Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
ragtek Botscout Register Check Details »
ragtek Botscout Register Check
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by ragtek (Member) ragtek is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 112
Released: 12 Mar 2009 Last Update: 03 May 2009 Downloads: 482
Not Supported Uses Plugins Translations  

This add-on will compare the new users on registration with the data from botscout (botscout is a big botdatabase)

So if the user is a bot, he'll get an errormessage instead of being registered

How it's working:
The Ip and mailadress of the user who tries to register there will be send to botscout
now botscout sends an answer and you will know whetere if its a bot or not

the provider allows 20 requests per day
For more you have to organize a API key which you can get at www.botscout.com/getkey
in the VB Settings by the Userregistry options you have to enter the key(if you have one)



The second function against bots is the timecheck.
This modification is checking the timedifferenz between the call of the registerform and the submiting.
If it is sent to fast, you can be sure that it's a bot.






In the dontuploadfolder you'll find the english language file.

You'll find the seetings in the acp -> vBulletin Options ->User Registration Options

German Info: http://ragtek.org/blog/vbulletin/rag...egister-check/


History:
1.0.0
Added registrationtime check
Added registrationsupport if botscout is down

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Check Ip Against DB on Register Neo vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 24 25 Jun 2003 09:04

Comments
  #2  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 12:13
SteamyLightning SteamyLightning is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Looks good, I've installed without any problems. I already use recaptcha, so bots weren't really a problem, but you can never be too safe.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 15:44
sensimilla sensimilla is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Real name: Eric Estrada
If its working its outstanding.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 16:10
GoTTi GoTTi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
very nice. ive neen wondering if something like this is possible. will most likely be installing this feature.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 18:21
mark370 mark370 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Thanks for this
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12 Mar 2009, 18:40
Jasem's Avatar
Jasem Jasem is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: www.menokia.com
Has been installed without any problems

Thanks...
__________________
games
Forum Nokia
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13 Mar 2009, 06:36
James Desalus James Desalus is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: James
Seems good so far.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 10:58
earthtiger earthtiger is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
works a treat!... tested it and comes up "your a bot" brilliant stuff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 11:33
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
but when it comes for you, its not good
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 13:14
tlwwolfseye's Avatar
tlwwolfseye tlwwolfseye is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Gerhard
Does this work with 3.7.x ?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 13:25
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
yes
it should work with every version!
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 13:37
tlwwolfseye's Avatar
tlwwolfseye tlwwolfseye is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Gerhard
Thank you very much.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14 Mar 2009, 13:43
KizZamP- KizZamP- is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by earthtiger View Post
works a treat!... tested it and comes up "your a bot" brilliant stuff
So it gives false positives?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16 Mar 2009, 02:54
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Is it now working?
It shouldn't give false answers back
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Mar 2009, 02:26
ragtek's Avatar
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
For me its realy working fine, here the screen from botscout^^
Attached Images
File Type: png BotScout.com- Account Management Page_1237339552593.png (2.0 KB, 333 views)
__________________
my addons: http://ragtek.github.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:26.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: