Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Thread Starter in Postbit for vB 4 Details »
Thread Starter in Postbit for vB 4
Mod Version: 1.0.3, by Boofo (R.I.P.) Boofo is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (20 votes - 4.85 average) Installs: 148
Released: 08 Jun 2010 Last Update: 30 Jul 2010 Downloads: 548
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

Thread Starter in Postbit for vB 4
Version 1.0.3
(By Boofo)

What does this product do?
This will add a thread starter icon/text to the postbit. There are 4 locations to choose from (2 icon and 2 text). I know this had been done already, but I didn't like how it showed in the postbit. You do not have to have a signature for this to work. This product is just an upgrade to the manual template edit I have used in the past.

Note: This product was written using the postbit_legacy template and has not been tested on the postbit template, although it should work fine.

Version Information:
Version 1.0.0 --Initial release for vBulletin 4.0.0
Version 1.0.1 --Fixed to work for vB 4.0.4
Version 1.0.2 --Added 2 new locations with highlighted text.
Version 1.0.3 --All 4 options are now linked to the first post of the thread. Also fixed a template cache error that was showing up for PMs.

Installation Overview:
-----------------------------------------------------
1 Product XML (2 Plugins, 1 template, 7 phrases and 1 setting)
1 image file

Installation Instructions:
-----------------------------------------------------
1. Upload thread_starter.gif to the forums/images/misc folder on your site.

2. Go to your Admin CP
Scroll down to 'Plugins & Products'
Click 'Manage Products'
Click 'Add/Import Product'
Click the 'Browse' button, and locate the product-boofo_threadstarter.xml file on your computer

3. Go to your Admin CP -> vBulletin Options -> 'Thread Starter in Postbit' and set the following option:
--Show Thread Starter Icon/Text?: This will add the Thread Starter icon/text to your chosen location in the postbit.

--"No" will disable the Thread Starter icon/text from showing anywhere in the postbit. (Default)
--"Yes, Show icon under userinfo" will place the Thread Starter icon under the userinfo.
--"Yes, Show icon in message area" will place the Thread Starter icon at the top right of the message area.
--"Yes, Show text in button bar" will place the highlighted Thread Starter text in the button bar at the bottom of the post.
--"Yes, Show text in message area" will place the highlighted Thread Starter text at the top center of the message area.
-----------------------------------------------------

Done!
Enjoy!



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_message_icon.png
Views:	880
Size:	1.5 KB
ID:	118986   Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_message_text.png
Views:	1531
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	118987   Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_userinfo_icon.png
Views:	732
Size:	3.1 KB
ID:	118988   Click image for larger version

Name:	ts_button_bar.png
Views:	655
Size:	1.8 KB
ID:	127244  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Thread Starter on postbit. deathemperor vBulletin 3.5 Template Modifications 12 25 Jul 2009 14:49

  #16  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 13:40
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by lostpond View Post
yes i do, i have a new misc directory and i checked that the image is in both directories (just to be shure). i also tested the default skin, but there is nothing showing up. i tested all 4 options but i dont get a message or a image.
I could take a look at it and see what I can figure out but this mod is pretty straight forward and definitely works on 4.0.5. If you want me to look at it, PM me the details and we can go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 13:41
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by KURTZ View Post
hey Bobby, i would suggest you a nice feature (obviously if you can do it): can you add a button instead the word (i mean 'thread starter') that links to the first post? this allow the users to get a better navigation ...
A button is just an icon with text. I have linked all 4 options to the first post now. I will update the first post shortly.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 14:23
KURTZ KURTZ is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Real name: Christian
Originally Posted by Boofo View Post
A button is just an icon with text. I have linked all 4 options to the first post now. I will update the first post shortly.
awesome Bobby!

just a Q: why in the APM i haven't the phrases and the product's options?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 14:23
lostpond lostpond is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
@Boofo, forget about it, i installed + deinstalled + installed + deinstalled + .. and now its working
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 16:12
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by KURTZ View Post
awesome Bobby!

just a Q: why in the APM i haven't the phrases and the product's options?
Thread starter is a vbulletin phrase. And the options are there at the bottom of the APM product page.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 30 Jul 2010, 16:14
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by lostpond View Post
@Boofo, forget about it, i installed + deinstalled + installed + deinstalled + .. and now its working
Glad you got it working.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 31 Jul 2010, 16:52
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Installed ... thanks ..

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 23 Aug 2010, 12:23
miket1234 miket1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
good job
instaled and nominated
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 23 Aug 2010, 18:34
Bigj85 Bigj85 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Real name: matt
works perfect,thanks
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 21 Sep 2010, 05:35
hiker's Avatar
hiker hiker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Hi, I think this is the mod I'm looking for but I need to customize it a bit. Instead of counting all of the threads started by a user, I'm only interested in a certain Thread Prefix started by the user.

I have a prefix of "Trip Report", the Prefix ID is Trip_Report.

Is it possible to only show the "Trip Report" threads that have been started per user, and to make that a clickable link to those threads?

Thank you very much if you can help me on this.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 23 Sep 2010, 04:17
ChangeFive ChangeFive is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Marked as installed and thanks!

If I wanted to change the alt and title information when hovering over the image to "Original Poster", how would I do that?

Would it also be possible to put in a new position directly under the poster's username?

Last edited by ChangeFive; 23 Sep 2010 at 04:28.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 23 Sep 2010, 05:00
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by ChangeFive View Post
Marked as installed and thanks!

If I wanted to change the alt and title information when hovering over the image to "Original Poster", how would I do that?

Would it also be possible to put in a new position directly under the poster's username?
You would need to change this in the boofo_ts_postbit template to whatever you want it to say:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


There is no hook right under the username. Otherwise, I would have added a location for it there.

Last edited by Boofo; 23 Sep 2010 at 05:08.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 24 Sep 2010, 03:08
ChangeFive ChangeFive is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 24 Sep 2010, 14:08
hiker's Avatar
hiker hiker is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Hi Boofo, any advice for my question about prefixes?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 24 Sep 2010, 18:08
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by bogley View Post
Hi Boofo, any advice for my question about prefixes?

Thanks.
There is no way to do what you are asking with this mod. This works only in the postbit, not the showthread.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: