it needs to be activated in the vBulletin options as explained in the installation steps above and then all that needs to be done is going into the usergroup manager for the usergroups you wish to put into these groups and selecting Yes next to the particular group.

i.e. if you wish to make all admins part of the 'team' group you simply have to go: Usergroups -> Usergroup Manager -> Edit Administrators -> Then the relevant options should be at the bottom of this page. Simply select Yes next to the type you want the usergroup to be and they'll then appear separated from the normal users in the user online section. As shown in the final screenshot.

Also if the options in the Usergroup manager section don't appear then be sure you uploaded the one file properly. I included a file in the upload/includes/xml/ directory that needed to be uploaded for those options to appear.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 22:37
pureturk pureturk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Beautiful!! it works now.

Thank you .

Great hack!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 23:26
consolegaming consolegaming is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
No problem and glad to hear you like it.

I'll try and get some default settings applied i.e. Turned on by default and some default usergroups already set as part of the Team group. That should make things a bit easier to follow and give people a bit of an idea on how to use it at least. That'll probably be sometime later this week.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 02:01
pureturk pureturk is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
perhaps adding more groups would be useful..such as;

Admins:
Moderators:
Members:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 04:42
RedTrinity's Avatar
RedTrinity RedTrinity is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Also the credit for the above template edit goes to GamerGirl27 though I will be trying to find a solution that removes the need for any template edits.
Cheers mate Its a great feature, so its good to see it available and working for 3.7.
__________________
http://www.theparentsanctuary.net - Australian Parents forum
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 05:57
mktrilogy mktrilogy is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
some moderators goes to regualr members. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 09:51
killerkraft's Avatar
killerkraft killerkraft is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Greetings,

I've installed and works fine.

Just a quick question. How can i order the users inside each table, ordered by name, group ?
Because staff means admins and mod's for example. In this case i would like to have staff like this :

Staff : adminAA, adminBB, superMODAA, superMODBB, MODAA, MODBB ....
Users : userA, userB, userC .....

Thank's in advance,

KK
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 09:52
consolegaming consolegaming is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by mktrilogy View Post
some moderators goes to regualr members. Any ideas?
Are the usergroups they're in definitely included in the group? Or is there anything specific about them? i.e. are they in the usergroup as additional users whereas the ones that work are primary? Helps to find the bug if I know what situation causes the error if an error exists.

Otherwise if you'd be happy with it I'd be happy to take a look in your admincp and try and work out the problem from there?

Pureturk: For the moment you could always edit the phrase values for two (can do all three but for what you want you'd only need to change two) of the existing three groups to make them be called whatever you like. Just search for "Team", "VIP", and "Premium" and you should be able to find the relevant phrases.

On those same searches you should be able to change what it says on the usergroup manager page too if you want that to change too. the format should be "This is a ...." Usergroup" or something along those lines.

Though I think I will at some stage try and make it so you can have as many or as little groups as you want with you selecting their names. Not yet sure how I'd approach that though lol. But the above phrase edits would give you what you want for the moment.

@ killer: I think I know what you mean, you want it to put all of a particular usergroup in alphabetical order within the same section? This plugin doesn't actually control the order of the names, even in the seperate groups. The order is still fed from the system and basically I just have three variables for the different types of groups possible and add to each one any new members of that group. So it just results in three alphabetically ordered groups.

I think the best way to do what you want would be to have them as seperate groups, if you need them in the same group you'd need to find where the variable $loggedin is created and alter that to order by usergroup and name.

Last edited by consolegaming; 02 Jun 2008 at 09:58.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 09:54
killerkraft's Avatar
killerkraft killerkraft is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Originally Posted by mktrilogy View Post
some moderators goes to regualr members. Any ideas?
Hello,

I think i know the answer to that.

You must set the primary correctly for these mod's, i.e., they are mod's and regular users.

If the primary group is users they apeear as users.

KK
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 11:52
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
It would be good if you included the option to show usergroup X and it would show all users in that usergroup whether they are primary or secondary. some may want this others may not.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 18:19
consolegaming consolegaming is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by hornstar1337 View Post
It would be good if you included the option to show usergroup X and it would show all users in that usergroup whether they are primary or secondary. some may want this others may not.
Yeah I think that was something I overlooked when just trying to get it working lol. Especially when on our site the only staff who have staff usergroups as additional are when their primary one is also a staff group lol. Not something I had taken into consideration as I now have to check the usergrop's corresponding permissions.

I''ll get it sorted sometime this week so that it also looks at your additional usergroups. It will increase the processing a bit though as I'll have to make it check each usergroup. I'll do some brainstorming in the meantime though.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03 Jun 2008, 18:14
nikki712 nikki712 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by consolegaming View Post
Are the usergroups they're in definitely included in the group? Or is there anything specific about them? i.e. are they in the usergroup as additional users whereas the ones that work are primary? Helps to find the bug if I know what situation causes the error if an error exists.

Otherwise if you'd be happy with it I'd be happy to take a look in your admincp and try and work out the problem from there?

Pureturk: For the moment you could always edit the phrase values for two (can do all three but for what you want you'd only need to change two) of the existing three groups to make them be called whatever you like. Just search for "Team", "VIP", and "Premium" and you should be able to find the relevant phrases.

On those same searches you should be able to change what it says on the usergroup manager page too if you want that to change too. the format should be "This is a ...." Usergroup" or something along those lines.

Though I think I will at some stage try and make it so you can have as many or as little groups as you want with you selecting their names. Not yet sure how I'd approach that though lol. But the above phrase edits would give you what you want for the moment.

@ killer: I think I know what you mean, you want it to put all of a particular usergroup in alphabetical order within the same section? This plugin doesn't actually control the order of the names, even in the seperate groups. The order is still fed from the system and basically I just have three variables for the different types of groups possible and add to each one any new members of that group. So it just results in three alphabetically ordered groups.

I think the best way to do what you want would be to have them as seperate groups, if you need them in the same group you'd need to find where the variable $loggedin is created and alter that to order by usergroup and name.
*clicks install*

THANK YOU for updating this!!!!! I need only ONE extra group. Is there an easy way to do this?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: