Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 02:15
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Seraphyn View Post
Okay, what would you put there to disable embedded spaces after the username?
I don't know offhand of regex that will only trim/leading trailing spaces.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 12:36
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
I don't know offhand of regex that will only trim/leading trailing spaces.
I've done some research and the only thing that Username expressions eliminates is the ability to create new accounts with trailing spaces. What I want to do is eliminate that ability to login to pre-existing accounts with trailing spaces as well.

Please advise,
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 15:06
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Yes, leading/trailing spaces are trimmed automatically upon registration. I have no idea how users were able to register with trailing spaces.

You will likely have to manually edit the offending usernames, and send the users an email to advise them of the change to their username.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 16:03
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Yes, leading/trailing spaces are trimmed automatically upon registration. I have no idea how users were able to register with trailing spaces.

You will likely have to manually edit the offending usernames, and send the users an email to advise them of the change to their username.
This is the really weird thing. So, there are no spaces in anyone's username, and yet, they are still able to login when using a space in their name. Like let's say your account name is johndoe16, you can login just fine if your type in "johndoe16 " And this is the case for infinite spaces.

Please advise,
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 16:12
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Yes, you can type in trailing spaces when you log in, but those spaces do not change the actual username in the database.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 16:20
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Yes, you can type in trailing spaces when you log in, but those spaces do not change the actual username in the database.
But that is the issue. How do I stop those those trailing spaces at login? I use this authentication script to be able to allow members to connect to a gameserver and with the trailing spaces, they can bypass the character limits by creating ghost accounts, thereby having unlimited player characters.

I need to be able to stop this.

Any advise,
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 16:45
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
When I login to my dev site, and look at the username retrieved from the login form ($vbulletin->GPC['vb_login_username']) it has already been trimmed of any leading/trailing spaces.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 16:47
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
When I login to my dev site, and look at the username retrieved from the login form ($vbulletin->GPC['vb_login_username']) it has already been trimmed of any leading/trailing spaces.
Then I suppose its not possible. Okay, fair enough. Thanks for trying.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 16:53
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
How are your users logging onto the game server...are they required to manually enter their username?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 17:28
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
How are your users logging onto the game server...are they required to manually enter their username?
They enter their username and password into the game and the game pings the auth.php file on the webserver and depending on the response, it either logs you in, says wrong information or says you've been banned.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 18:31
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Okay, then the code used for the game login would have to be edited to trim the usernames entered.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 19:38
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Okay, then the code used for the game login would have to be edited to trim the usernames entered.
This is what I sent to vBulletin.com Support:

Originally Posted by Seraphyn
I am needing some help dealing with an issue with the login protocols. For example say my account name is "johnsmith12" and I can login with that name. However, I can also put in johnsmith with 5 spaces after the name and then click login and that will also log my in. For example [johnsmith12 ]... Is there a way to prevent this?
And this is the response I got:

Originally Posted by vBulletin Support
The system ignores the spaces after the username. You would need to modify the code to not allow that.
When I asked which file I needed to modify, they basically stated that I needed to ask over here because it dealt with modifying the original code.

Anyhow, any insight?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 19:45
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Can you give a link to the vBulletin product you are using for the game server login?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 21:56
Alice Alice is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Real name: Alice
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
Can you give a link to the vBulletin product you are using for the game server login?
Yeah, its accessible through www.swglegends.com/forums
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 10 Feb 2016, 23:27
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by Seraphyn View Post
Yeah, its accessible through www.swglegends.com/forums
I would speak to the owner(s) of that site then, as the issue would likely have to be addressed by them.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
dave, markfl, replicant


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: