Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Ventrilo Status Block for vBulletin and vBadvanced Details »
Ventrilo Status Block for vBulletin and vBadvanced
Mod Version: 3.00, by Crimm (Contributor) Crimm is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.1 Rating: (5 votes - 4.00 average) Installs: 49
Released: 06 Feb 2009 Last Update: 16 Feb 2009 Downloads: 503
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

This mod has been replaced! http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=240495

Author:

Crimm - Included because I have been finding my mods all over the internet taken via RSS :P

Description:

This will place a Ventrilo status block in a column of your vbadvanced installation. It uses some of the files found on Ventrilo.com's download section plus things I have learned to integrate them into vBulletin. I just thought I would share, because I couldn't find anything like this when I was looking 5 or 6 months ago. I have done searching all day today and haven't found anything similar. If someone has already released this mod, then please let me know via link.

NOTE: Debug option may display server information. Hide the block to non-admins when debugging the block or else malicious individuals could get their hands on your server information.

Difficulty:

5/10 - It's mainly normal installs, but it's difficult to debug this ventrilo status script.

Requirements:

Safe mode being off is very important and will be the biggest problem people have with this script. To test and see if you pass this requirement follow these steps:

1. Create a file called info.php
2. Put this line inside it:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3. Upload it to your website.
4. Visit the new page by going to: http://yoursite.com/info.php or wherever you uploaded it.
5. Look for a line that says: "safe_mode"
6. If that says - On next to it... then contact your host, because you can't go any further.

**I was going to try and implement a check, but can't seem to figure out how to do that.**


Support:

Here or my site: mmo-mods.com I spend the majority of my online time at my site so feel free to stop by and ask for help.

FAQ's:

Q: Yes I have seen this mod: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...age=5&t=113432 Isn't this the same mod?

A: No, it isn't like that. It adds a block using the code from ventrilo.com and modules from vbadvanced. - See screenshots.

Q: I'm getting this: CVentriloStatus->Request() failed. PHP Unable to start external status process. Or this error: (Since friendly errors were turned on in version .2) "Can't find or run ventrilo_status"

A: Please post and I will try to help, best bet is to visit my site where this information is being culminated as a community and where I spend most of my time. http://mmo-mods.com. Experience tells me it has to be one of these three things:

1. Permissions: Make sure to chmod your ventrilo_status to 755 if you are on linux. If you are on Windows, make sure that whatever is running your IIS process can execute ventrilo_status.exe
2. You are in PHP safe mode. This won't work in PHP Safe mode.
3. It's a path problem - I made everything relative. I have included some testing scripts, please use them as directed below.
4. Make sure that you have chosen the correct environment set in your settings.

Q: I'm getting this error: "No response."

A: Check your Server information. You can obtain this from your ventrilo host.

Q: I'm getting this error: "Unknown Error."

A: Copy/Paste the exact error and post it here with your domain so that I can take a look

Q: Whats the best way to debug an issue?

A: I included a debug option in the Ventrilo Status Block Options in vBulletin options, but note be very careful as it displays server information that could be useful to hackers. Make sure to hide the block from non-admins when you have this option checked.

Installation:
  1. Download the ZIP file attached
  2. Upload the includes folder to your forum folder
  3. Browse to the includes/ventrilo folder and chmod ventrilo_status to 755 for linux and check execute permissions if you are using Windows.
  4. Go to admincp -> Products -> Install the product in the zip file
  5. Go to admincp -> vbacmps -> Download/Upload modules and Upload the module that is in the zip file.
  6. Click continue after uploading and active it on the pages that you want, and the column that you want.
  7. Go to Admincp -> vb options -> Ventrilo Block Settings
  8. Put in your server information and check your environment and other settings
  9. If you get an error check the FAQ's above before asking for help.
  10. Problems? Post here No problems? Then you are good to go.

Crimm notation on block:

Please leave the notation back to me in the block to help spread the word. I left it small, so it wouldn't bother your site. Us freelancers have to get some fame somehow

Mark as installed:

Please mark as installed if you use this script, and I will assist you with a higher priority than everyone else.

Revisions:

Version 1: Beta
Version 2: Fixed issue with Comments from ventrilo files showing in blocks
Version 3: Attempt to fix error when installing product.
Version 4: Fixed an error where some people get a message about global.php being redeclared. http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...4&postcount=28

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	block.png
Views:	2269
Size:	32.6 KB
ID:	94258   Click image for larger version

Name:	settings.png
Views:	688
Size:	33.2 KB
ID:	94259  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Ventrilo Status v1.0 magnus vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 135 18 Jul 2010 03:26
[VB3 RC4] [vbAdvanced - Links 1.00] Addon: Latest Links block for vbAdvanced ixian vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 21 25 Feb 2005 07:20
Welcome block Add-on for vbAdvanced tomshawk vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 22 08 Aug 2004 22:52

Comments
  #2  
Old 06 Feb 2009, 17:48
XtremeOffroad XtremeOffroad is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Thanks
__________________
I've gone to find myself, If I return before I get back (Keep me here)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Feb 2009, 18:16
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Nevermind.

I guess I was looking at an older version of my files.
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 03:04
Doctor Death Doctor Death is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
cant wait to try this, been looking for this for a long time.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 03:15
Doctor Death Doctor Death is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I am only running vbulletin 3.8.1. Will this work without VBA?

Upon plugin install, i Get an error that reads

Plugin & Products System
Importing Product, Please Wait...

[:::::::]


Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/xxxxxxxx/public_html/forums/admincp/plugin.php(1995) : eval()'d code on line 1

Rebuild Style Information
Updating style information for each style

Default Style ... (Templates) (StyleVars) (Replacement Variables) (CSS) (Controls) Done.

(Controls) Done.






vBulletin Message

Product ventrilo_vbadvanced_block Imported



If you are not automatically redirected, please click here.

Processing Complete - Proceed

vBulletin® v3.8.1, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
After install main VBulletin page is uneffected... Vent status Does not appear anywhere.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 03:33
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
You have to have VBA for this to work.

It's a module for it.

As for the error. I'll check it out shortly.
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 03:38
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
hmmm seems to be installing fine on re-download and install attempt on fresh board.

Let me do some further testing and see if I can replicate that error.

I'll be in touch.
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 03:46
Doctor Death Doctor Death is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Originally Posted by Crimm View Post
You have to have VBA for this to work.

It's a module for it.

As for the error. I'll check it out shortly.
Is there a possibility you could mod this for Vbulletin itself? Would be tremendously useful.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 14:14
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
It's already in the works
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 18:36
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by Doctor Death View Post
I am only running vbulletin 3.8.1. Will this work without VBA?

Upon plugin install, i Get an error that reads



After install main VBulletin page is uneffected... Vent status Does not appear anywhere.
BTW I could never re-create this error.

If anyone else gets this, please let me know.

It's probably because you don't have VBA installed.

Thanks for showing interest. I'll make another one that doesn't require vba.
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 19:16
mstu mstu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I received the same error as above

I have vb 3.8.1 - vba 3.1.0 installed
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Feb 2009, 19:38
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Well, crap.

Okay let me download and try one more time.

Ill be back.


Grrrr
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08 Feb 2009, 03:28
mstu mstu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I should let you know that I finished going through the installation and the module displayed but with a server offline message.

I just havent had time to troubleshoot the server offline problem to see if maybe the mod will work anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08 Feb 2009, 03:32
Crimm's Avatar
Crimm Crimm is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Version 3 released.

I believe it was the code I was trying to use to check for Safe mode.

It shouldn't give an error message anymore, but I was still unable to replicate

I should let you know that I finished going through the installation and the module displayed but with a server offline message.

I just havent had time to troubleshoot the server offline problem to see if maybe the mod will work anyway.
Do you mind PM'ing me your site and I'll be happy to check the error being displayed?
__________________
- Trying to get back into this vB developer thing, bear with me -
Catch me on Twitter: @crimmFTW
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 Feb 2009, 03:58
mstu mstu is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
pm sent

thanks crimm
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: