Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 19 Jul 2022, 20:08
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Need help, please, thumbnails not working.

Hi, I have a vb 3.8 board and when anyone tries to upload an image, it wont create a thumbnail, just gives a text link. When you click the text link, the image opens in a new window as it should.

All settings are correct, I've gone over them a million times. Attachments are stored in the database.

Also, I have size limits in place for uploading attachment images, but it doesnt seem to work. If an image is too large, it just wont upload instead of re-sizing it automatically.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 Jul 2022, 16:48
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Anyone?

Am I crazy? I'm pretty sure the forum would automatically reduce image sizes that are uploaded in attachments. Right? It's not doing that now. If an image being uploaded is too large, the upload will fail. All my members are complaining that it used to automatically resize the image. I couold have sworn that was the case, but now I'm questioning myself. lol

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16 Aug 2022, 05:59
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 Aug 2022, 14:48
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Real name: Stan
Pm me your board URL, to take a look at the issue.
__________________
Web development done right.
read my Reviews (59) from here.

Pm me - for custom forum work & web development
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Jan 2023, 19:28
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Anyone? The forum IS supposed to re-size automatically, correct?

It seems that right when I moved to a new host, the thumbnail creation stopped working. I checked in php info tho, and it says GD and Imagik are enabled.


After more testing, it seems that ONLY PNG and GIF files are given thumbnail when uploaded. JPEG thumbnails will not work.


I told the host about this, and this was their reply..

"Thanks for your patience! I was able to replcaite the error and have increased the php limits and andtried to upload a JPEd file to media library and it getting uplaoded and there are no ssrever issue. I can see the the error is with the Vbulletein plugin

You will need to check once with the plugin vendor"



Last edited by shibby2; 10 Jan 2023 at 23:30.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16 Jan 2023, 17:48
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
By the way, this all happened after I had someone modify VB3 to work with a newer version of PHP on a new host. The guy can not help with the problem now, as hes gone missing and probably too busy.


Anyone? I'm willing to pay someone $40 via PayPal who can figure this out and fix it.

Thanks!

Last edited by shibby2; 16 Jan 2023 at 18:20.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16 Jan 2023, 20:28
twistsol's Avatar
twistsol twistsol is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Real name: Chr's Phelps
Look at your PHPinfo and verify that either GD or Imagick is installed.
Then check in your attachment settings to make sure that VB is set to use whichever one of those is installed, ore preferred if both are installed.
__________________
Good decisions come from experience
Experience comes from bad decisions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17 Jan 2023, 00:45
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Yes GD is installed and running, and all settings in VB are correct.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Feb 2023, 01:59
shibby2 shibby2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
There's gotta be someone out there that knows how to fix this, no?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02 Feb 2023, 13:59
Hostboard's Avatar
Hostboard Hostboard is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Steven
Have you tried changing the storage type from DB to file than verifying that the images are there? Does that by chance fix the issue?

You had someone who was willing to help but looks like the time between your visits was lengthy.

I am pretty sure I know of someone who can fix this, if the above does not. Just PM me and I will send his contact information.
__________________
-----------------------------------------------------------
Running custom version of vBulletin based on v4.2.5
PHP 7.4.x :: MariaDB 10.5.x :: UTF8MB4 & InnoDB Tables
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: