Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21 May 2012, 02:30
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
1 user with multiple ranks.

Hi everyone,

I am running 4.1.12 and what i need to know is how i can assign 2 ranks (images) to one user ?

Lets say i have one super moderator & he is also a designer so i want to gave him 2 ranks at a time but i can't figured & find out anywhere. I searched it for couple of hours but no avail. If anyone can help me with this one i will really appreciate that.

I am attaching an image as an example of what i am looking for and on this forum they running 4.1.5.

Hope it help & thanks to all in advance.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 May 2012, 09:20
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Just define two ranks with fitting criteria. There's no limit on how many ranks you can apply to a user. What exactly is your problem?
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 May 2012, 14:25
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
Just define two ranks with fitting criteria. There's no limit on how many ranks you can apply to a user. What exactly is your problem?
Hi Cellarius,
My prob is that i have never done it before and i looked a way to do it properly but can't find it ..... mean step by step instructions If possible help will be appreciated.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22 May 2012, 07:35
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/user_ranks
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16 Jun 2012, 08:41
Syxguns's Avatar
Syxguns Syxguns is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Originally Posted by K!nG View Post
Hi everyone,

I am running 4.1.12 and what i need to know is how i can assign 2 ranks (images) to one user ?
Did you figure it out? I did after starting a thread on the same topic, but it was a little work to do it.

1st make a usergroup that no one will ever be placed in for each user rank image that you have. Then just like in the instruction given assign default usergroups a rank. then going to the User Name for each person you want to assign a different rank to you may select as many as you like.

Here is my post that I started with the answer given at the end: Post Here!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Jun 2012, 16:53
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Hi syxguns .... do you mind explaining that in a little detail .. sorry i couldn't understand. Do i have to create a usergroup for every single rank ?? i will appreciate that. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24 Jun 2012, 20:41
Syxguns's Avatar
Syxguns Syxguns is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Sure, there are a few steps that you have to follow, so I will make two posts step by step with pictures if need be, but it is a pretty simple process.

1) AdminCP > Usergroups > Usergroup Manager

a. Create a usergroup for every rank that you have.

b. Create Usergroup Based off Usergroup: Registered Users (You set it here because it is a secondary usergroup. Will explain in a sec.)

c. Default Forum Permissions: Registered Users

d. Title: the title that you want for the usergroup (This title will not be seen because again it is a secondary usergroup. All Usergroup permissions are based off the primary Usergroup they are assigned to. After you have all of your usergroup names complete move to step 2.

2) Upload all images to: images/ranks I found the perfect size for the ranks on my site. They are 35 px x 150 px. I'll be happy to add them to the forum and place a link on this post.

3) Go to AdminCP > User Ranks > Add New User Rank

a. Number of times to repeat rank: 1 (should be default to 1)

b. Usergroup: Select the Usergroup you are assigning an image to.

c. Maximum Posts. Note: Secondary user ranks should be set to "0" unless you are going to set up a number of post before they get there, just like Super Moderator, Moderator, etc. However, if you set your usergroup up as a number of post to achieve that level, then you need to place the same number here. I'll talk more about this further in the post.

d. Stack Rank: Select Yes radio button

e. Display Type: Always

f. User Rank File Path: images/ranks/name_of_image.png (or .jpg whatever format you are using). Note: You will receive an error if it can not find the file, so make sure you type the file name exactly as it is saved.

3) Go to AdminCP > User Ranks > User Rank Manager to view the pics, edit the information if you need to. Make sure that "Display Type" is set to Always. Ensure that "Minimum Post" is set to "0" except on the users that you have set up to advance in the AdminCP. Let me explain that real quick for anyone that might not understand what I mean.

There are a couple of different things that you can do.

A. Change member title after so many posts.
Go to AdminCP > User Titles > User Title Manager and set up new user titles based on post count.

B. Change Usergroup for member based on post count.
Go to AdminCP > Usergroups > Promotions and set up new promotions based off post count, this option changes the Usergroup from Member to VIP for example.

Next steps to continue... I hope this information is helpful for all trying to do this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24 Jun 2012, 23:02
Syxguns's Avatar
Syxguns Syxguns is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I bet you are going to say, "Syxguns, I did all that but it's not working!"

Well that's because of a couple of different things that I have not discussed yet! Don't worry we are almost finished.

The changes that you made the the usergroups should be automatic after you Update User Title and Ranks. Be sure to double check after you add a secondary usergroup to the user you are giving rank to. Make sure that before you do this the first time that you have all user titles and ranks ready to go in the AdminCP then follow these steps:

AdminCP > Maintenance > General Update Tools and select Update User Titles and Ranks

Now for a quick example on how to really make this work if you are using multiple user titles. Yeah, I'm going into another quick lesson!! OMG

There are two things that you don't have to do, but I suggest that you do if you are running a forum based off a particular topic, and not just a standard forum. The first thing is to add questions into the registration process, and the second thing is to have e-mails sent to moderators to have them check the user after they register. I guess I should have said three things. You also need a hidden forum for moderators to relay information to you. I would suggest setting up the first topic as new member registration information. Then after the Mod checks the user profile they can relay the information to you in that thread.

1) First thing is first. Set up the forum, and I shouldn't have to explain that to you, but if you do need help, just ask.

2) We are going to set up some questions in the registration area for the new members.

Go to AdminCP -> User Profile Fields -> Add New User Profile Field
Add as many as you like, they do not have to be shown at registration. Adding User Profile Fields Manual

3) Now the next thing to do is to have new registrations moderated, this is where they report to the new thread you created for Moderators.

AdminCP > Settings > Options > User Registration Options
You will see, "Email Address to notify about new registration" and I believe you can list multiple e-mails here

Moderators can then inform you in the thread about the options selected by the user, for you to update their ranks.

4) Yes, the last and final thing!!

Because you have a primary usergroup that the members are in you may also apply secondary usergroups to this are. For example, in my case a new member may be a Musician, and I would be happy to display that logo for them, but I do not want to advance them to Musician as a primary usergroup. So how do I go about it?

I have these Primary usergroups available to members

New Member: Must have 3 posts before they become a Registered User

Member: they are here in the Registered user group until they reach a high number of posts or I decide to advance them. I set it up that way so that not just anyone could get into the VIP, and it would take years of posting before they did.

VIP: need 1000 posts or I place you there hidden forum

Musician: Same as VIP.

So I have a new member that is a Musician. I do not want to give them the primary title of Musician because of the hidden forum, until they have posted enough threads, or proven themselves. So here is what I do:

AdminCP > Users > Search for User and it will open up in the AdminCP for me to make changes. Here I am going to attach a pic for you to look at, so let me give you a quick explanation:

User is a Registered Member but they are also a Musician. I do not want to move them into the primary Usergroup (listed in the drop down box in the pic) Musician that I have, but I want to display the Usergroup Rank "Musician". So in the check boxes listed below the primary usergroup I have all of my secondary usergroups. The first thing that you have to do is create a new usergroup tag for Musician that is maybe a different color. You would name it "Music_2" or something like that. That is the User tag that you would want to use.

Why you might ask? Well, the default User Tag that I have for Musician is tied to the Usergroup Musician and they will see the hidden forum with the secondary tag. I just realized this as I was typing this up and changing the secondary usergroup. So remember that if you are not wanting to advance the user permissions.

And that's it! A lot of steps to follow through with, but once you are finished it is very easy to maintain.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Usergroup_Admin.jpg (64.9 KB, 29 views)
File Type: jpg usergroup_singer.jpg (46.7 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26 Jun 2012, 16:19
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
It is so much easier to just add a new rank to the user group. No need to make a user group for each rank.

ACP -> User Ranks -> Add new user rank

Number of times to repeat rank = 1
User group = whatever
Max posts = whatever
Stack Ranks = no (I also did this with yes but saw no difference)
Display type = always

User rank file path /images/ranks/vip.png (example only)

Save

Repeat for additional ranks on the same user group. This will display the ranks on top of each other (vertically) to make them display horizontally I'm pretty sure you have to edit the postbit or legacy postbit template (depends on which one you use).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Jun 2012, 18:27
Syxguns's Avatar
Syxguns Syxguns is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Originally Posted by John Lester View Post
It is so much easier to just add a new rank to the user group. No need to make a user group for each rank.

ACP -> User Ranks -> Add new user rank

Number of times to repeat rank = 1
User group = whatever
Max posts = whatever
Stack Ranks = no (I also did this with yes but saw no difference)
Display type = always

User rank file path /images/ranks/vip.png (example only)

Save

Repeat for additional ranks on the same user group. This will display the ranks on top of each other (vertically) to make them display horizontally I'm pretty sure you have to edit the postbit or legacy postbit template (depends on which one you use).
You are correct John, if you are only using simple usergroups tags. However, this doesn't work in all cases. I can give you an example here.

Usergroup: Musician
Permissions: Access to hidden forum
Info: in their profile and the info includes what instruments they play. Now remember on top of this that I have 21 different ranks. Your method would not work for this.

New Member profile is musician, but they are new. By default they have a new member user rank. In the AdminCP all I have to do is select groups from the secondary list. This is where you have to remember that permissions for a secondary usergroup will grant access permissions that you may not want to the primary usergroup.

My way is a little more work to set up initially, but it's a lot easier to manage after it's set up.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 27 Jun 2012, 00:25
John Lester's Avatar
John Lester John Lester is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Yea if you're using custom ranks/forums/permissions. Since the o.p. didn't state they wanted anything other than multiple rank icons I showed him the simple way.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 27 Jun 2012, 02:00
Syxguns's Avatar
Syxguns Syxguns is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Originally Posted by John Lester View Post
Yea if you're using custom ranks/forums/permissions. Since the o.p. didn't state they wanted anything other than multiple rank icons I showed him the simple way.
The OP followed this link: Where I was asking about this If you look at that post it will give you a little more description of what I was trying to do. I figured that since the OP asked I would give an example of what to do, I would write a detailed description of how I went about doing it. See some of my members could have as many as 5 ranks, I will not allow more than that because of space.

Maybe I was wrong, but the instructions that I gave are very detailed and will help other users that are having similar issues like I was.

At least I hope so!! LOL
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: